Library Guides: Chemistry: Find Books

E-Books

The majority of our e-books are included in Omni and can be found with any search. The record includes a link to the e-book.

To limit a search to e-books, use the search filters to limit availability to 'Available Online'

The following resources contain collections of e-books. Most offer the option to create an account for yourself and save books, as well as adding notations and highlighting. There is overlap between these collections, and you may find the same books in more than one place. However, you may also find something not listed elsewhere.

Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.

ebrary
A collection of books from a variety of publishers. ebrary is one of the platforms provided for e-books.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This eBook repository supports the creation and circulation of knowledge that advances understanding of humanity and human endeavors in the past, present, and future, with a view toward improving human experience.

Cambridge University Press
A collection of 2,431 e-book titles from Cambridge UP and Cambridge UP USA. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Canada Commons: Canadian Books and Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
- A database over 25,000 ebooks from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers, and over 240,000 public policy papers from think tanks and other Canadian policy organizations.
- This digital repository offers access to a vast collection of Canadian government publications, research reports, legislative documents, and other official materials, providing valuable resources for researchers, policymakers, and citizens interested in Canadian governance and public affairs.

Canadian Publishers Collection
A collection of about 2,000 non-fiction and reference books published by Canadian publishers. These e-books are available through the ebrary platform. The collection is also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- English literature and historical texts from the 15th to the 17th centuries. Includes early printed books as well as pamphlets, sermons, and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- A collection of printed works from the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, and essays covering a wide range of subjects from the Enlightenment era.
Trent has ECCO I and II
Gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
- Peer-reviewed, scholarly monographs primarily in the field of history.

Oxford University Press
A collection of 5038 e-book titles from Oxford University Press. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Access to academic and reference e-books across multiple disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, research handbooks, and educational resources designed to support in-depth study and research in the social sciences, humanities, business, and health.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings across various disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Taylor & Francis
A collection of almost 12,000 e-book titles from Taylor & Francis. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform, but they are NOT yet included in the Scholars Portal Books database, due to license restrictions.
uO Research
A collection of 30+ books freely available from the University of Ottawa institutional repository. The goal of uO Research is to promote scholarly communication by collecting, preserving and providing free and open access to the digital research products created by the uOttawa faculty, researchers and graduate students. These books are downloadable in .pdf format. Many are in French.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly eBooks published by leading academic presses covering a wide range of disciplines. UPSO includes authoritative research, monographs, and academic publications designed to support advanced study and research across various fields.
Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
- Offers a series of concise, accessible overviews on a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an expert introduction to key concepts and debates within a particular field, making it a valuable resource for quick reference and foundational understanding across various academic disciplines.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.

Reference Books

In this column you will find a list of selected reference books including:

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz (Editor); Kirk
Call Number: TP9 .K54 1999
ISBN: 0471296988
Publication Date: 1999-03-15
In Print only in Reference section on 2nd Floor Bata Library.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology by Alan E. Comyns
Call Number: TP 155.7 .C664 2007 REF
ISBN: 9780849391637
Publication Date: 2007-06-07
In print only in Bata Library Reference.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers by Jan W. Gooch (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387301600
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Online only
Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor); Susan Budavari (Editor); Patricia Heckelman (Editor); Ann Smith (Associate Editor)
Call Number: RS 51 .M4
ISBN: 0911910131
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Online. Older edition in print at Bata Reference.
Catalysis from a to Z by Boy Cornils; Wolfgang A. Herrmann; Jian-He Xu; Horst -Werner Zanthoff
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 3527809082
Publication Date: 2019
This encyclopedia covers all aspects of catalysis and related topics such as spectroscopy and analytical methods. This handy reference also includes abbreviations, brief biographic entries of important scientists who have worked in catalysis, trade names, important catalytic processes, named reactions, reactions, and other important keywords in the general field of catalysis.