Library Guides: Social Work: Statistics

Finding Statistics

There are a variety of ways to find statistics for your research.

Books

A book on your topic may provide statistics related to the topic.

Articles

Quantitative studies are published in journals and often include statistics as part of their results, or within the Introduction or Background.
If statistics are obtained from another source, the source will be cited.

Research Reports

These often include statistics gathered in preparation for the study or statistics that are the results of the study.

Statistical Databases

Organizations such as Statistics Canada provide raw statistics, and you can often gather what you need from them.

Links to Specific Statistics

Family Violence in Canada: A Statistical Profile
This is the thirteenth annual Family Violence in Canada report produced by the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics under the Federal Family Violence Initiative. This report provides the most current data on the nature and extent of family violence in Canada, as well as trends over time, as part of the ongoing initiative to inform policy makers and the public about family violence issues.
Measuring Violence Against Women: Statistical Trends 2006
Federal/Provincial/Territorial (F/P/T) Status of Women Ministers have joined with Statistics Canada to compile this collection of statistical indicators on five major aspects of women’s experiences of violence: prevalence and severity, impact, risk factors, institutional and community-based responses, and victims’ use of services.
Transition Home Survey
The objective of the Transition Home Survey (THS) is to collect data on residential services for abused women and their children during the previous 12 months, as well as to provide a one-day snapshot of the clientele being served on a specific date. The THS is a census of all residential agencies providing services to abused women and their children across Canada.
Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect 2008
The Canadian Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect-2008 (CIS-2008) is the third nation-wide study to examine the incidence of reported child maltreatment and the characteristics of the children and families investigated by child welfare. The CIS-2008 tracked 15,980 child maltreatment investigations conducted in a representative sample of 112 Child Welfare Service organizations across Canada in the fall of 2008.

Find more reports with research data and statistics by keyword searching in the Library Catalogue, the Canadian Documents Collection, or Google.

Canada Commons: Canadian Books and Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
- A database over 25,000 ebooks from Canadian scholarly and independent publishers, and over 240,000 public policy papers from think tanks and other Canadian policy organizations.
- This digital repository offers access to a vast collection of Canadian government publications, research reports, legislative documents, and other official materials, providing valuable resources for researchers, policymakers, and citizens interested in Canadian governance and public affairs.

Trent's Statistical Databases

The Trent Library's MaDGIC Unit (Maps, Data & Government Information Centre) offers access to, and help with a variety of statistical packages. You can use these on your own, or contact the MaDGIC Unit for assistance.

Statistics and Data: Trent University Library's MaDGIC Unit
The Maps, Data & Government Information Centre (MaDGIC) provides access to quantitative research data for various disciplines in the social sciences, humanities and life sciences. We have access to a wide range and level of information including statistics, aggregate data, and microdata.
CHASS Canadian Census Analyser
Select Canadian demographic data from Statistics Canada.
CANSIM
Statistics Canada's main socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM covers a large range of the latest statistics available for Canada.
ODESI - Scholars Portal
A web-based data repository, extraction and analysis service which includes Statistics Canada microdata and aggregate data, Canadian Gallup Polls, CORA (Canadian Opinion Research Archive) and other data sets.

Social Work