Omni is the new academic search tool that locates your research material quickly and easily. Find Omni at the top of all our library webpages, or use the links below.
For more advanced and focused searching, try these databases to find scholarly articles in mathematics.
Starting a search in Omni is a little like starting a search in Google. Searching in subject specific databases, such as MathSciNet or Web of Science, usually requires a little more preparation. Knowing about keyword searching, boolean operators, and database specific functions is important when searching subject specific databases.
Keyword searching - With a keyword search you look for a word, no matter where that word appears. If you like, you can specify that the word be in a particular field (e.g. the title, author, or subject), but it can be in any position (beginning, middle, or end).
Narrowing your results
Check the database for ways to limit your results to:
Check the record where your search terms matched. The best matches for topics are in fields like Subject or Title. Search specific fields if there is an Advanced or Expert search option.
Use Subject Headings or Descriptors if available to increase the relevancy of your results
Add another concept to your search using the Boolean operator “AND”
Research Tip: When you find a good article, use it to find others.
Below is a screenshot of what the results look like in MathSciNet. Highlighted are tools you can use to modify your results - sort by, search within results and a selection of filters such as item type, primary classification or date. Also highlighted are the Get It! Trent links which will search Omni to determine if Trent has access to the full-text of the article.
Getting the Full-Text
Sometimes the database you are searching also provides full text journals. In this case you may see below or next to the citation a 'Full-Text' link to the article.
If you do not see a Full-Text link, this does not always mean we don't have the article. It may be available from another source. In this case, to determine if Trent has the full-text of an article, click on the Get It! Trent or Omni icon. This icon can be seen near each citation in a database.
Note: If you see the notation below a citation, “ Trent Library does not have this journal”, please ignore as it is not always accurate. Omni will be able to better tell you if we have the journal.
If an article is not available, you can request an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) through RACER. Keep in mind articles via ILL are not available overnight, so this service is only useful if you have enough time to receive the article before your project is due. We recommend that you allow 7-10 days. For more information and to register for an account please go to the RACER web site.
Too few articles:
Too many articles: