Chemistry

U.S. National Library of Medicine

CAS (division of the American Chemical Society)

Calculated properties of thousands of inorganic materials. This website also has computational phase diagrams, a structure predictor, and reaction calculator.

MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

University of Texas Austin - "ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Most are printed books; a few are freely available Web-based databases. ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library or lab. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data. The actual data are not reproduced in ThermoDex."
Note: This resource is not specific to Trent. Upon identifying a title, search for it in the Library Catalogue to determine its availability at Trent.

Calculated properties of thousands of inorganic materials. This website also has computational phase diagrams, a structure predictor, and reaction calculator.

Shriver & Atkins: Inorganic Chemistry 5e, Oxford University Press

Spectra for organic compounds and some small inorganic compounds.

Includes spectra for many compounds, and references to spectra for most compounds, including those found in the various Aldrich Library of Spectra.

Provides spectra for 32,000 organic compounds.

From publisher website - "IUCrData is a peer-reviewed open-access data publication from the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr). This innovative publication aims to provide short descriptions of crystallographic datasets and datasets from related scientific disciplines, as well as facilitating access to the data. The primary article category is Data Reports; these describe crystal structures of inorganic, metal-organic or organic compounds. Information on each crystal structure includes the crystallographic data (CIF and structure factors), a data validation report, figures and a text representation of the data."

Government of Canada

Government of Canada

A guide on using internet search engines, with a section on using Google Scholar and setting it to recognize you as a Trent student.