Library Guides: Arts & Science: Finding Articles

Find Articles in Omni

You can find most articles using the Omni search. Enter some keywords, a citation, a DOI, an author - whatever you need.

The link to full text is in the full description when you click the title.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

Tutorials

Tutorial: Navigating from a Citation to a Document
When you have a citation/reference, how do you find the document it refers to? Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
A short tutorial providing background on how keyword searching works, with tips to improve your search results. Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.
Tutorial: Scholarly Articles
Scholarly articles: what they are, how to find, recognize, read, and use them. Includes exercises. Estimated reading time: 20 minutes.

Databases

Omni finds articles as well as books, but sometimes a subject-specific database gives you more control of your search. These databases could be good starting points for research. They're very general in their coverage.

They contain BOTH scholarly and non-scholarly content (ie. magazines and newspapers), so be sure to select the type of resource that's appropriate for your topic.
- After you search and see your results list, use the limiters provided to select the type of article you need.
When you see something that looks potentially useful, click on the title to see the detailed description. There may be information on this page that leads you to MORE articles:
- Look at the References (Works Cited) of one article to see what the authors used for their research.
- Look at what other articles have cited this one.
- Look at "Related" articles.
- Click on an author's name to see what else they've written.
Get SERIOUS about search terms!
- Don't use full sentences or questions.
- Select a couple of important terms that should appear in every article.
  - Join them with AND and OR. (See the Keyword tutorial for details.)
    - AND finds all items that have BOTH terms in the description - to NARROW results.
    - OR finds items with ONE term or the other - to BROADEN results.
- Be creative. Think about different ways to express your topic.

EXAMPLES

creative or creativity
"creative process"
creativity and science
creativity and education

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading academic journals and reference sources, covering a wide range of subjects including the arts, business, health, history, law, literature, science, and social science, making it a valuable resource for scholarly research and study.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database, providing access to scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more from a Canadian perspective spanning various subject areas such as business, economics, politics, arts, sports, and more.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile Canadian Periodical Index provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary indexing database that indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly content across a wide range of scientific and academic disciplines including the social sciences, and arts and humanities.