Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Too few articles:
- Check for typos and spelling. Consider using both American and British spellings (eg. behaviour or behavior).
- Remove long phrases.
- Make sure you're using a database that is likely to include information on your topic.
- Try using other synonyms and alternate words joined by the Boolean Operator 'OR' (e.g. aboriginal or indigenous or First Nations).
- Check your Boolean logic. Are you using 'AND' when you should be using 'OR'?
- If you have found at least one good article, look at the references of this article to find other related articles OR use the 'Find citing' or 'Find related' buttons when available in the databases.
Too many articles:
- Add another concept to your searching using the Boolean operator 'AND'.
- Add Limits (e.g. Peer Reviewed, Date of Publication, Language, Publication Type, etc.).
- Check your Boolean logic. Are you using 'OR' when you should be using 'AND'?
- When Keyword searching, try searching just in the Title field. This is not recommended for all searches, as you will eliminate relevant articles that don't have those keywords in the title, but it will likely find a few articles to get you started.
- If you're searching in a database that covers all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Elite, Web of Knowledge), look for a database that is subject specific.
Start your Research in Omni
Omni: Rediscover Discovery
Omni is the new academic search tool that locates your research material quickly and easily. Find Omni at the top of all our library webpages, or use the links below.
Important Scholarly Databases
Try these databases first to find scholarly articles in physics and astronomy.
Web of Science
Index to scholarly articles in academic journals. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. To limit your search to a discipline, look under "MORE SETTINGS" at the bottom of the search screen. See the guide: Cited Reference Searching - Web of Science/Knowledge
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Elite
From EBSCOhost. This general database finds articles on almost any topic. Sources include scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers - use limits to restrict your search to a publication type.
Scitation (American Institute of Physics - AIP)
The online journals from the American Institute of Physics. Each title is browseable and searchable, but there is no search engine that searches all journals at once.
An annual synthesis of primary research material in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. These journals are also included in Scholars Portal Journals.
APS Journals (American Physical Society)
Full text and searching of APS journals.
Open access to 776,050 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
For access to full-text add Find It @ Trent (Omni) - Find It@TrentU under Settings / Library Links.
Institute of Physics E-Journals
Full text and searchable journals in Physics. Limted access.
PROLA is the American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. The full online version of the following titles is available: Physical Review Letters (1958-Present), Physical Review Series III (1970 - Present), Physical Review Series II (1913 - 1969), Physical Review Series I (1893 - 1912), Reviews of Modern Physics (1929-Present), Physical Review Special Topics (1998-Present).
"Beginning with research funded in 2016, all NASA-funded authors and co-authors (both civil servant and non-civil servant) will be required to deposit copies of their peer-reviewed scientific publications and associated data into NASA’s publication repository called NASA PubSpace. This EXCLUDES patents, publications that contain material governed by personal privacy, export control, proprietary restrictions, or national security law or regulations."
The Library Catalogue holds the bibliographic records of the Trent University Library holdings. These include books, maps, journal subscriptions.
A searchable A-Z listing of our indexes and databases.
Search the Trent Library's database of online journals available through our various full-text databases.
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary loan is a system that allows you to request material from other libraries to be sent to Trent for you to borrow. Normally, there are no costs to use the ILL service. Plan ahead because it can take a few days or even weeks for material to be sent, depending upon availability.
Visit the RACER (ILL) page for more information.