Library Guides: Sustainability Studies M.A.: Books

Search Beyond Trent Library

Graduate studies usually require searching beyond the holdings of any particular library. You need to broaden your search to other institutions. Here are some suggestions.

Omni

"Add results beyond Trent's collection".

Selecting this broadens your search to include items that are not immediately available in the library but can be requested.

"Trent + Omni Libraries".

Select this from the drop-down search options to include physical items that can be borrowed from other Ontario university libraries.

RACER
Search the library catalogues of other Ontario Universities, and beyond. Create an account for yourself to order books you find through Interlibrary Loan. Change the Profile to search different sets of libraries.
Interlibrary Loans
If our library doesn't have an item, we'll borrow it from another library for you.
WorldCat
Search the catalogue of the world's largest network of library content and services.
Google Books
Millions of books online you can read for free. The majority of available books are either out of copyright or open-access. For unavailable titles use the information to request an Interlibrary Loan (RACER).

Find Books in Omni

Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.

Filters let you limit to "Available Online" (ebooks) or Available in Library (physical).

Omni even finds chapters within books.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

E-Books

The majority of our e-books are included in omni and can be found with any search.

The following resources contain collections of e-books, which can be searched at a more detailed level than our catalogue allows, and you can find links to specific chapters or pages. Most offer the option to create an account for yourself and save books, as well as adding notations and highlighting.

Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.

ebrary
A collection of books from a variety of publishers. ebrary is one of the platforms provided for e-books.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.

Cambridge University Press
A collection of 2,431 e-book titles from Cambridge UP and Cambridge UP USA. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

Canada Commons: Canadian Books and Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
- A database over 25,000 ebooks from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers, and over 240,000 public policy papers from think tanks and other Canadian policy organizations.
- This digital repository offers access to a vast collection of Canadian government publications, research reports, legislative documents, and other official materials, providing valuable resources for researchers, policymakers, and citizens interested in Canadian governance and public affairs.

Canadian Publishers Collection
A collection of about 2,000 non-fiction and reference books published by Canadian publishers. These e-books are available through the ebrary platform. The collection is also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.
Oxford University Press
A collection of 5038 e-book titles from Oxford University Press. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform. They are also included in the Scholars Portal Books database.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings across various disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Taylor & Francis
A collection of almost 12,000 e-book titles from Taylor & Francis. All of these books can also be found by searching the Library Catalogue. Users can search the full text of all content on the platform and reference this by keyword, author, ISBN, publisher, publication date, subject or category. Text and images can be copied from titles into Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint (subject to individual publisher restrictions) . These books are available through the ebrary platform, but they are NOT yet included in the Scholars Portal Books database, due to license restrictions.
uO Research
A collection of 30+ books freely available from the University of Ottawa institutional repository. The goal of uO Research is to promote scholarly communication by collecting, preserving and providing free and open access to the digital research products created by the uOttawa faculty, researchers and graduate students. These books are downloadable in .pdf format. Many are in French.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly eBooks published by leading academic presses covering a wide range of disciplines. UPSO includes authoritative research, monographs, and academic publications designed to support advanced study and research across various fields.

A Sample of Books You Can Find in the Library Catalogue

Growing a Sustainable City? by Christina Rosan, Hamil Pearsall
ISBN: 9781442650619
Publication Date: 2017
Offers a critical analysis of the development of urban agriculture policies and their role in making post-industrial cities more sustainable. A case study of Philadelphia reveals how growing in the city has become a symbol of urban economic revitalization, sustainability, and - increasingly - gentrification.
Sustainable Consumption, Ecology and Fair Trade by Edwin Zaccaï (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415414920
Publication Date: 2007
Examines a range of interesting and relevant case studies including: household energy consumption, sustainable welfare, Fair Trade, Oxfam Worldshops, cotton farming and consumer organizations.
Empowering Electricity: Co-Operatives, Sustainability, and Power Sector Reform in Canada by Julie MacArthur
ISBN: 077483143X
Publication Date: 2016
This book looks at a very different part of the Canadian energy sector: the hundreds of renewable energy co-ops that have sprung up across the nation. These co-ops are democratically structured, community-based organizations that use sun, wind, rivers, tides, and plant and animal waste as sources of local power generation.
Sustainable Banking and Finance by Olaf Weber; Blair Feltmate
ISBN: 9781442645028
Publication Date: 2016
Introduces business leaders and students to the many ways in which financial institutions can manage their environmental and social impact and meet the needs of the current generation without compromising the needs of future generations.
Green Japan: Environmental Technologies, Innovation Policy, and the Pursuit of Green Growth by Carin Holroyd
ISBN: 9781487502225
Publication Date: 2017
Critically examines the Japanese effort to combine economic growth with commitments to environmental sustainability by exploring green growth strategies in various industries including conservation, energy, urban development, and international trade.
Sustainability Planning and Collaboration in Rural Canada by Lars K. Hallström
ISBN: 9781772120400
Publication Date: 2016
Fourteen case studies examine the shift toward sustainability-based planning as a key element of community development. Further, they explore the growth of partnerships between communities and post-secondary institutions, which extend beyond research and education into community development practices, capacity building, and participatory action research.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science
ISBN: 007143397X
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Online only.
Public Participation in Sustainability Science by Bernd Kasemir (Editor); Jill Jaeger (Editor); Carlo C. Jaeger (Editor); Matthew T. Gardner (Editor); William C. Clark (Foreword by); Alexander Wokaun (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0521818184
Publication Date: 2003-04-10
Online only.
Basic Environmental Health by Annalee Yassi; Tord Kjellström; Theo de Kok; Tee L. Guidotti
Call Number: RA 565 .B376 2001 OR e-book
ISBN: 019513558X
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
Print copy is on Reserve. Bring call number to Circulation Desk to borrow this copy.
Dictionary and Introduction to Global Environmental Governance by Richard E. Saunier; Richard A. Meganck
Call Number: HC 79 .E5 S2675 2007
ISBN: 9781844074259
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
In print in Stacks at Bata Library.
Land and Limits by Susan E. Owens; Richard Cowell
ISBN: 9780415162760
Publication Date: 2001
Explores the impact of sustainable development on the institutions and practices governing use of land. It examines the paradox that in spite of increasing attention to sustainability, land use conflict is as ubiquitous and intense as ever.
Conservation for Cities by Robert I. McDonald
ISBN: 9781610915212
Publication Date: 2015
Offers a comprehensive framework for maintaining and strengthening the supporting bonds between cities and nature through innovative infrastructure projects.
Encyclopedia of Water, 5 Volume Set by Patricia Maurice (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1119300754
Publication Date: 2020
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary reference work containing hundreds of articles on topics ranging from the hydrologic cycle and water technology to societal considerations.