Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Too few articles:
- Check for typos and spelling. Consider using both American and British spellings (eg. behaviour or behavior).
- Remove long phrases.
- Make sure you're using a database that is likely to include information on your topic.
- Try using other synonyms and alternate words joined by the Boolean Operator 'OR' (e.g. aboriginal or indigenous or First Nations).
- Check your Boolean logic. Are you using 'AND' when you should be using 'OR'?
- If you have found at least one good article, look at the references of this article to find other related articles OR use the 'Find citing' or 'Find related' buttons when available in the databases.
Too many articles:
- Add another concept to your searching using the Boolean operator 'AND'.
- Add Limits (e.g. Peer Reviewed, Date of Publication, Language, Publication Type, etc.).
- Check your Boolean logic. Are you using 'OR' when you should be using 'AND'?
- When Keyword searching, try searching just in the Title field. This is not recommended for all searches, as you will eliminate relevant articles that don't have those keywords in the title, but it will likely find a few articles to get you started.
- If you're searching in a database that covers all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Elite, Web of Knowledge), look for a database that is subject specific.
Start your Research in Omni
Omni: Rediscover Discovery
Omni is the new academic search tool that locates your research material quickly and easily. Find Omni at the top of all our library webpages, or use the links below.
Try these databases first to find scholarly articles in agriculture.
Web of Science
Index to scholarly articles in academic journals. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. To limit your search to a discipline, look under "MORE SETTINGS" at the bottom of the search screen. See the guide: Cited Reference Searching - Web of Science/Knowledge
For access to full-text add Find It @ Trent (Omni) - Find It@TrentU under Settings / Library Links. See https://www.trentu.ca/library/help/google#scholar for further information.
From the National Agricultural Library (U.S.), AGRICOLA indexes over 4 million citations to journal articles, books and book chapters, theses and dissertations, government and other publications related to agriculture. It contains information on materials published since 1970, including links to digital agriculture publications when available.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Elite
From EBSCOhost. This general database finds articles on almost any topic. Sources include scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers - use limits to restrict your search to a publication type.
Business Databases from EBSCO
Provides access to all Business databases provided by EBSCO. At the opening screen you can choose which of these databases you wish to search.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q)
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.
MEDLINE - from Ovid
The MEDLINE database through Ovid, searchable along with other Ovid databases. MEDLINE contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Recently published articles about Agronomy
Link to the Omni search tool.
A searchable A-Z listing of our indexes and databases.
Search the Trent Library's database of online journals available through our various full-text databases.
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary loan is a system that allows you to request material from other libraries to be sent to Trent for you to borrow. Normally, there are no costs to use the ILL service. Plan ahead because it can take a few days or even weeks for material to be sent, depending upon availability.
Visit the RACER (ILL) page for more information.