Library Guides: Education Subject Guide: Masters Program

Finding Books: Tutorials

Library Catalogue
The Library Catalogue holds the bibliographic records of the Trent University Library holdings. These include books, maps, journal subscriptions.
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
A short tutorial providing background on how keyword searching works, with tips to improve your search results. Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.
Finding E-Books
E-books are available from a variety of publishers in many different ways. This page outlines strategies for finding e-books.

E-Books

The majority of our e-books are included in the Library Catalogue and can be found with any search. The record includes a link to the e-book.

To limit a search to e-books, use the Power Search option and change the location to "E-Book".

The following resources contain collections of e-books. Most offer the option to create an account for yourself and save books, as well as adding notations and highlighting.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
- A collection of eBooks from across numerous academic and professional disciplines. Includes textbooks, reference materials, and scholarly works.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- Academic and professional eBooks covering the full spectrum of academic disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, textbooks, reference works, and research materials.
Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
- A collection of academic and scholarly eBooks from various disciplines, supporting research and study with high-quality, digital resources available to university and institutional users.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to a comprehensive collection of scholarly eBooks published by leading academic presses covering a wide range of disciplines. UPSO includes authoritative research, monographs, and academic publications designed to support advanced study and research across various fields.

Educational Law Research

Education Law Reporter: Elementary & Secondary

The Education Law Reporter: Elementary & Secondary is a monthly publication, (September to June), which reports in clear, straightforward language and in a very timely manner, the most recent legal decisions and legal developments, with practical implications and applications for members of the education community and their legal counsel.

Call Number: KF 4102 .E2412 with recent issues available in the current periodicals room on the main floor.

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) This link opens in a new window
- CanLII is a free and publicly accessible database that provides online access to a vast collection of Canadian federal, provincial, and territorial case law, legislation, and legal resources, serving as a valuable resource for lawyers, legal professionals, and the general public.

Finding Articles

Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
- Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database, providing access to scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more from a Canadian perspective spanning various subject areas such as business, economics, politics, arts, sports, and more.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Gale OneFile Canadian Periodical Index provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
ProQuest Education Collection This link opens in a new window
- Access to scholarly journals, dissertations, conference papers, and reports covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, as well as adult learning, special education, and educational policy.
Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
- Access to a broad collection of academic and scholarly journals, supporting advanced research and academic study with high-quality electronic periodicals, from across various disciplines.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary indexing database that indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly content across a wide range of scientific and academic disciplines including the social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Education Subject Guide

Finding Books: Tutorials

E-Books

Finding Articles: Tutorials

Educational Law Research

Finding Articles

Google Scholar