Library Guides: Nursing & Health Sciences: Websites

Health By Population Group

Aboriginal Canada Portal - Health and Social Services
Aboriginal Healing and Wellness Strategy
Assembly of First Nations
Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association
First Nations and Innuit Health
Indigenous Health
Canadian Nurses Association
Indigenous Knowing
NurseOne, Canadian Nurses Association.
Indigenous Studies Portal - Health
University of Saskatchewan
Indigenous Women's Health
Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
Ingdigenous Health
Government of Canada
Institue of Indigenous Peoples' Health
Mental Health and Wellness Services for Indigenous Children and Youth
National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal Health (NCCAH)
Native American Health
Medline Plus, U.S. National Library of Medicine
Native Diabetes Wellness Program
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness
National Library of Medicine
US Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health

Advocacy Centre for the Elderly
Age Friendly Peterborough
Aging and Seniors
Public Health Agency of Canada
Aging and Seniors Care
Canadian Nurses Association
Aging in Poverty in Canada (2005)
National Advisory Council on Aging
Aging with Confidence: Ontario's Action Plan for Seniors
Atlas of the Aging Populations of Canada
Queen's University
Canada's Aging Population (2002)
Division of Aging & Seniors, Health Canada
Canada’s Aging Population and Implications for Government Finances
Fraser Institute, 2017
Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging
Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging
"The Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA) is a large, national, long-term study that will follow approximately 50,000 men and women between the ages of 45 and 85 for at least 20 years."
Canadian Study on Health and Aging (2002)
The Canadian Study of Health and Aging (CSHA) is a population-based, cohort study of the epidemiology of dementia in Canada
Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers Responsible for Seniors Forum
Health Care in Canada 2011: A Focus on Seniors and Aging
Canadian Institute of Health Information
Institute of Aging
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Live Longer, Living Well (2013)
Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care
McMaster Optimal Aging Portal
National Seniors Council
A Portrait of Seniors in Canada (2006)
Statistics Canada
Seniors
City of Peterborough
Seniors' Health
Medline Plus, U.S. National Library of Medicine
Seniors - Healthy Living
Health Canada
Seniors in Canada (2001)
National Advisory Council on Aging, Government of Canada
Seniors on the Margins: Seniors from ethnocultural minorities (2005)
National Advisory Council on Aging
Trent Centre for Aging & Society
Trent University, Peterborough, ON
Who’s at risk and what can be done about it? A review of the literature on the social isolation of different groups of seniors
National Seniors Council, 2017

Best Start: Ontario's Maternal Newborn and Early Child Development Resource Centre
Canadian Child & Youth Health Coalition
Canadian Institute of Child health
Canadian Network of Maternal, Newborn and Child Health
"A network of Canadian NGOs, academic institutions and health professional associations working together to improve the lives of women and children in the world's poorest countries."
Canadian Paediatric Society
Caring for Kids New to Canada
Centre for Global Child Health
Sick Kids, Toronto, ON
Child and Youth
Mental Health Commission of Canada
Child Health
Public Health Agency of Canada
Children's Healthcare Canada
Children's Mental Health Ontario
Children, youth and depression
Canadian Mental Health Association
Children and Adolescents
Health Canada
Children and Health Eating
Health Canada
Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health
CIHR
Maternal, Newborn & Child Health
Canadian International Development Agency
Ontario Child Health Study
Statistics Canada
Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Teen Health
Medline Plus, U.S. National Library of Medicine

LGBTQ

Center of Excellence for Transgender Health
University of California, San Fransisco
Facilitators and barriers to health care for lesbian, gay and bisexual (LGB) people
Ontario HIV Treatment Network
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Health
U.S. National Library of Medicine

The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Issues and Research Gaps and Opportunities; Board on the Health of Select Populations Staff; Institute of Medicine
ISBN: 9780309210614
Publication Date: 2011-07-24

Institute of Gender and Health
CIHR
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Trans People and Mental Health
Canadian Mental Health Association
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
U.S. Centre for Disease Control
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources
American Psychological Association
Lesbians and Healthcare
Canadian Women's Health Network
Rainbow Health Ontario
Research for LGBTQ Health
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
Rethinking LGBTQ Health
Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women’s Health.
World Professional Association for Transgender Health

Women

Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
"After 16 years ACEWH closes. Our knowledge base and archives include hundreds of studies, reports, papers and publications focusing on women and gender-based issues."
British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
Canadian Women's Health Network
Indigenous Women's Health
Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
Institute of Gender and Health
CIHR
The POWER Study
Project for an Ontario Women's Health Evidence-Based Report. St. Michael's Hospital, MOHLTC, ICES
Prairie Women's Health Centre of Excellence
"Welcome to the archives of Prairie Women's Health Centre of Excellence. PWHCE closed its doors in March 2013, as federal funds supporting its infrastructure were discontinued. This website is intended to make PWHCE projects and materials available until 2023."
Women's Health
MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine
Women's Xchange
Women's College Hospital, Toronto, ON. "Women’s Xchange is a women’s health knowledge translation and exchange centre, based at Women’s College Hospital in Toronto designed to promote the development of women’s health research across the province."

Men

Institute of Gender and Health
CIHR
Men's Health, Health Canada
Men's Health
U.S. Department of Health
Men's Health
MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine
Men & Mental Illness
Canadian Mental Health Association

Canadian Centre for Refugee and Immigrant Health Care (CCRIHC)
Canadian Collaboration for Immigrant and Refugee Health (CCIRH)
Canadian Guidelines for Immigrant Health
Canadian Medical Association Journal
Caring for Kids New to Canada
Cultural Competence E-Learning Modules Series
Sick Kids Hospital, Toronto
Dynamics of Immigrants' Health in Canada: Evidence from the National Population Health Survey
Statistics Canada
The healthy immigrant effect and mortality rates (2014)
Statistics Canada
Immigrant and refugee health
Canadian Paediatric Society
Immigrants
Health Canada
Multicultural Mental Health Resource Centre

Canadian Association of Rural and Remote Nursing
Canadian Rural Health Research Society
University of Saskatchewan
Centre for Rural and Northern Health Research
Laurentian University
Centre for Rural and Northern Health Research
Lakehead University
The Council of Remote Area Nurses of Australia
Gateway / Centre of Excellence in Rural Health
How Healthy Are Rural Canadians?
CIHI, Public Health Agency of Canada, 2006
Nursing Practice in Rural and Remote Canada
University of Northern British Columbia
Rural, Remote and Northern Women's Health: Policy and Research Directions - Summary Report
Centres of Excellence for Women's Health
Rural and Remote Communities
Atlantic Centre of Excellence for Women's Health
Rural Health Research Gateway
Maine Rural Health Research Centre, University of Southern Maine
Rural Nurse Organization
Society of Rural Physicians Canada

Social/Political Action

History of Nursing

BC History of Nursing Society
The Call to Duty: Canada's Nursing Sisters
Canadian Association for the History of Nursing
The Canadian Nurse
Look at the very first issue of the journal The Canadian Nurse from 1905 in the Internet Archive.
Canadian Nurse in World War 1 - Nursing Sister Helen L. Fowlds from the Trent University Archives
Canadian Nursing History Collection - Canadian Museum of History
Margaret M. Allemang Society for the History of Nursing
Nursing History Digitization Project - Mount Saint Vincent University
Nursing History Research Unit
Nursing Images
Nursing Sisters of Canada
Public Health Nurses - Archives of Ontario

Health Promotion

Canadian Best Practices Portal for Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention
Chronic Disease Prevention Guideline (2018)
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Health Promotion
Public Health Agency of Canada
Health Promotion
World Health Organization
Ontario Prevention Clearing House (Health Nexus)
Population Health Promotion: An Integrated Model of Population Health and Health Promotion

Public Health

Canadian Best Practices Portal - Public Health
Canadian Public Health Association
Institute of Population and Public Health (IPPH)(CIHR)
Ontario Pubilc Health Standards
Ontario Minisitry of Health and Long-Term Care
Ontario Public Health Association
Peterborough Public Health
Public Health Agency of Canada
Public Health Grey Literature Database
Ontario Public Health Libraries Association - "This database of grey literature has been compiled to increase the accessibility of grey literature from Ontario's 36 public health units and other provincial knowledge-producing public health organizations"
Public Health Ontario

Health in Peterborough

Health Planning Tools & Resources

Best Practice Interventions
Professor recommended.
Public Agency of Canada - "On this page, you can search all of the community interventions that are contained in this Section. The interventions focus on chronic disease prevention and health promotion and can help you design, implement or assess your own intervention. Currently, the Portal contains over 340 interventions."
Evidence-Informed Decision-Making: Information and Tools
Public Health Agency of Canada
Evidence-Informed Public Health
National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT), Canada
Learn about the process of "distilling and disseminating the best available evidence from research, practice and experience and using that evidence to inform and improve public health policy and practice."
Health Evidence (McMaster University)
Professor recommended
"Becoming a registered user of Health Evidence will give you access to search our registry of 3,439 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions." On this website are also practice tools (e.g. checklists, guides, flowcharts). Access is free, but you need to register.
Planning Public Health Programs: Information and Tools
Public Health Agency of Canada
Public Health Grey Literature Database
Ontario Public Health Libraries Association - "This database of grey literature has been compiled to increase the accessibility of grey literature from Ontario's 36 public health units and other provincial knowledge-producing public health organizations"
Resources for Planning Health Programs
Professor recommended.
Public Health Ontario
"The new edition of the Planning Health Promotion Programs Introductory Workbook helps readers understand and navigate the six steps needed to plan an evidence-informed health promotion program. The workbook features interactive worksheets, additional examples, supplementary resources and tips. This is the first edition to contain health equity information."

Associations

American Nurses Association

National League for Nursing

International Council of Nurses

Sigma Theta Tau

WWW Search Guides

Using Google, Google Scholar and Other Internet Search Engines
A guide on using internet search engines, with a section on using Google Scholar and setting it to recognize you as a Trent student.
Evaluating Websites
A guide on determining the reliability and scholarship of websites, Trent University Library & Archives.