Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is a brief introduction to legal resources. It is not intended to to be a comprehensive list of resources, but rather a starting point from which you can begin your research.
This guide will also direct you to comprehensive guides hosted by law libraries at various Canadian universities and written by librarians with expertise in legal resoures. Please keep in mind some of the resources in these external guides will be institution specific, so check back here to see which resources Trent subscribes to.
Doing legal research takes time. Give yourself plenty of time to do background research on your topic and explore the resources.
If you require assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please include as much nformation as you can about your assignment and topic.
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
Primarily a law and politics resource, it includes articles from more than 2,600 legal periodicals (105 Canadian), as well as the Provincial Statutes of Canada, Revised Statutes of Canada, Annual Statutes, and Canada Supreme Court Reports. International content includes historical and current constitutions from every country in the world, a collection of world trials, and more.
Full text access to news, business, and legal resources.
Includes Court Decisions, Case Summaries, Tribunal Decisions, Legislation, Halsbury's Laws of Canada, JurisClasseur Quebec, Law Reviews & journals, Carlson Personal Injury, Canada Sentencing Quantums, Canada Wrongful Dismissal Quantum, among others. Covers Canada and International.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
A database for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology. More than 400,000 records for academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications - selected from the most important sources within the discipline and including the full text for more than 270 magazines and journals.
Finding articles with Omni
Omni is the Library's academic search tool. It is not specific to law, but you can use it to find resources about laws.
To find books, book chapters, and peer reviewed articles that discuss a specific law/act/statute or legislation related to a topic do a simple keyword search and use the Modify Your Results menu to narrow your search. Example searches:
protecting canadians from online crime act
cyberbullying legislation canada
immunization of school pupils act
vaccination laws ontario