Leganto - Create Lists for Course Readings & Resources

A guide for instructors.

About Citations

Items are added to a list in the form of "citations". These citations will become links to any type of resource you choose to add.

You drag items into a list to add them.

There are several methods you can use to add citations to your list. Some of them are easier to use and more effective than others, and this is explained below. Choose the one that works best for what you're doing at the moment.

Quick Start: Add Citations Using an Omni Search

This is the most automated and effective way to add library material to your list.

When you use Leganto to search for items to add to your list, you're searching Omni - our library search tool. Because Omni already knows what's available through our library, this is usually the easiest and quickest way to add items to your list. Items already available through Omni don't require library staff attention and are immediately made available, using reliable metadata from Omni.

plus sign icon for add itemsFrom your list, click on the plus sign to add items.screenshot of search pane

  • A pane opens on the side, where you can search Omni.
    • Items you find indicate whether they are "P-physical " or "E-electronic".
  • Drag-and drop any item you wish to add to your list.
  • Remove items by clicking "...", and selecting "remove" from the drop-down menu.


Searching Suggestions

  • For known items, search for a title, doi, author, or full citation.
  • For a larger workspace, drag the handle to resize the pane.
  • Use filters to limit your results to articles, book chapters, videos, or books.
  • Not sure you've found the right one? Drag it over anyway - you can see it better from your list and you can easily delete it later.

 

Add Citations from Your Omni Favourites

Omni provides advanced search features that are easy to use, so you can save time by searching Omni first and pinning items to your "Favourites". Create labels in your Favourites to indicate which course they're for. 

Your Omni Favourites become your "Collection" in Leganto, and you can drag items into your list.

 

Screenshot of My Collection pane

plus sign icon for add itemsFrom your list, click on the plus sign to add items. This defaults to the "Search" pane; switch to the "Collection" pane.

Everything you currently have pinned to your favourites in Omni appears in the "Collection" pane.

Drag-and-drop the items to the list.

 

Labels

If you put labels on your Favourites in Omni, you can search for items in your Collection with that label. This is helpful if you have too many items in your favourites.

You can also search for any term.

The default sort order for your favourites is with the most recently added at the top of the list.

Add Citations Directly from Omni

When you find something in Omni you want to use in a list, click the title to get to the full description, then:

  1. click "Reading List" to send it to your list,
  2. select "List" (unless you want to send it to your Collection), and
  3. select the list from the drop-down menu of all your lists, and the section on the list.

Screenshot:

screenshot of the process for sending an item to your reading list from Omni

It's immediately added to your list, with all the metadata brought over from Omni, including the link. There's nothing more you need to do.

Adding a Book Chapter

screenshot of editing a book to make it a book chapter

To assign a book chapter as a reading, start by adding the book, and then edit it to change it to a chapter within the book.

Because the book has already been added, Leganto maintains the book information for the citation, and offers options for entering the chapter details. Once saved, the item displays as a Book Chapter instead of a Book.
 

Here's how to edit a Book to change it to a Book Chapter:
  • Click "Edit" from the "..." beside the citation, or by clicking the book title, and selecting "Edit" on the top right.
  • Beside "Type", select "Book Chapter" from the drop-down list.
  • Under "Chapter Number", enter the chapter number.
  • Enter the starting and ending pages under those headings (optional, but helpful to your students).
  • Click "Save".

You'll see that the citation has changed to reflect the chapter within the book.

Note:

  • You can't directly add a book chapter; you must add the book, then edit it.
  • Leganto is not currently capable of linking directly to a chapter within a book, so the links provided bring students to the ebook, where they can browse for the correct chapter.
    • Adding as much information about chapter and page numbers helps students navigate and gives them confidence in doing so, for when they're doing their own research.
    • It is possible for you to create a direct link to the chapter and add it in the "Source" of the item, but you must ensure the link works from off-campus. It's best to try the link in a different browser when you're off-campus, to ensure it works.

Video: Add Websites with "Cite It!"

A 3-minute video showing how quickly you can add websites to your lists, using the bookmarklet: "Cite It!"

Add Citations from the Web Using "Cite it!"

This allows you to add websites or documents from a web browser. screenshot of Cite It download

Examples:

  • a webpage
  • a document on a webpage
  • a YouTube video
  • a book available on Amazon

To add items you find through a web search,  use "Cite it!" - an app (bookmarklet) that works with your browser.

 

First, get the "CITE IT!" widget.

  • Click on your initials in Leganto (top right).
  • Select "Cite it!". A box opens, with instructions on how to add it to your browser.

 

screenshot of the Cite it! icon to grab

  • Drag-and-drop the "CITE IT!" box (link) into your browser's toolbar.
  • That's all - it's ready to use. You need to do this with each browser you use, though.
  • Watch the tutorial in the link below to see how this works.

Search the Web

Now search using your browser as you normally would look for something on the web.

  • When you find something you want to save - a webpage, a book on Amazon, an article, a YouTube video,etc. -
    screenshot of Cite It icon in browser menu
    click on "Cite it!" in your browser's toolbar.
  • A pop-up appears, with the item's details.
    • If it's something available through the library, it tells you so: "Covered by your library".

Here's a screenshot of a book from Amazon:

screenshot of the Cite It popup window

Control where the item is added, under "Add to:"

  • Choose "List" to select a list from the drop-down menu. Select the section of the list.
    • Click "Add & Close" if that's all you need.
  • To add it to multiple lists, choose the first list, and click "Add". Then choose another list and click "Add".
  • Or, choose to add it to your "Collection", where it's available to use later.

"Item has been added"

  • You see a confirmation that the item was added.
  • When you check the list, you'll see the item, and you can "Check availability" to try the available links.

Notes on using the Cite It! bookmarklet:

  • Be sure that when you add it to your browser favourites menu, you grab the blue button, and not some text.
  • It installs easily in Firefox and Chrome, but adding it to Edge is more difficult.
  • Not all websites support bookmarklets, so it won't work 100% of the time, but most sites that provide educational material support it.
  • You must be logged in to Leganto for it to work. If you're not logged in, it should prompt you.
  • If it quits working, try clearing your cache, working in "incognito/private" mode, or deleting and reloading the Cite It! bookmarklet.

Create Your Own Citation

Your list can include items beyond what's available through the library. Use the "Create" pane for unique items.

  • Add images, videos, or other documents by uploading them.
  • Add websites by entering a URL (web address).
  • Add information for books not located through Omni.

With Create, you enter all citation information manually. If all the relevant information isn't included, the list processing is slowed.

NOTE: Items uploaded require copyright clearance before they can be released to students, a process which is handled by the Copyright Office. In order to be assessed, the source of the document must be included in the citation.

 

plus sign icon for add itemsFrom your list, click on "+" to add items. This defaults to the "Search" pane; switch to the "Create" pane.

To upload your own files: drag-and-drop a file from your computer into the box provided.screenshot of Create pane

To create a link: add a URL to an online document in the "Source" box.

Then:

  • Fill in the details: title, author, etc. that apply to your item.
  • Select the item type from the drop-down list. This helps the system to identify it and provides prompts for information, such as starting page number, book title, etc.
  • Optional: add a Public Note for students to see.
  • Select the section you want it added to.
  • Select the Creative Commons license (for OER), if applicable.
  • Complete the self-declaration that it's your own material, if applicable.
  • Click "Add".

When you add documents this way, they won't be visible to students until the library has cleared them manually.

Add Citations from a Citation Manager

This method can require some editing, but if you already have your readings available this way, it could be your best bet.

If you're already using a citation manager, like Zotero or Mendeley, you can quickly grab citations and load them into your list.

Start by setting up a connection with your citation manager.

  • Click your initials at the top right of Leganto.
  • Select "User Settings" from the drop-down menu.
  • A pop-up shows available options for citation managers.
  • Fill in the required boxes with your citation manager account details, and Save.

Add items from your citation manager.

  • From your list, click "+" .
  • Open the "More" tab.
  • Choose your citation manager. A side pane opens with items in your citation manager shown.
  • Drag-and-drop items from your citation manager into the list.

Add Citations Using RIS File Import

Note: This method can require significant "clean up" the list after importing. Use with caution.

Many of our online databases allow you to save items in RIS format. You can then import your saved document into Leganto to instantly add all the items. Citation managers also allow you to export a file in RIS format.

To upload citations from a RIS file:

  • From your list, click on "..." for the section where you want to add the items.
  • Click "Import".
  • Drag your RIS file from your computer into the box provided.
  • Click "Confirm".
  • Reorder items with drag-and-drop.