Library Guides: Philosophy: Newspapers

Tutorials and Help Pages

Links to our webpages about newspapers held at the Trent Library.

Searching Newspapers
How to search newspapers through the library..
Newspapers on Microfilm
A list of newspapers and dates available on microfilm in the Bata Library.

Newspapers

You don't often need newspapers for Philosophy topics, but there may be times when you want to know what's been in the news about a topic.

These databases include at least some newspapers. Some cover only one title; some are only historical; some are a mix of newspapers and journals.

Burney Newspapers Collection: Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century This link opens in a new window
- The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- The Academic OneFile database provides access to a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading academic journals and reference sources, covering a wide range of subjects including the arts, business, health, history, law, literature, science, and social science, making it a valuable resource for scholarly research and study.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite offers a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database provided by EBSCO that contains Full Text journals and other resources covering topics such as: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, country economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Globe and Mail (1844-20??) This link opens in a new window
Canada's national newspaper. This historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage:1844 - 4 years ago (moving wall).
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).