Library Guides: Nursing & Health Sciences: Newspaper Articles

Tutorials

Searching Newspapers
How to search newspapers through the library..
Newspaper Article Searching Tips

Newspapers

These databases include at least some newspapers. Some cover only one title; some are only historical; some are a mix of newspapers and journals.

Burney Newspapers Collection: Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive contains British newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries, offering invaluable historical insights into various aspects of British society, politics, and culture during that period.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading academic journals and reference sources, covering a wide range of subjects including the arts, business, health, history, law, literature, science, and social science, making it a valuable resource for scholarly research and study.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This scholarly business database contains Full Text journals and other resources covering topics such as: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, country economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database, providing access to scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more from a Canadian perspective spanning various subject areas such as business, economics, politics, arts, sports, and more.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile Canadian Periodical Index provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
- A complete digital repository of The Times newspaper, providing access to its complete archive from 1785 to 1985. This database offers a rich historical record of global and local events, including detailed news reports, editorials, and advertisements.

Newspaper article searching tips

There are several places to find recent newspapers articles. Newspaper websites sometimes provide access, but full-text is not always available or limited to just that day or week. The library subscribes to several databases that include full-text newspaper articles. Some of the best ones for finding Canadian newspapers include:

CBCA - Indexes Canadian journals and newspapers, including scholarly and popular titles
CPIQ - Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers.

See a complete list of databases for newspapers here..

CBCA

In this search I selected the specific field of Document title-TI. I did this because the first time I executed the search I received over 15,000 citations. This is too many too look through. After revising the search strategy, I only had 50 plus citations to look through. Often, but not always, the most important words will be in the title or abstract of an article. Searching only within one of these fields can help to refine the search, improving the relevancy of the results. It doesn't always work, as authors can sometimes be very 'creative' with titles, but it's a good start.

Note: because this in not just a newspaper database, under Source Type, Newspapers was selected.