Library Guides: Criminology: Books

Very Short Introductions

From Oxford University Press, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas - a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Very Short Introductions titles for Policing:

Criminal Justice by Julian V. Roberts
ISBN: 9780198716495
Publication Date: 2015
Covers crimes, policing, the sentencing of offenders, and prisons. Draws upon the latest research and current practices from various countries around the world.
Criminal Justice by Julian V. Roberts
ISBN: 9780198716495
Publication Date: 2015
Covers crimes, policing, the sentencing of offenders, and prisons. Draws upon the latest research and current practices from various countries around the world.

Find Books in Omni

Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.

Filters let you limit to "Available Online" (ebooks) or Available in Library (physical).

Omni even finds chapters within books.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

Searchable E-Book Collections

Most of our e-books can be found by searching Omni.

The sites listed below provide a large number of e-books to Trent. In some cases, you may find they provide a deeper search, finding pages within books.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- Academic and professional eBooks covering the full spectrum of academic disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, textbooks, reference works, and research materials.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.
FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- Resources on forensic science, criminal justice, and law enforcement. It provides access to eBooks, reference materials, and practical guides covering topics such as crime scene investigation, forensic analysis, criminal law, and policing.
Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.
Taylor & Francis E-Books This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of academic and scholarly titles across a wide range of disciplines.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly eBooks published by leading academic presses covering a wide range of disciplines. UPSO includes authoritative research, monographs, and academic publications designed to support advanced study and research across various fields.

Useful Reference Resources (Encyclopedias)

The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by Wesley G. Jennings (editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118519639
Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.
The Encyclopedia of Corrections by Kent R. Kerley (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1118845382
Publication Date: 2017-08-02
A comprehensive, up-to-date, and authoritative two volume reference work for the fields of corrections and criminal justice, featuring over 200 detailed scholarly entries, arranged A-Z.
The Encyclopedia of Juvenile Delinquency and Justice by Christopher J. Schreck (Editor); Michael Leiber (Associate Editor); Holly Ventura Miller (Associate Editor); Kelly Welch (Associate Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118520321
Publication Date: 2017
A compendium of more than 300 contributions written by leading scholars from the fields of criminal justice, justice sciences, social work, and sociology. It covers the latest research, policies, and practices regarding young offenders, the processing of juveniles within the court system, and various approaches to treating and eliminating juvenile crime.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime by Frances P. Bernat (Editor); Kelly Frailing (Editor); Loraine Gelsthorpe (Editor); Sesha Kethineni (Editor); Lisa Pasko (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118929803
Publication Date: 2019
Offering a balanced perspective, this work focuses on interdisciplinary, transnational, historical, and current perspectives on gender and offending behavior, victimization, legal and policy responses, and notable cases and individuals.
The Wiley Handbook of Violence and Aggression by Peter Sturmey
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1119057574
Publication Date: 2017
This three-volume resource explores the broad scope of violence and aggression. Filled with the most recent research and developments, this important text contains information on the biology of aggression and violence, developmental pathways, theoretical advances, the assessment, prevention and treatment of individuals, clinical treatments that target special populations, and a wide-range of societal interventions.