Library Guides: Arts & Science: Finding Books

Find Books in Omni

Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.

Filters let you limit to "Available Online" (ebooks) or Available in Library (physical).

Omni even finds chapters within books.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

Key Library Books

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer
Call Number: online only
ISBN: 9781571313560
Publication Date: 2015
Drawing on her life as an indigenous scientist, and as a woman, Kimmerer shows how other living beings offer us gifts and lessons, even if we've forgotten how to hear their voices.

Search E-Book Collections Available through the Library

Although our ebooks are included in an Omni search, searching them directly from the publisher site might provide a deeper search, finding your search terms at the chapter or page level.

Association of Canadian University Presses (ACUP) eBooks This link opens in a new window
- The Association of Canadian University Presses (ACUP) database contains a collection of over 2,000 scholarly eBooks covering a wide range of topics, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books available on the EBSCOhost platform.
Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly e-books through ProQuest.
SAGE Knowledge E-Books This link opens in a new window
Over 4,000 reference e-books in the Social Sciences. Fully searchable as a group or browse by title, subject, or author.
Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal Books is the largest database of e-books available to the Trent Library. It contains the majority of e-books we purchase and duplicates the content of many of our other providers.
Taylor & Francis E-Books This link opens in a new window
Over 11,000 e-books published by Taylor & Francis, on a variety of subjects. Browse titles by subject, or search the collection by author, title, or keyword. International scope.
Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
Introductory books on a variety of subjects. Search for your topic at the opening screen to find chapters within books that contain your search term.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
UPSO is a collection of tens of thousands of scholarly ebooks, with new books added every month. The books are from prestigious university presses worldwide, including Oxford University Press, Read online or download a PDF of a chapter. You can personalise the site, saving searches and favourite books. These books are also included in Scholars Portal Books.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica
A general purpose encyclopedia available to the public online.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) has nearly 1600 entries online. From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Search subject-specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

There are hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc. available through the library. Look for them in Omni.

EBook Packages

Search within some of our large ebook packages. Some collections are specifically meant for background "reference" information.

Examples:

Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
The perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. From Oxford University Press, VSI offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. Offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work, all titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
A selection of online reference books. Each book is only searchable individually.