Indigenous Research Portal

Caninuit is an annotated source of information about the magazines, journals, newspapers and newsletters of Canada's Inuit peoples and communities.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

This searches CBCA and ProQuest Education and ERIC simultaneously.

Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.

Index to scholarly articles in academic journals. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. To limit your search to a discipline, look under "MORE SETTINGS" at the bottom of the search screen. See the guide: Cited Reference Searching - Web of Science/Knowledge.

Canadiana.org identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials—in specialized searchable databases:

Early Canadiana Online is a full-text collection of published documentary material, including monographs, government documents, and specialized or mass-market periodicals from the 16th to 20th centuries. Law, literature, religion, education, women’s history and aboriginal history are particular areas of strength. This resource combines content from the CIHM microfilm series with full-colour scans of rare, primary-source titles.

Heritage draws from the rich corpus of archival microfilm held by Library and Archives Canada, with a focus on fonds from the individuals and organizations that have shaped Canada's history. Politics, arts and literature, labour, military, aboriginal history, social justice and women's history are particular areas of strength.

Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples.

Contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.