Biology

Welcome to the Biology Subject Guide.  In the pages of this guide find information about and links to important resources in Biology. 

Use the left menu to navigate your way through this guide.

If you need help:

• Check out the tutorials.
• Ask for help at the Library Services desk.
• Contact the library at library@trentu.ca to ask a question or to book a research appointment. 

Database Trials: Explore New Resources
Trent University is pleased to offer trial access to three academic resources. These prospective resources provide rich content for research and study in a variety of fields. Take advantage of  limited-time access to explore and provide feedback on their usefulness.

To provide user feedback on these products, please contact your discipline specific Learning & Liaison Librarian. 

De Gruyter eBooks and eJournals

Trial subscription available from September 25 to December 31, 2024. 
De Gruyter eBooks and De Gruyter eJournals offer a comprehensive collection of high-quality academic content across a wide range of disciplines. With a focus on humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and law, De Gruyter provides access to scholarly resources that support in-depth research and learning.

• De Gruyter eBooks 
• De Gruyter eJournals 

Key Features:

• Extensive coverage in subjects such as history, philosophy, cultural studies, law, and more.
• Content available in multiple languages, reflecting international academic contributions.
• High-quality, peer-reviewed material that supports scholarly research and educational activities.

Brill eBooks and eJournals

Trial subscription available from September 25 to December 31, 2024. 
Brill eBooks and Brill eJournals provide access to a collection of academic publications, renowned for their focus on the humanities, social sciences, international law, and religious studies. Brill is one of the oldest academic publishers and is highly regarded for its extensive and specialized content. 

• Brill eBooks
• Brill eJournals 

Key Features:

• Deep focus on humanities and social sciences, including niche and emerging areas of study.
• Extensive coverage of religious texts, legal studies, Asian studies, Middle Eastern studies, and classical studies.
• Peer-reviewed and authoritative content designed for academic research and teaching.

Web of Science Research Assistant 

Trial subscription will be available for the month of November 2024.
The Web of Science Research Assistant is a powerful tool designed to help researchers streamline their workflow and enhance their research efficiency. By leveraging Web of Science's vast database of academic publications, the Research Assistant provides personalized recommendations, literature search optimization, and citation management features.

Key Features:

• Personalized Literature Recommendations: Based on your research interests, the tool suggests relevant articles, helping you discover new papers and stay updated on the latest research.
• Search Optimization: The Research Assistant helps refine search queries and provides advanced filters to narrow down relevant academic resources.
• Citation Management: Easily save, organize, and export citations to streamline the referencing process.
• Collaboration Tools: Facilitate collaboration with fellow researchers by sharing articles, annotations, and notes within your team.

The Web of Science Research Assistant is ideal for students, academics, and researchers who want to save time and stay organized while conducting literature reviews and building comprehensive research projects.