Library Guides: Policing & Community Well-Being: Newspapers

Tutorials and Help Pages

Links to our webpages about newspapers held at the Trent Library.

Searching Newspapers
How to search newspapers through the library.
Newspapers on Microfilm
A list of newspapers and dates available on microfilm in the Bata Library.

There may be times when you need to know what's been in the news concerning a Sociology topic. These resources cover online newspapers.

Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020 This link opens in a new window
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
- A complete digital repository of The Times newspaper, providing access to its complete archive from 1785 to 1985. This database offers a rich historical record of global and local events, including detailed news reports, editorials, and advertisements.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to news, reports, and analysis on Canadian business, economy, and current events. Offers insights into industries, government policies, and corporate developments across Canada.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile Canadian Periodical Index provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.