Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political History Resources
China: Trade, Politics, Culture, 1793-1980
Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
A wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. All of the material has been indexed to provide ready accessibility for students by person and subject.
Digital National Security Archive
A collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 63,000 of the most important, declassified documents - totaling more than 488,144 pages - are included in the database, consisting of more than 25 collections.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century.
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II
Rare printed British journals, periodicals and newspapers of the eighteenth century. All items are full text searchable.
A wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Currently contains an index for 1801-2004, and full text for 1840-1891 and 1901-1904
Mass Observation Online
Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation, together with printed publications, photographs and interactive maps. The material covers the end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’; the onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; the post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This extraordinary resource on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Includes pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images. Primary documents.