Library Guides: Indigenous Research Portal: Homelands and Treaty Assignment

Williams Treaty Resources (Peterborough and Kawarthas region)

Websites and Books

The disputed boundaries of the 1923 (Williams) Treatie
This thesis, by Trent alumni, explores the boundaries of the 1923 (Williams) Treaties. The boundaries of the 1923 treaties have been acknowledged as containing 10,719 square miles or 20,100 square miles and a "basket clause" which included other lands, by the Federal Government. This thesis is also a general history of the Mississauga and Chippewa land claim, 1869 and 1923. The Federal Government intention in the 1923 (Williams) treaties were to only describe boundaries to 10,719 square miles. Therefore, lands outside of the 10,719 square miles remain not covered by a treaty, have been usurped from the Mississauga and Chippewa without compensation.
Curve Lake First Nation
Curve Lake First Nation people are the Mississaugas of the great Anishnaabeg (uhnish-nahbe) nation. This is the official website of the Curve Lake First Nation.
Hiawatha First Nation
Hiawatha First Nation, Mississaugas of Rice Lake, is located on the north shore of Rice Lake east of the Otonabee River. It is found in Otonabee Township approximately 30 kilometres south of Peterborough. The First Nation consists of approximately 2145 acres of land of which 1523 are under certificates of possession.

The Village of Hiawatha: a History by Shpuniarsky, Heather
Call Number: Special Collections E99 .M68 S56 2015
ISBN: 0994726813
Publication Date: 2015
Hiawatha Village: A History, concerns the history of the Mississauga community of Hiawatha First Nation in Southern Ontario. Through oral history and documents, this book represents the rich and complex history of this community on the north shore of Rice Lake.
Oshkigmong : the Curve in the Lake - a history of the Mississauga community of Curve Lake : origins of the Curve Lake Anishnabek by Whetung-Derrick, Mae
Call Number: E99 .C6 W462 2015
ISBN: 9780991763726
Publication Date: 2015
A history of the Curve Lake First Nation
History of the Ojibwa of the Curve Lake Reserve and surrounding area by Whetung-Derrick, Mae
Call Number: E99 .C6 W46 1976
Publication Date: 1976

Significant Legal Cases

R. vs Howard
This was a case involving George Henry Howard, a status Indian and a member of the Hiawatha Band, who was convicted of unlawfully fishing during a prohibited period. The trial
Hiawatha First Nation v. Ontario (Minister of the Environment)
In Hiawatha First Nation v. Ontario (Minister of the Environment), 2007 CanLII 3485 (ON SCDC), seven First Nations brought a claim in which they alleged, among other things, that they had an aboriginal right to preservation of Anishnaabeg burial sites and they feared that development of the Seaton lands (lands in Pickering) would destroy burial sites which likely are located on the Seaton lands.
Williams Treaties First Nations Settlement Agreement
Infographic of the long history behind the settlement.
Canada, Ontario and Williams Treaties First Nations reach negotiated settlement agreement for Alderville Litigation
Government of Canada communication about the settlement.
Recent Legal Developments on Consulation and Accomocation Relating to Environmental and Archaeological Issues
Overview of the impact of legal decisions on Indigenous, environmental and archaeological issues, including Hiawatha First Nation v. Ontario (Minister of the Environment).

Section One: Indigenous Peoples and Treaties

You need to know the name and history of the Indigenous peoples in your geographic area. These resources will help.

Trent University Michi Saagic Protocol Guide Book
This guide is intended to provide you with foundational information about the Michi Saagiig communities on whose treaty and traditional territory Trent is located, an introduction to the Anishnaabeg language, and tips for participating in ceremony and smudging. This guide will also help you to understand significant symbolism and sacred objects to the Anishnaabeg people.There are many different nations, languages, treaties and traditions across Canada.
Whose Land
Whose Land is a web-based app that uses GIS technology to assist users in identifying Indigenous Nations, territories, and Indigenous communities across Canada. The app can be used for learning about the territory your home or business is situated on, finding information for a land acknowledgement, and learning about the treaties and agreements signed across Canada. [website description]
Map of Ontario Treaties and Reserves
This is a great 'starting point' for your research. It provides an interactive map, descriptions and texts of treaties with Indigenous peoples.
First Nations in Ontario
Links to websites for First Nations in Ontario
Ontario First Nations Maps
How to locate First Nation reserves, Tribal Councils, political organizations and land covered by treaties.
Indian Land Surrenders in Ontario, 1763-1867
Digitized copy of book published by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Williams Treaties
The Williams Treaties were signed in October and November 1923 by the governments of Canada and Ontario and by seven First Nations of the Chippewa of Lake Simcoe and the Mississauga of the north shore of Lake Ontario. As the last historic land cession treaties in Canada, these agreements transferred over 20,000 km2 of land in southcentral Ontario to the Crown. [website]
Treaties and Agreements
Government of Canada site for historic treaties and agreements.
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) continues to renew the nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis; modernize Government of Canada structures to enable Indigenous peoples to build capacity and support their vision of self-determination; and lead the Government of Canada's work in the North.
First Nations in Canada
This Government of Canada educational resource is designed for use by young Canadians; high school educators and students; Aboriginal communities; and anyone interested in First Nations history. Its aim is to help readers understand the significant developments affecting First Nations communities from the pre-Contact era (before the arrival of Europeans) up to the present day.

Handbook of North American Indians by William C. Sturtevant (Editor); Wilcomb E. Washburn (Editor)
Call Number: E 77 .H25 and E 77 .H25 REF
ISBN: 9780160045837
Publication Date: 1989-07-24
Good starting point for research

Section One: Place Names

Indian Place Names In Ontario by Moore, William Francis
Call Number: F 5501 .M66 OR F 5501 .M66 HU (Special Collections)
Publication Date: 1930
Ontario Place Names by David Scott
Call Number: FC 3056 .S36 2001
ISBN: 0968899609
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Place Names of Ontario by Alan Rayburn
Call Number: FC 3056 .R392 1997 REF
ISBN: 0802072070
Publication Date: 1997-05-24

BC Geograpnical Names
Database of British Columbia place names
Alberta Place Names
Archived webs site of Alberta place names
Historical Place Names: A Case Study of Three Townships on the County of Peterborough

Section Two: Contemporary Presence Demographic Statistics

Statistics Canada Census Program
Go here to find out the latest census data of your community.
Aboriginal Population Profile, 2016 Census
This product presents information from the Census of Population focusing on the Aboriginal identity population of various geographic areas. These geographic areas include: Canada, provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas and census agglomerations, census divisions, census subdivisions, Métis settlements, Inuit regions, Indian band and Tribal Council areas, modern treaty and self-government agreement areas and historic treaty areas. Data are available for the Aboriginal identity population by age groups for selected socio-demographic characteristics.

Section Two: Contemporary Presence Newspaper and Journal Articles

The same search tips for books apply to articles. You will need to try various terms ranging from the Indigenous peoples names of your community, specific place names (city, county, township), and terms like claims, land tenure, treaty rights.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
From Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), an electronic publication that contains citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q)
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.

Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
From the University of Saskatchewan, the Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects researchers with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The vision of iPortal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies.
News Media Canada Find A Newspaper
News Media Canada is the voice of the print and digital media industry in Canada. Use their Find A Newspaper database to locate the website for your local paper.

Finding Books

Find books using Omni. For help using Omni go to the Omni Guide.

the library's catalogue
catalogues of other libraries by using RACER

Locating General Material on Specific Area of Indigenous Peoples

search using names of Indigenous peoples in your community, ie. Mississaugas, Chippewas, Ojibwe, Cree, Anishinaabe,etc.
when searching geographical areas do not just search the name of the town/city, but also the county or township in which the city/town is located, see Ontario Municipalities
if you need more help with catalogue and keyword search techniques visit our online tutorials
look at the catalogue record, not just the item information, because you want to see what subject headings the Library has assigned material so you can then search for other items with the same subjects

Locating Treaty, Treaty Rights and Land Claims Information

try searching by specific treaty, ie. Williams Treaty or Williams Treaties
search using broader terms like land claims, land tenure, treaties, treaty rights

Solemn words and foundational documents : an annotated discussion of Indigenous-Crown treaties in Canada, 1752-1923 by Morin, Jean-Pierre
ISBN: 9781487594466
Publication Date: 2018
Who controls the hunt? : First Nations, treaty rights, and wildlife conservation in Ontario, 1783-1939 by Calverley, David
ISBN: 9780774831338
Publication Date: 2018
Aboriginal Peoples and the law : a critical introduction by Reynolds, James
ISBN: 9780774880213
Publication Date: 2018
By law or in justice : the Indian Specific Claims Commission and the struggle for indigenous justice by Dickson, Jane
ISBN: 9780774880053
Publication Date: 2018

Books at Other Libraries

You can get books from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan (RACER). You can search the RACER database and request material directly from other libraries.

You can also search the WorldCat database of library holdings from across North America.

Finding Primary Sources

Primary Sources

You may find 'primary sources' like stories of early explorers, missionaries, settlers, etc. that interacted with the Indigenous peoples of your community useful.

Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990
Use the Annual Reports to trace things like the population of Indian populations, statement of Indian lands sold, conditions of schools for Indian youths, etc. Use the Search: database feature to search by the name of the Indigenous group. You can also search by year and download in PDF the entire report.

Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
- A digital archive providing access to a vast collection of Canadian heritage materials, including historical documents, photographs, maps, and more, serving as a comprehensive resource for researchers, educators, and the general public.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window
- A collection of historical documents and records detailing interactions between European settlers and Indigenous peoples.
- Includes primary sources such as letters, diaries, reports, and official records from the 17th and 18th centuries, offering insights into the early encounters, cultural exchanges, and conflicts that shaped North American history.
Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.

Finding Legal Resources

CanLII
"CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions." [description from website]

Nexis Uni Plus This link opens in a new window
- Access to news, business, and legal resources.