Library Guides: French & Francophone Studies: Find Books

Very Short Introductions, from Oxford University Press

See the Very Short Introductions series for Linguistics books.

From Oxford University Press, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas - a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Individual Linguistics titles are:

Find Books in Omni

Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.

Filters let you limit to "Available Online" (ebooks) or Available in Library (physical).

Omni even finds chapters within books.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

Physical Books

Call Numbers

The Library uses Library of Congress Call Numbers to classify books. These call number ranges will help you find the right spot to browse the stacks, but remember that we have a lot of online books that aren't physically in the library - these can only be found by searching Omni.

Language:

PC 2000-3700 is the section for French Language.
PC 4000 is the section for Spanish Language.
PD is the section for German Language.

Literature:

PN 1-6790 is General Literature, but literature is also organized by country.
PQ 1-3000 is French Literature.
PQ 6000-8000 is Spanish Literature, including Spanish America.
PT 1-4000 is German Literature.

EBooks

The majority of our e-books are found through Omni.

The following resources contain collections of ebooks. Most offer the option to create an account for yourself and save books, as well as adding notations and highlighting. In many cases, searching ebooks directly from these sites searches within the book, rather than just the description of a book. You may find links to specific chapters or pages within books.

Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- Academic and professional eBooks covering the full spectrum of academic disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, textbooks, reference works, and research materials.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This eBook repository supports the creation and circulation of knowledge that advances understanding of humanity and human endeavors in the past, present, and future, with a view toward improving human experience.

Cambridge University Press
A collection of 2,431 e-book titles from Cambridge UP and Cambridge UP USA. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are included in the Scholars Portal Books database.
Canadian Publishers Collection
A collection of about 2,000 non-fiction and reference books published by Canadian publishers. These e-books are available through the ebrary platform. The collection is also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- English literature and historical texts from the 15th to the 17th centuries. Includes early printed books as well as pamphlets, sermons, and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- A collection of printed works from the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, and essays covering a wide range of subjects from the Enlightenment era.
Trent has ECCO I and II
Gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
- Peer-reviewed, scholarly monographs primarily in the field of history.

Oxford University Press
A collection of 5038 e-book titles from Oxford University Press. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings across various disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Taylor & Francis
A collection of almost 12,000 e-book titles from Taylor & Francis. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform, but they are NOT yet included in the Scholars Portal Books database, due to license restrictions.
uO Research
A collection of 30+ books freely available from the University of Ottawa institutional repository. The goal of uO Research is to promote scholarly communication by collecting, preserving and providing free and open access to the digital research products created by the uOttawa faculty, researchers and graduate students. These books are downloadable in .pdf format. Many are in French.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly eBooks published by leading academic presses covering a wide range of disciplines. UPSO includes authoritative research, monographs, and academic publications designed to support advanced study and research across various fields.