This database contains critical assessments of Canadian-authored and Canadian-published books across various genres and disciplines, serving as a valuable resource for scholars, librarians, and readers interested in Canadian literature and culture.
This reference tool provides access to a wide range of literary criticism and biographical information. It indexes key literary resources, including author biographies, critical essays, and literary works.
Extensive coverage of key concepts, theories, and critical approaches in literary studies providing scholarly insights and detailed entries on influential theorists and critical methodologies, essential for research and study in literary theory and criticism.
This series offers expert insights, accessible writing, thorough bibliographies, and additional reading recommendations, making it an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and general readers exploring significant literary, historical, and intellectual subjects.
Access authoritative historical scholarship across various disciplines, providing in-depth analyses, insights, and perspectives on key historical periods, events, and themes.
Offers detailed biographical information about notable figures in Canadian history. Includes profiles on individuals who have played a significant role in the development of Canada, from early explorers to modern-day influencers.
This reference tool provides access to a wide range of literary criticism and biographical information. It indexes key literary resources, including author biographies, critical essays, and literary works.
Contains the biographies of significant figures in British history. Scholarly accounts describing the lives and contributions of the people who have shaped British history and culture, from ancient and medieval periods to the present.
A comprehensive resource that documents the history, meanings, and usage of English words, including detailed information on the origins and evolution, along with their pronunciations and contextual examples. The OED is widely used for linguistic research and understanding the development of the English language.
Offers a series of concise, accessible overviews on a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an expert introduction to key concepts and debates within a particular field, making it a valuable resource for quick reference and foundational understanding across various academic disciplines.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
A wide range of scholarly publications, including journals, books, theses, and conference proceedings, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Focused on Canadian and Francophone research, Érudit supports open access.
This bibliographic database focuses on classical studies, providing detailed references to scholarly works on Greek and Roman literature, history, archaeology, and philology. The database includes citations for books, articles, and reviews.
Includes works by influential intellectuals from various periods, offering digital versions of classic texts and primary sources crucial for research in philosophy and intellectual history.
Original language texts are available in Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, aside from English and English translation.
Includes reference works: Oxford Companion to Philosophy, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
Indexes scholarly articles, books, and reviews related to the study of the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500 AD). It covers a wide range of disciplines, including history, literature, art, archaeology, and theology.
Bibliographic materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material, essays in books, entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
This bibliographic database provided by Library and Archives Canada, is dedicated to cataloging and preserving Canadian publications covering various aspects of Canadian history, culture, and society.
Index of scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides researchers, students, and academics with extensive bibliographic information and critical resources for exploring and studying literary and linguistic topics.
Provides access to the tables of contents of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. It supports research by offering a comprehensive index of journal articles, allowing users to search and locate relevant publications across a wide range of disciplines.
A repository of diverse cinematic works spanning various genres, eras, and cultures, facilitating easy access to a rich tapestry of audiovisual content for educational, entertainment, and research purposes.
Access to educational content from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, including documentaries, news, radio programs, and more, spanning a wide range of topics and subjects.
This online streaming service offers a library of educational and feature films, including classic, contemporary, and foreign films across diverse genres and subjects.
Contains a collection of documentaries, interviews, and educational films designed to support academic research, classroom instruction, and to facilitate independent learning.
This library contains digital movies uploaded by archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
A digital archive focused on American photography from the 1930s and 1940s, featuring a comprehensive collection of images produced by the Farm Security Administration (FSA), consisting of historical photographs that document American life, landscapes, and social conditions during the Great Depression and World War II.
Access to an archive of the Royal Shakespeare Company’s theatrical productions. It includes video recordings of performances, scripts, production notes, and other materials related to Shakespearean drama and classic plays.
A digital collection of recorded live performances, featuring a diverse array of theatrical productions from various genres and periods. This database offers high-quality video recordings of plays, including classic and contemporary works.
This digital archive contains British newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries, offering invaluable historical insights into various aspects of British society, politics, and culture during that period.
This digital archive provides access to primary source materials related to Canadian history, culture, and heritage. Resources include historical documents, newspapers, government publications, books, and ephemera.
A digital archive providing access to a vast collection of Canadian heritage materials, including historical documents, photographs, maps, and more, serving as a comprehensive resource for researchers, educators, and the general public.
A collection of printed works from the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, and essays covering a wide range of subjects from the Enlightenment era.
A collection of printed works from the 18th century. Includes books, pamphlets, and essays covering a wide range of subjects from the Enlightenment era.
Primary source materials spanning British history from the early medieval period to the 20th century, includes government records, legal documents, letters, charters, and other historical texts.
Digital archive of printed works published in America between 1639 and 1800. It includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed materials that document the early history, culture, and society of Colonial America.
This set of online journals includes 10 consecutive years of the following 6 British journals from the 18th and 19th century: The Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), The Builder (1843-1852), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869) and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777).
A unique collection of primary source materials from the Mass Observation Project, which documented everyday life in Britain from the 1930s to the 1950s. This database includes personal diaries, surveys, and reports, offers insights into British social history, cultural attitudes, and daily life during a transformative period.
A specialized database providing access to a collection of travel narratives, exploration accounts, and geographic descriptions from the medieval period.
A collection of personal letters and diaries written by women from North America that provide insight into the personal experiences, social conditions, and historical contexts of women across different periods and backgrounds.
The complete collection of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2019. This database includes a comprehensive range of literary reviews, criticism, and essays, offering a detailed record of literary and cultural commentary over the past century.
A digital collection of key women’s magazines from the late 19th century to the 21st century. It provides access to issues covering a wide range of topics, including fashion, politics, health, and culture, offering insight into societal trends, gender roles, and women’s issues over time.
