ArcGIS Pro is Esri’s powerful, professional desktop Geographic Information System (GIS) application used for visualizing, analyzing, and interpreting spatial data. With an educational license, students, educators, and researchers gain access to the full capabilities of ArcGIS Pro for academic and learning purposes [13].
ArcGIS Pro allows users to:
The software supports both 2D and 3D visualization, making it ideal for exploring complex geographic patterns and presenting data in compelling ways. Whether you're studying environmental science, anthropology, or any other field that involves location-based data, ArcGIS Pro provides the tools to explore, analyze, and communicate your findings effectively [13].
ArcGIS Pro software is installed on Trent lab-imaged computers and is available in the Data Visualization Lab (Bata Library, room 402).
To obtain ArcGIS Pro software for your Windows computer for Trent University coursework or research, students, staff, and faculty must request a Trent ArcGIS Account. Follow the instructions in the section above for downloading and logging into ArcGIS Pro.
13. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a summary of ArcGIS Pro software," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.
ArcGIS Online is Esri’s cloud-based platform for analyzing, visualizing, and sharing geospatial data. It allows users to create interactive web maps and 3D web scenes, making it a powerful tool for exploring spatial relationships and presenting geographic information.
At Trent University, users have access to a dedicated Trent ArcGIS Online Portal where they can upload data, create content, and collaborate with others—whether within the university, in specific groups, or with the public. Web maps created in ArcGIS Online can be seamlessly integrated with applications such as StoryMaps, Dashboards, and more.
ArcGIS Online operates on a credit-based system, where certain cloud-based services—such as data analysis, storage, and geocoding—consume credits. Each Esri account is allocated 100 credits, which is typically sufficient for most academic use cases.
However, some processes (e.g., large-scale geocoding or data enrichment) may require more credits. For more details, refer to Esri’s credit usage documentation. If you require additional credits or would like help designing an efficient GIS workflow, please contact us at madgichelp@trentu.ca to discuss options.
Tip: For intensive data processing or large datasets, we recommend using ArcGIS Pro desktop software to minimize credit consumption.
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal and click the Map tab to launch the ArcGIS Online map viewer. From there, you can:
Click the Content tab in the top navigation bar to view and manage your items (maps, layers, apps, etc.). You can:
Trent University’s ArcGIS Online instance has defined storage limitations and is not intended for long-term storage or preservation of content. Neither Trent University nor Esri commits to hosting content indefinitely in ArcGIS Online. Content created by Trent users is subject to removal per these guidelines to accommodate ongoing use of the platform.
The following guidelines apply:
The Maps, Data & Government Information Centre (MaDGIC) supports the use of this platform in research, coursework and university operations. Support requests can be sent via email to madgichelp@trentu.ca.
Trent University Library supports alternative options for long-term preservation needs, such as Trent University’s research data repository and our digital collections platform. Book an appointment with your Research Data Services Librarian to discuss your data storage and preservation needs.
Business Analyst application enables users to integrate demographic, business, lifestyle, spending, and census data with map-based analytics to support data-driven decision-making. Users can define a study area by specifying an address, selecting a geographic boundary, or drawing a custom polygon directly on the map.
The platform offers a variety of analytical methods, including:
One of the key advantages of using Business Analyst is access to PRIZM Segmentation reports, which categorize Canadian neighbourhoods into 67 distinct segments. This segmentation helps businesses and organizations better understand customer profiles and market potential.
Both historical data and future projections are available, allowing for trend analysis and forecasting. The platform’s user-friendly interface and guided tours make it especially accessible for beginners, who can easily create colour-coded maps using popular variables such as population or median household income.
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Business Analyst".
From there, you can:
Dashboards are an excellent tool for creating dynamic and interactive data visualizations. They allow you to combine maps, lists, charts, and gauges, making it easy for users to search for and find answers. Your data is visualized on a single, customizable screen that can be tailored to suit your specific data, audience, event, and situation. Dashboards can also integrate with other web applications and provide real-time updates.
To learn more about how to create dashboards, check out these resources and training materials:
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Dashboards".
StoryMaps is an interactive storytelling tool that combines maps, text, images, videos, and other multimedia content, using geography to organize and present information. It offers a variety of templates, including immersive options, to help you design a layout for your story. You can create a map directly within the application or import a map saved from ArcGIS Online. The extensive customization options make building and reading a StoryMap enjoyable.
StoryMaps can be kept private, shared with a specific research group, or made accessible to the Trent University community or the public as open-source content. To get started with StoryMaps, we recommend reviewing the various resources and examples provided by Esri.
Field Maps consists of two applications: Field Maps Designer and Field Maps Mobile. Together, they provide a seamless workflow for map-based data collection, transitioning smoothly from the field to the office.
Field Maps Designer allows you to create maps, build data collection forms, set up offline map areas, and customize the user experience in the Field Maps Mobile app. Once you’re in the field, you can download the Field Maps app on your mobile device to collect data, annotate and view maps, work offline, share locations, and complete other essential field tasks.
The primary purpose of Field Maps is to create an editable feature layer that can be used in maps and shared effectively. For more information about Field Maps, check out these resources:
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Field Maps Designer".
Instant Apps allows you to transform your ArcGIS Online maps into interactive applications. The built-in suggestions feature helps you choose an appropriate no-code template for various purposes such as viewing a map or scene, comparing content, getting directions, exploring a gallery, or finding nearby locations. It provides tailored recommendations by asking you a few questions and filtering the templates based on your answers.
Once you've selected a template, you can configure your app using either the "Express" option for simplicity or the "Full" option for more advanced capabilities. You have the flexibility to share your apps either privately or publicly, and they are designed to be compatible with mobile devices, assistive technologies, and multiple languages.
To learn more about Instant Apps, check out these resources:
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Instant Apps".
Survey123 is a data collection application focused on creating, sharing, and analyzing surveys. Users can build surveys from scratch, use templates, or upload an XLSForm. The app features a user-friendly drag-and-drop interface, making it easy to customize forms for data collection. Surveys can include maps and location information using geopoints, geotraces, or geoshapes.
Unlike Field Maps, Survey123 does not require respondents to log in or download an app to submit their responses, allowing for anonymous participation. This feature makes it ideal for conducting interviews and surveys that aim to gather large samples from individuals without Esri accounts. To view the collected data, the app provides built-in analytics and reporting tools.
For more information on how to create a survey with Survey123, check out the following resources:
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Survey123".
ArcGIS Excalibur is a web-based video analysis software that combines imagery with GIS analysis. Users can search their organization's catalog for images or videos to annotate, mark up, and add observations or measurements. With ready-to-use workflows and real-time analysis, you can create videos to enhance reports, dashboards, and other interactive options.
To learn more about how to use Excalibur, check out these resources:
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "ArcGIS Excalibur".
The Living Atlas of the World is an information hub where you can view and download maps, applications, story maps, 3D scenes, tools, and data layers. Anyone can nominate their “Public” content for inclusion in the Living Atlas, where subject matter experts will review it to ensure it meets quality standards. Data layers can be imported from ArcGIS Pro or ArcGIS Online.
One valuable data layer available through the Living Atlas is the Sentinel-2 multispectral imagery, which includes 10m, 20m, and 60m resolutions across 13 bands. This imagery offers global coverage, revisits the same location every 5 days, and has imagery available beyond 14 months upon custom request. Additionally, there is the Sentinel-2 10-Meter Land Use/Land Cover layer, which provides annual data covering the entire Earth's surface from 2017 to 2022, making it suitable for short-term time series analyses.
Other trending layers with global coverage include: Landsat Explorer, Arctic Sea Ice extent from 1979 to the present, OpenStreetMap 3D Buildings, World Ocean Base, and Sea Surface Temperature (°C). Explore the Living Atlas to discover resources that may be useful for your needs.
To begin, log in to the Trent ArcGIS Online Portal. Click the dots in the top menu bar and select "Living Atlas".
Open-source desktop software with GIS capabilities refers to applications that are installed and run on a personal computer (as opposed to web-based or mobile). These tools are used to visualize, analyze, and interpret spatial data to understand relationships, patterns, and trends in geography.
Key Characteristics:
Get started with these learning resources.
14. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Define and contrast the key characteristics of open-source desktop and web mapping GIS software," Microsoft, July 9, 2025. Edited for style and content.
15. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a brief description of the following software: GRASS GIS, QGIS, and SNAP ," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.
Web mapping tools are applications that allow users to create, view, and interact with maps through a web browser. It combines geographic information system (GIS) capabilities with web technologies to make spatial data accessible and usable online.
Key Characteristics:
Get started with these learning resources.
14. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Define and contrast the key characteristics of open-source desktop and web mapping tools," Microsoft, July 9, 2025. Edited for style and content.
16. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a brief description of the following software: Google Earth Engine, Google MyMaps, Leaflet, MapBox, Open Layers, QGIS to Web Map Plugin and uMap," Microsoft, July 9, 2025. Edited for style and content.
GIS (Geographic Information Systems) programming involves using specialized programming languages and tools to manage, analyze, and visualize spatial data. Here’s a breakdown of the most commonly used programming languages in GIS, along with their typical use cases [17]:
geopandas, shapely, fiona, rasterio, pyproj, foliumsf, sp, raster, terra, tmap, ggplot2 (for mapping)17. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Describe GIS programming languages" Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.