Library Guides: Philosophy: Images and Media

Media and Image Resources at Trent

Media Resources and Links
Trent Library's webpage of sources for media. Most of these are free sites.

National Film Board of Canada (NFB) Education This link opens in a new window
- Find documentaries and films about the lives of Canadians, the environment, human rights, international conflict, and more.
- Register for an NFB Education account to create custom playlists, view study guides, and access additional educational content.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.

Thanhouser Films Online
A free streaming service with 50+ films from the early 1900s.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by expert. Includes photos and images.

Guide to Finding Images

Help: Finding Images
A page on our website offering options for finding images on the web which can be legally used in your work.

Resources Containing Images

These resources contain images.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
Google: Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
- Google Arts & Culture is a free online platform that allows users to explore and experience the world's art, history, and culture through high-resolution images, virtual tours, and interactive exhibits from museums and cultural organizations around the globe.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- Provides authoritative and up-to-date information on a wide range of topics, including history, science, culture, and current events.
China: Trade, Politics, Culture This link opens in a new window
- Unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people, and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980. Includes rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- Access to primary source materials that explore gender roles and relations from the 15th to the early 20th century. Includes manuscripts, printed works, and rare documents that provide insight into the social, cultural, and historical aspects of gender.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- Access to primary sources, including documents, periodicals, and manuscripts, related to British colonial and imperial history.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
- A unique collection of primary source materials from the Mass Observation Project, which documented everyday life in Britain from the 1930s to the 1950s. This database includes personal diaries, surveys, and reports, offers insights into British social history, cultural attitudes, and daily life during a transformative period.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
- A specialized database providing access to a collection of travel narratives, exploration accounts, and geographic descriptions from the medieval period.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- Contains the biographies of significant figures in British history. Scholarly accounts describing the lives and contributions of the people who have shaped British history and culture, from ancient and medieval periods to the present.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
- A collection of historical documents related to slavery, abolition movements, and social justice.