Library Guides: Canadian Studies: Home

Home

Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Ancient History & Classics, Anthropology, Archaeology, Canadian Studies, Education, Global Development & Human Rights, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Political Studies

Tutorials

Add links to relevant Library tutorial resources.

Omni
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 6899 views this year
Tutorial: Finding Articles
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 749 views this year
Tutorial: Google Scholar
by Dwayne Collins Last Updated Jan 5, 2024 471 views this year
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 696 views this year

Related Guides

Add links to relevant topic or course guides.

Citation Management
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated May 14, 2024 427 views this year
Trent Library Data Visualization Lab
by Tracy Sallaway Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 584 views this year

Welcome to Canadian Studies Library Resources

According to the Canadian Studies home page, Canadian Studies is an interdisciplinary exploration of the concepts and practices of "Canadianness". Thus, Canadian Studies covers everything from literature to politics, as long as it is about Canada. It is an 'interdisciplinary' study, making it necessary to think creatively when approaching library research. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) or Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) are two indexes listed under Canadian Studies Related Databases that are basic starting points for finding newspaper articles, magazines, and peer-reviewed journal articles published in Canada. However, after that you need to look at other guides that are specific to individual academic disciplines. For example, if you are researching Canadian history go to the History Guide. If you are researching an aspect of public health in Canada go to the Nursing & Allied Health Subject Guide.

Background Information

Use these sources to find background information on your topic. Background sources are generally not appropriate for citation in research assignments.

Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- Access to a range of reference materials, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions, published by Oxford University Press.
Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
- Offers a series of concise, accessible overviews on a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an expert introduction to key concepts and debates within a particular field, making it a valuable resource for quick reference and foundational understanding across various academic disciplines.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Access to academic and reference e-books across multiple disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, research handbooks, and educational resources designed to support in-depth study and research in the social sciences, humanities, business, and health.

Articles (Canadian Studies Focus)

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database, providing access to scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more from a Canadian perspective spanning various subject areas such as business, economics, politics, arts, sports, and more.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile Canadian Periodical Index provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- Access to a wide range of Canadian newspapers, news magazines, and newswires, including the Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, The Halifax Chronicle Herald, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun, Victoria Times Colonist, and the Peterborough Examiner.
- Features current and historical content, allowing users to explore local, regional, and national news.
Libris Canadiana This link opens in a new window
- This bibliographic database provided by Library and Archives Canada, is dedicated to cataloging and preserving Canadian publications covering various aspects of Canadian history, culture, and society.
Repère This link opens in a new window
- A bibliographic database that indexes French-language periodicals from Quebec and other francophone regions of Canada, covering topics such as the humanities, social sciences, arts, and culture.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This legal research database provides access to collections of law journals, historical legal documents, government publications, case law, and international legal materials.
Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.
Toronto Star: Historical Newspapers, 1894-2021 This link opens in a new window
- Complete access to the Toronto Star historical newspaper archive, includes articles, advertisements, and photographs, documenting Canadian history, culture, and social issues as reported in the Greater Toronto Area and beyond.

Articles (Multidisciplinary)

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Access to a collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various disciplines, including social sciences, humanities, business, and health.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading academic journals and reference sources, covering a wide range of subjects including the arts, business, health, history, law, literature, science, and social science, making it a valuable resource for scholarly research and study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources across various disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary indexing database that indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly content across a wide range of scientific and academic disciplines including the social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Multimedia

CBC Curio This link opens in a new window
- Access to educational content from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, including documentaries, news, radio programs, and more, spanning a wide range of topics and subjects.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- A streaming service providing access to a diverse collection of films, documentaries, and educational videos.
Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This online streaming service offers a library of educational and feature films, including classic, contemporary, and foreign films across diverse genres and subjects.
National Film Board of Canada (NFB) Education This link opens in a new window
- Find documentaries and films about the lives of Canadians, the environment, human rights, international conflict, and more.
- Register for an NFB Education account to create custom playlists, view study guides, and access additional educational content.