What does U.S. history look like with women at the center of the story? From Pocahantas to military women serving in the Iraq war, this book chronicles the contributions, recognized and unrecognized, that women have made to the American experience.
Provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today.
Covering contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches, it illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism.
In print at Bata.
This collection brings together exciting new works that address today’s key challenges for a feminist power-sensitive approach to knowledge and scientific practice.
A comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.
In print at Bata.
Twenty years after activists set up a peace camp blocking a logging road into an extensive area of temperate rainforest in Clayoquot Sound, that summer of protest still holds a prominent place in Canadian environmental discourse. This study demonstrates that the sheer vitality of eco/feminist politics at the camp confounded dominant narratives of contemporary feminism and re-imagined eco/feminist politics for new times.
This book examines why Islam has such major divisions between movements such as the Shi'ites, the Sunnis, and the Wahhabis, and the central importance of the Shar'ia (Islamic law) in Islamic life. Islam features widely in the news, often in its most militant versions, but few people in the non-Muslim world really understand the nature of Islam. It also looks at the changes that have taken place in the Muslim world in recent years.
Multiculturalism is in terminal crisis. It has been blamed for undermining national identity, diluting social cohesion, creating ethnic ghettos, and cultural fragmentation for providing fertile ground for Islamic radicalism, encouraging perverse ‘political correctness’, and restricting liberal freedoms of expression. The public debate over multiculturalism has polarised opinion amongst the general public, policy makers, and politicians. But how much real evidence, beyond tabloid headlines and anecdotes, exists for these claims?
Dictionary of Canadian Biography, 1821-1835 by 
Dictionary of National Biography by 
Key Concepts in Social Research by Feminist Philosophies A-Z by History of Feminist Literary Criticism by 
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies by 
The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime by 
The International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication by 
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by 
Black Women in America by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by 
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by 
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Women During the Civil War by Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.
Omni even finds chapters within books.
Windows of Opportunity by 
Solitudes of the Workplace by 
Women's History by 
Engendering Transnational Voices by 
Italian women writers : gender and everyday life in fiction and journalism, 1870-1910 by 
Private Women and the Public Good by 
Equality Deferred by 
Afghanistan remembers : gendered narrations of violence and culinary practices by 
When Does Gender Matter? by 
Technologies of Sexiness by 
The Beauty Trade by 
Representation by 
The Man Who Invented Gender by The following pages help you learn to to navigate the Library.
To find books in the Trent Library, search Omni. Use the filters to limit to
If you search "Trent Library" you find only items available through our library. Broaden to "Trent + Omni Libraries" for physical items you can request from other Ontario university libraries.
Library Catalogues use LCSH (subject headings) in most records, to help us identify items of interest.
Women is used extensively throughout LC subject headings and it makes an effective keyword. It is generally (but not always) plural. Feminism and feminist are also common in subject headings.
Sample subject headings:
Women--United States--Biography
Women artists
Women--Employment
African American Feminists
Indian women--Ecuador
Young women--India
Women authors
Feminist anthropology
Feminist ethics
Teenage Girls
Feminine Beauty
Man woman relationships
Since these subjects are often general, use a keyword search with one of these terms and a more specific topic term as a starting point. If you find something good, look at the subjects given to it.
Books on Gender & Women's Studies can be found in sections related to History, Politics, Sociology, Indigneous Studies, etc. In general, the LC Classification system classifies "women" in "Social Sciences".
HQ: The family. Marriage. Women.
You can browse the HQ section of the Library, but keep in mind that you won't find e-books that way. Searching the Library Catalogue, effectively will find books in other sections, as well as e-books.
Having trouble finding books on a specific topic? Here are some hints.
The majority of our e-books are found using Omni.
The following resources contain collections of e-books. Most offer the option to create an account for yourself and save books, as well as adding notations and highlighting. These sites often allow searching within the book, which finds more books than our catalogue can.
