Library Guides: Arts & Science: ASCI 1001H

Tutorials

Tutorial: Navigating from a Citation to a Document
When you have a citation/reference, how do you find the document it refers to? Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
A short tutorial providing background on how keyword searching works, with tips to improve your search results. Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.
Tutorial: Scholarly Articles
Scholarly articles: what they are, how to find, recognize, read, and use them. Includes exercises. Estimated reading time: 20 minutes.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica
A general purpose encyclopedia available to the public online.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) has nearly 1600 entries online. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Search subject-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

There are hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc. available through the library. Look for them in Omni.

EBook Packages

Search within some of our large ebook packages. Some collections are specifically meant for background "reference" information.

Examples:

Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
The perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. From Oxford University Press, VSI offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. Offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work, all titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
A selection of online reference books. Each book is only searchable individually.

Key Library Books

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer
Call Number: online only
ISBN: 9781571313560
Publication Date: 2015
Drawing on her life as an indigenous scientist, and as a woman, Kimmerer shows how other living beings offer us gifts and lessons, even if we've forgotten how to hear their voices.

Research Project

You are asked to "produce a university-level interdisciplinary research project on a topic that clearly connects to one of the course themes". Your proposal and annotated bibliography require "at least five (5) academic/scholarly sources" from both the sciences and arts/humanities/social sciences".

This guide reminds you of the techniques you learned in the Library Tutorials on Finding Articles, and offers tips to help find resources.

The tutorials on this page are helpful if you're confused.

1. Read the Readings

It's difficult to research something you know very little about. The more you understand the topic, the easier it is to find appropriate search terms and to recognize whether an article or book might be relevant to your topic.

2. Use Existing Bibliographies

Many of the course readings have a bibliography/works cited/references list at the end. Search out some of the interesting documents through the library, using the skills you learned on "Finding a KNOWN Article" and "Finding Books".

You need to be able to READ a citation to do this effectively. See the tutorial on "Navigating from a Citation to a Document" if you need help with this.

3. Look for Related Items

When you access an online document (either a course reading or through an article search), check to see if there are any suggestions for related articles. They could be related by:

Cited By: See other articles that have cited this one.
Shared Citations: See articles that have cited some of the same resources.
Usage: See what other people who looked at this article also looked at.
Author: See what else the author has written. Often experts write multiple articles on the same topic, as their research progresses.

4. Search Databases

Remember to search in the RIGHT PLACE and use the BEST SEARCH TERMS.

Books

Use the Library Catalogue to search for books. Use broad search terms, because books cover broad subjects.
See "Finding Books" in the menu for help and links to ebook databases. These databases offer the option to search within the books for chapters that cover your topic.

Articles

Search one or more of the databases recommended on "Finding Articles" in the menu of this page.
Use relevant keywords that you've gathered from your course readings as search terms.
Remember to look at the DETAILED descriptions for suggestions and links to other articles.
Click Get It! Trent to link to full text articles.

Books of Possible Interest

These are some examples of books that could be of interest to research projects. To find others:

search the library catalogue using important keywords
browse the shelves in the library where these call numbers are; books are shelved by subject so there could be others in the same section
search some of our e-book collections with your keywords - see links under "Finding Books" on this guide

Books with call numbers are physical and must be retrieved from the library stacks; books with links are ebooks, accessible online.

Flight from Wonder by Albert Rothenberg
ISBN: 9780199988792
Publication Date: 2014
Einstein said, “The process of scientific discovery is, in effect, a continual flight from wonder.” This is the first empirical investigation of scientific creativity based on research interviews with living Nobel laureates in physics, chemistry, and physiology or medicine.
Wonder-Full Education by Kieran Egan (Editor); Annabella I. Cant (Editor); Gillian Judson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415820295
Publication Date: 2013
This book offers a rich understanding of the nature and roles of wonder in general and provides multiple suggestions for to how to revive wonder in adults (teachers and curriculum makers) and how to keep it alive in children.
The Art of Science by Sergio Sismondo; Boris Castel
Call Number: On RESERVE: Q 175 .C37 2003
ISBN: 1551113872
Publication Date: 2002
Red Earth, White Lies by Vine Deloria
Call Number: E 98 .F6 D35 1997
ISBN: 1555913881
Publication Date: 1997
Lighting the Seventh Fire by F. David Peat; Kensington Publishing Corporation Staff
Call Number: E 98 .P5 P43 1994
ISBN: 1559722495
Publication Date: 1994
The medicine of peace : Indigenous youth decolonizing healing and resisting violence by Ansloos, Jeffrey Paul
Call Number: E 98 .Y68 A57 2017
ISBN: 1552669556
Publication Date: 2017
Feminist Epistemology and Philosophy of Science by Heidi E. Grasswick (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402068348
Publication Date: 2011
This collection brings together exciting new works that address today’s key challenges for a feminist power-sensitive approach to knowledge and scientific practice.
Philosophy of Science after Feminism by Janet A. Kourany
ISBN: 9780199732623
Publication Date: 2010
The goal of Philosophy of Science after Feminism is not only a (descriptively and normatively) more adequate philosophy of science than what we have now, but also a more socially engaged and socially responsible philosophy of science, one that can help to promote a more socially engaged and socially responsible science.
Women, Science, and Technology by Mary Wyer (Editor); Mary Barbercheck (Editor); Donna Giesman Cookmeyer (Editor); Hatice Ozturk (Editor); Marta Wayne (Editor)
Call Number: Q 130 .W672 2009
ISBN: 9780415960397
Publication Date: 2008
Assistive Technology and Science by Cathy Bodine
ISBN: 9781412987981
Publication Date: 2012
This volume in The SAGE Reference Series on Disability explores issues involving assistive technology engineering and science. It is one of eight volumes in the cross-disciplinary and issues-based series, which incorporates links from varied fields making up Disability Studies as volumes examine topics central to the lives of individuals with disabilities and their families.
Design and Use of Assistive Technology by Meeko Mitsuko K. Oishi (Editor); Ian M. Mitchell (Editor); H. F. Machiel Van der Loos (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441970312
Publication Date: 2010
Design and Use of Assistive Technology provides an interdisciplinary approach to assess some of the major hurdles in creating effective assistive technology. Assistive technology must be integrated with clinical needs, user requirements, ethical considerations, and the social context of the technology’s use.
Science, Technology, and Society by Sal P. Restivo (Editor)
ISBN: 0195141938
Publication Date: 2005
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by K. Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Wilmoth Lerner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787675547
Publication Date: 2003
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Science
ISBN: 9780787654320
Publication Date: 2001