Library Guides: Nursing & Health Sciences: Find Books

Tutorials

Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.
Tutorial: Finding E-Books
E-books are available from a variety of publishers in many different ways. When you search the Library Catalogue you find both e-books and print books. This tutorial outlines strategies for restricting your search to e-books. Estimated reading time: 5 minutes.
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
A short tutorial providing background on how keyword searching works, with tips to improve your search results. Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.

Reference Book Collections

OVID Nursing Reference Collection
Includes: Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Diseases: A Nursing Process Approach to Excellent Care, Handbook of Medical/Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, Nursing Care Plans and Documentation, Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests
Oxford Very Short Introductions: Medicine & Health
Springer Collection of Biomedical Sciences Reference Works
Springer Collection of Medicine Reference Works

Encyclopedias

Canadian Encyclopedia of Natural Medicine by Sherry Torkos
ISBN: 9780470158708
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
Online only.
Eating Disorders by Justine J. Reel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440800597
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health by Sana Loue (Editor); Martha Sajatovic (Editor); Siran Koroukian (Editor); Linda S. Lloyd (Editor); Scott Ober (Editor); Laura Weiss Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387337531
Publication Date: 2007-11-22
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Cancer by Manfred Schwab (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9783642164828
Publication Date: 2011-10-14
The Encyclopedia of Cancer by Carol Turkington; William LiPera
Call Number: Online only
ISBN: 9780816066339
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience by Clifton D. Bryant (Editor); Dennis L. Peck (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412951784
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: HV 5804 .E53 2001 REF
ISBN: 9780028655413
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Online and 4 volume set in Bata Reference.
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by Sarah E. Boslaugh (Editor)
ISBN: 1412928168
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Family Health by Shelley-Rae Pehler (Editor); Martha Craft-Rosenberg (Editor)
ISBN: 1412969182
Publication Date: 2011-01-20
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
ISBN: 1412941865
Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Ross M. Mullner (Editor)
ISBN: 1412951798
Publication Date: 2009-05-20
Online only.
The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease by Otelio Sye Randall; Deborah S. Romaine
ISBN: 9780816066377
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome by David N. Cooper
Call Number: QH 427 .E545 2003 REF
ISBN: 0470016183
Publication Date: 2003-08-11
5 volume set in Bata Library
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making by Michael W. Kattan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412953726
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Motherhood by Andrea O'Reilly (Editor)
ISBN: 1412968461
Publication Date: 2010-04-06
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Obesity by Kathleen Keller (Editor)
ISBN: 1412952387
Publication Date: 2008-01-24
Online only
Encyclopedia of Pain by Robert F. Schmidt (Editor); W. D. Willis (Editor); W.D. Willis (Editor)
ISBN: 9783540298052
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Online only.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by Wilhelm Kirch (Editor)
Call Number: RA 423 .E53 2002 V.1 REF
ISBN: 9781402056130
Publication Date: 2008-06-13
Online (Current). Also in print (older ed.) in Reference in Bata Library.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery by Nancy A. Roget (Editor); Gary L. Fisher (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412950848
Publication Date: 2008-11-12
Online only.
From Famine to Fast Food by Ken Albala (Editor)
ISBN: 1610697448
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Online only.
The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development by Stephen Hupp (Editor-In-Chief); Jeremy D. Jewell (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 1119171490
Publication Date: 2020
The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development presents the major theories, key concepts, disorders, and evidence-based practices of the field. Covering infancy through adolescence and emerging adulthood, this important work outlines major areas of research and examines specific topics, ongoing controversies, and current work being done by leaders in the field. The first work on the topic of its scale, the Encyclopedia offers scholarly, authoritative information from an international team of experts that spans ten volumes.

Dictionaries

Medical Dictionary by WebMD (Firm) Staff
ISBN: 0470189282
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Online only
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Created by)
Call Number: R 121 .S8 2008 REF
ISBN: 9780781776189
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
In Reference section on 2nd floor

Handbooks, Guides, Atlases

Nursing Drug Guide by Amy M. Karch
ISBN: 1469839377
Publication Date: 2014-06-26
Online only
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur (Editor); Arthur F. Dalley
Call Number: QM 25 .A38 2004
ISBN: 0781742552
Publication Date: 2004-04-30
In print on 3rd floor.
Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat
ISBN: 9780471420187
Publication Date: 2009
Online only
An Introduction to Psychological Assessment and Psychometrics by Keith Coaley
ISBN: 1446267148
Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Online only
Personality Theory and Assessment by Gregory J. Boyle (Editor); Gerald Matthews (Editor); Donald H. Saklofske (Editor)
ISBN: 1412946522
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
Online only.
Nursing Research Using Phenomenology by Mary De Chesnay
ISBN: 0826126863
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Online only
Nursing Research Using Participatory Action Research by Mary De Chesnay
ISBN: 0826126138
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Online only.
Nursing Research Using Ethnography by Mary De Chesnay
ISBN: 0826134661
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Online only
Nursing Research Using Data Analysis by Mary De Chesnay
ISBN: 082612688X
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Online only
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by Patricia Cronin; Michael Coughlan; Frances Ryan
Call Number: RT 81.5 .C68 2013
ISBN: 9781446249604
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Print only, Bata Library