Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Only available to Trent users
The Library Catalogue holds the bibliographic records of the Trent University Library holdings. These include books, maps, journal subscriptions.
A searchable A-Z listing of our indexes and databases.
Search the Trent Library's database of online journals available through our various full-text databases.
Search tip: go into Google Scholar Preferences and enter Trent University as a Library Link so you can make use of the 'get it' linking from within Google Scholar.
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary loan is a system that allows you to request material from other libraries to be sent to Trent for you to borrow. Normally, there are no costs to use the ILL service. Plan ahead because it can take a few days or even weeks for material to be sent, depending upon availability.
Visit the RACER (ILL) page for more information.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
From EBSCOhost. This general database finds articles on almost any topic. Sources include scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers - use limits to restrict your search to a publication type.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database from GALE covers scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers (including the New York Times). Includes 1,400 law journals. Limit to "peer-reviewed publications" to eliminate articles which are not scholarly.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
An annual synthesis of primary research material in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. These journals are also included in Scholars Portal Journals.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
From Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), an electronic publication that contains citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Citations to literature about indigenous peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
CAIRN This link opens in a new window
An index to a collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. Full text is not available; use Interlibrary Loans to request articles.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.
History Databases from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Searches the History databases available through EBSCO, including America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, Academic Search Elite, Bibliography of Native North Americans.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of full-text research journals in a variety of academic disciplines. JSTOR includes the complete backruns of the journals, from the first volume to a moving wall of 2-10 years ago. Some titles include current volumes. Trent subscribes to JSTOR collections I to XI and the Life Sciences.
Indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
The majority of Trent's full-text e-journals are included in this database. Search them all or browse a specific journal. Many of the journals available from other sites are duplicated on this site.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the scholarly journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Part of the Web of Science / Web of Knowledge.
Tutorial: Finding Articles
The most difficult part of research is finding articles on a topic. This tutorial outlines the process.