Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Book Collections
World Facts and Events
Welcome to Breaking History ™, where we exploit the breadth and depth of the Keesing's archive to put today's breaking news into rich historical context. These free articles provide comprehensive context on breaking stories from around the world, tracing the countless links between the places, people, and events of the last century. (Source: Keesings.com)
Suggested Reference Books
Here is a short list of recommended reference titles. Search the Library Catalogue for other titles of possible use. You can also browse the print Reference Collection. We use Library of Congress Classification. Most items dealing with the study of current politics fall within Class J - Political Science. If you are doing political history you may find items classified under history. United States history fall under Class E and Canadian history falls under Class F.
Canadian Parliamentary Guide
Call Number: JL 5 .A4 1921 (Latest edition in Government Pulications Reference on fourth floor)
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by
Call Number: P 95.82 .U6 E47 2007 REF
Publication Date: 2006-10-27
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide by
Call Number: HV 6322.7 .H67 2006 REF
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
International Encyclopedia of Political Science by
Call Number: JA 61 .I58 2011 V.1 REF
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
International Relations by
Call Number: JZ 1161 .W45 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
Keesing's Record of World Events
Call Number: D 410 .K4 1987 REF
An annual record of major world events.
The International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who
Call Number: JA 51 .I57 1969
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought by
Call Number: JA61 .S37 2007 REF
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.