Leganto - Create Lists for Course Readings & Resources

A guide for instructors.

Standards for Leganto Navigation

plus sign icon for add items Plus Sign

Used to add a new citation to a section of a list. Clicking the plus sign opens the citation pane for Search, Create, or Collection.

Additionally, there are text buttons for "New List" and "New Section".

screenshot of elipsis iconElipsis - Options Menu

Usually referred to as "Options Menu" in the tutorials, the elipsis provides a drop-down menu for a list, a section, or a citation.

screenshot of handles for expanding the right paneHorizontal Handles

You can expand a side panel by pulling this handle left or right with your mouse.

screenshot of vertical handles for moving citations up and down the listVertical Handles

Move citations up and down on a list by clicking on this icon to the right of the citation, then dragging it to where you want it.

Landing Page

The first time you login to Leganto, you'll have a Welcome screen that guides you through starting your first list.

After that, when you login you see your landing page.

Screenshot:

screenshot of opening Leganto screen with navigation labelled

Top Right

At the top right you'll always see:

  • your initials, to indicate you're signed
    • click the down-arrow for a drop down menu to access your profile and settings
  • indication of whether there are notifications for you to view
  • a link to useful sites such as the Leganto Instructor's Guide and Omni

Left Side

On the left menu are four options:

  • "Lists" (often called "My Lists" in the guides) shows all your available lists.
    • Click "My lists on top" to change the sort order.
    • Use filters to show only certain lists.
  • "Collection" (often called "My Collection" in the guides) holds all the citations you've stored in your collection for future use.
    • Anything you saved using "Pin to Favourites" in Omni can be found here.
    • Your Collection is searchable. If you added labels to them in Omni, you can search for the labels.
  • "Find Lists" allows you to search for a specific list.
  • "Reports" shows some usage analytics.
    • This section will improve as we add data visualizations.

Middle

Your landing page presents your "Lists".

  • Create a new list by clicking "New List".
  • Open a list by clicking the title.
  • Use the elipsis icon to open the "List Options Menu" either from this page, or after you've opened the list.

List Header

Every list has the same information in the header.

Screenshot:

screenshot of the List Header

List Name

  • The name of the list is in the top left.
  • A permalink is provided when you click the little icon to the right of the list name.

Edit List Button

  • To the far right of the list name is button for editing the metadata of the list: title, description, status, CC license, start/end dates.

List Options Menu

  • See the box below this for details on this menu.

Published/Draft

  • Beneath the list name is the current list status: Draft (not available to students) or Published (available to students).

Course Association

  • Beside Published/Draft is the course associated with this list.

Last Updated

  • Beside the course association is the last update date.

Views Options

  • Below Published/Draft is a menu of options for viewing the list:
    • Toggle Sections: open or compress the sections of the list.
    • Refresh the page.
    • Filter the view of the list to limit to specific sections, items with a certain tag, or document types.
    • Compact the view, to see more in less space.
    • View the "List Analysis", which shows student usage (anonymously).
    • Search for something in the list.

Send List Button

  • This button on the right sends the list to the library for processing.

New Section Button

  • This button on the right creates a new section in the list.

Add Items Button

  • This button on the right is a large blue plus sign for adding items to the list.
  • Click it to open the right pane for searching for citations or creating a citation from scratch.

List Options Menu

At the top right of each list there's a drop-down menu of list options. Click the elipsis (...) beside "Edit" to open the menu.

screenshot of list options drop-down menu

Menu Options:

Unpublish
If you have published a list, unpublishing it will make it unavailable to students, but won't delete it.
Order Citations in All Sections
Automatically organize all the citations by author or title, ascending or descending.
Duplicate List
Creates a duplicate of the list with a number (2) after it. You can then associate the list with another course, rename it, or update it.
Lock

No one can make changes to this list until it is unlocked again. Only the library and the person who locked it can unlock it.

Manage Course Association

Change or add a course to associate with this list.

Save List Structure as a Template

Make your own template based on this one. It will be available only to you, whenever you create a list.

Configure List Discussions

Hide or show student discussion threads.

Permalink

Obtain a permalink to the list or course. These are links you can use on a syllabus or anywhere outside Leganto.

Export

Export a list in a variety of file types. Use .lgn (leganto file) if you want to import it into another course. If you choose "Word", you're prompted to select a citation style.

Print

Print the list as a .pdf document.

View List as a Student

See how your list looks to a student. It's a good idea to check this before publishing.

Delete

Delete the list. It can still be recovered later, but it's not on the library's list of active lists.

Section & Citation Options Menu

The Section Options Menu opens when you click the elipsis (...) to the right of the section title.

screenshot of the section options menuEdit Section: edit the title, description, and dates.

Add Items: opens the pane for adding items: Search, Create, Collection and add selected items to this section. (Not in citation menu - use the blue plus sign.)

Relink LTI Link to Here: changes a link within the Blackboard course to this specific section.

Bag It: places items in a group for moving, etc.

Copy section or citation: make a copy of it, which can be reused somewhere else and edited.

Permalink: provides a link to the section that can be used in documents.

Import: to import citations into this section from another file (advanced option).

Export: to export the items in the section for use elsewhere - a variety of file options is provided. (If you choose the Word option, you can specify the citation style to be used.)

Print section: prints a section in .pdf format.

Add a note: adds a note to the bottom of the section, for students to see.

Delete section: permanently removes the entire section and its contents.

 

The Citation Options Menu opens when you click the elipsis to the right of the citation. The options are mostly the same, although there are fewer citation options.

Items specific to citations:

  • Edit item: allows you to make changes to the item, such as changing a book to a chapter within it.
  • Copy to my Collection: adds this item to your Collection for reuse later.
  • Mark as read: change the checkmark to blue, so I know I've read it (student view)