Library Guides: Cultural Studies: E-Books

E-Books

Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.

ebrary
A collection of books from a variety of publishers. ebrary is one of the platforms provided for e-books.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This eBook repository supports the creation and circulation of knowledge that advances understanding of humanity and human endeavors in the past, present, and future, with a view toward improving human experience.

Cambridge University Press
A collection of 2,431 e-book titles from Cambridge UP and Cambridge UP USA. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Canada Commons: Canadian Books and Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
- A database over 25,000 ebooks from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers, and over 240,000 public policy papers from think tanks and other Canadian policy organizations.
- This digital repository offers access to a vast collection of Canadian government publications, research reports, legislative documents, and other official materials, providing valuable resources for researchers, policymakers, and citizens interested in Canadian governance and public affairs.

Canadian Publishers Collection
A collection of about 2,000 non-fiction and reference books published by Canadian publishers. These e-books are available through the ebrary platform. The collection is also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- English literature and historical texts from the 15th to the 17th centuries. Includes early printed books as well as pamphlets, sermons, and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- A collection of printed works from the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, and essays covering a wide range of subjects from the Enlightenment era.
Trent has ECCO I and II
Gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
- Peer-reviewed, scholarly monographs primarily in the field of history.

Oxford University Press
A collection of 5038 e-book titles from Oxford University Press. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings across various disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Taylor & Francis
A collection of almost 12,000 e-book titles from Taylor & Francis. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform, but they are NOT yet included in the Scholars Portal Books database, due to license restrictions.
uO Research
A collection of 30+ books freely available from the University of Ottawa institutional repository. The goal of uO Research is to promote scholarly communication by collecting, preserving and providing free and open access to the digital research products created by the uOttawa faculty, researchers and graduate students. These books are downloadable in .pdf format. Many are in French.