Skip to Main Content
Trent University Library and Archives

GIS Data & Software

Discover how to locate and utilize GIS data and software.

About GIS and Geospatial Data

What is a Geographic Information System (GIS)?

A Geographic Information System (GIS) is a powerful tool used to collect, manage, analyze, and visualize geospatial data. GIS enables users to create maps, detect patterns, and make informed decisions based on spatial relationships. For example, GIS can help identify the best location for a new store or monitor environmental changes over time [1].

Key Components of a GIS

  • Hardware – Computers, GPS devices, and servers that run GIS applications
  • Software – Programs like ArcGIS, QGIS, or Google Earth used to process and visualize spatial data
  • Data – Includes both geographic data (e.g., satellite imagery, maps) and attribute data (e.g., population, land use)
  • People – Analysts, cartographers, and decision-makers who use GIS tools
  • Methods – Techniques and procedures for collecting, analyzing, and interpreting spatial data [1].

What is Geospatial Data?

Geospatial data, also known as GIS data, refers to information that identifies the location of objects or features on or near the Earth's surface. Examples include the location of a building, the path of a road, or the site of a natural event. This data is typically represented using coordinates (such as latitude and longitude, e.g., the latitude and longitude coordinates of Trent University are 44.3547 and -78.2871, respectively) or addresses (e.g., Trent University Library & Archives is located at 1700 West Bank Drive, Peterborough) to ensure precise location identification [2].

Importance of Metadata and Documentation

Metadata provides context for geospatial data. It describes the who, what, when, where, why, and how of the dataset [3]. For example, a metadata file that accompanies a geospatial data file may include information about

  • Who is responsible for creating, maintaining and distributing the data, as well as contact information for the organization or individual who can answer questions about the data.
  • What is included with the data, including information about the files, their structure and contents.
  • When the data was collected, and the period for which it is valid or when it was first published or last updated.
  • Where the data can be accessed, and the geographic extent of its coverage.
  • Why the data was collected (the original purpose or research question).
  • How the data can be reused, including information about file formats and required software packages.

Key reasons metadata is important:

  • Discovery: Helps users find relevant datasets through search tools.
  • Understanding: Explains what the data represents, how it was collected, and its limitations.
  • Quality Assessment & Quality Control: Includes accuracy, resolution, and update frequency, helping users determine if the data is suitable for their purpose and that it functions as intended.
  • Interoperability: Enables integration with other datasets by providing standardized descriptions.
  • Reusability: Ensures future users (including your future self) can understand and use the data correctly [3].

1. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Definition of a GIS," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

2. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Definition of Geospatial Data," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

3. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Explain why metadata are important to geospatial data," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Types of Geospatial Data

Vector data in a GIS represent discrete features using points, lines, and polygons, each defined by spatial coordinates:

  • Points (0D): single locations like wells or streetlights
  • Lines (1D): linear features like roads or rivers
  • Polygons (2D): enclosed areas like lakes, property parcels, or city boundaries

Each feature can include attribute data (e.g., the name of a lake or the population of a city) that is stored in a table and linked to the spatial file. This linkage between spatial and attribute data supports detailed mapping and analysis [4].


Figure 1. Image generated by Microsoft Copilot, Microsoft, July 7, 2025, from the prompt "Visual example of vector data in GIS".

4. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Briefly describe vector data," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Raster data in GIS represents the Earth's surface as a grid of equally sized cells, where each cell holds a single value—such as elevation, land cover type, or spectral reflectance from satellite imagery. Unlike vector data, raster data is continuous, with values existing across the entire extent.

  • Resolution refers to the size of each cell (e.g., 30 m resolution = 30 × 30 m cells).
  • Bands (or layers) can store multiple attributes at the same location, such as different wavelengths in satellite imagery.

Raster data is ideal for analyzing continuous phenomena and supports operations like slope calculation, vegetation analysis, and image classification [5].

An image of grid cells representing land use type.

Figure 2. Esri, "What Is Raster Data?" ArcMap. July 7, 2025. https://desktop.arcgis.com/en/arcmap/latest/manage-data/raster-and-images/what-is-raster-data.html

5. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Briefly describe raster data in a GIS," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Tabular data refers to information organized in rows and columns—like a spreadsheet or database—where each row represents a feature (e.g., a city, building, or tree) and each column holds attributes about that feature (e.g., city population, building height, or tree species).

In GIS, tabular data becomes geospatial when it includes location information, such as:

  • Coordinates (latitude/longitude)
  • Addresses
  • Postal codes
  • Place names

This data can be linked to spatial features (points, lines, or polygons) using a unique ID, enabling a GIS to combine descriptive information with geographic shapes. While tabular data can be non-spatial, its power in GIS comes from connecting it to spatial data for mapping and analysis [6].

6. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Briefly describe tabular data in a GIS," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

In addition to vector, raster, and tabular data, GIS also supports special data types that represent geospatial phenomena in unique ways. These are less commonly used but are essential for advanced analysis and visualization. Examples include:

  • Time-related data: Tracks changes over time, such as traffic flow, weather patterns, or changes in land use.
  • 3D data: Represents elevation, terrain, or structures like buildings in three dimensions.
  • Voxel data: A 3D grid-based format used for modelling volumetric phenomena like air quality or subsurface geology.

These data types expand GIS capabilities, allowing for more dynamic, realistic, and complex spatial analysis [22].

22. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Define 'Special Data Types' that are not commonly used but represent some geospatial phenomena in a unique way to rasters, vectors, and tabular data. Examples of this would be time-related data, 3D building data, voxel data," Microsoft, August 1, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Coordinate Systems

Spatial Coordinate Systems

A spatial coordinate system is a framework used in GIS to define how geographic data is located on the Earth's surface. It provides a reference for positioning features using coordinates, enabling accurate mapping and spatial analysis.

There are two main types:

1. Geographic Coordinate System (GCS)

  • Uses a spherical or ellipsoidal model of the Earth.
  • Coordinates are expressed in latitude and longitude.
  • Units are typically degrees.
  • Best for global-scale data, but not ideal for precise measurements due to curvature.

2. Projected Coordinate System (PCS)

  • Transforms the Earth's curved surface onto a flat plane using a map projection.
  • Coordinates are expressed in linear units (e.g., meters or feet).
  • Suitable for local or regional analysis where accurate distance, area, and direction are needed.

Distortion and Accuracy

All projections and coordinate systems introduce distortions in one or more properties:

  • Shape
  • Area
  • Distance
  • Direction

Choosing the right coordinate system is crucial because it affects:

  • Measurement accuracy (e.g., calculating area or distance)
  • Spatial alignment (e.g., overlaying datasets)
  • Analysis results (e.g., buffering, interpolation)

For example, using a geographic coordinate system for distance calculations can lead to errors, while a projected system like UTM (Universal Transverse Mercator) provides more reliable results for local-scale work [23].

23. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Define a spatial coordinate system. Include how they distort/maintain data and why it's important to choose the right one. Explain the difference between projected coordinate systems and geographic coordinate systems," Microsoft, August 1, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Geospatial Data Sources

Trent Access

Licensed Geospatial Data

We provide access to licensed geospatial data and imagery through our partnerships with the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), DMTI Spatial and the Ontario Geospatial Data Exchange. 
  • Scholars GeoPortal 
    • Data Types: Land-based vector data (e.g., soil, water, cultural features), census geography, orthophotography and aerial imagery, historical digitized maps, provincial and municipal datasets.
    • Functionality: Web-based portal for searching, visualizing, and downloading geospatial data; includes tools for filtering by location, feature type, and projection.
    • Focus: Supporting academic research and teaching in Ontario universities by providing access to licensed and open geospatial data [7].
    • Access: Trent University students, staff, and faculty must log in via institutional login or be connected to the Trent network to see all available data/
  • CanMap Content Suite from DMTI Spatial Inc.
    • Data Types: National road networks, postal codes, address points, land use, and administrative boundaries across Canada.
    • Functionality: Provides comprehensive, ready-to-use GIS datasets for integration into mapping and spatial analysis platforms. 
    • Focus: Comprehensive Canadian geospatial coverage [7]
    • Access: Downloadable through Scholars GeoPortal. Large datasets are available by request via MaDGIC support (madgichelp@trentu.ca)

Trent's ArcGIS Online Portal

Find data that characterizes the Symons campus and data made available by others in the organization (Trent). 
  • Trent University’s ArcGIS Online Portal 
    • Data Types: Open data, mapping applications, campus-specific geospatial base layers (e.g., roads, land cover, infrastructure)
    • Functionality: ArcGIS Online platform for creating, sharing, and analyzing maps; supports collaboration and access to Esri tools for students and faculty.
    • Focus: Facilitating GIS education, research, and campus-wide spatial data use through Esri’s cloud-based mapping environment [7].
    • Access: Requires an active Trent Esri enterprise account.

Trent University Dataverse Repository

Find research data that has been deposited by students, staff, and faculty.
  • Trent University Dataverse Collection
    • Data types: A range of common file types uploaded by researchers.
    • Functionality: Serves as a repository for publishing, preserving, and sharing research data.
    • Access: Available through the Borealis Dataverse Repository. Datasets may be publicly downloadable or require permission; access is managed by dataset authors or Trent University research support [7].

7. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of each data source using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Sources: https://geo2.scholarsportal.info/, https://www.dmtispatial.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/Can-Map-Sell-Sheet_FINAL.pdf, https://trentuniversity.maps.arcgis.com, https://borealisdata.ca/dataverse/trent" Microsoft, Aug 15, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Global Geospatial Data

Foundational Geospatial Data Platforms

Provide core national datasets, including topography, infrastructure, land cover, and administrative boundaries, to support general mapping, analysis, and informed decision-making.
  • ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World Apps - ESRI
    • Data Types: Demographics, environmental data, satellite imagery (Landsat, Sentinel), real-time feeds, and historical maps.
    • Functionality: Interactive web apps for exploring, visualizing, and analyzing spatial data; supports map creation and customization.
    • Focus: Global and regional insights, thematic exploration, and decision-making support [8].
  • Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal 
    • Data Types: GIS datasets, historical maps, aerial imagery, and web services from academic and government sources.
    • Functionality: Searchable portal for discovering, previewing, and downloading geospatial data with rich metadata.
    • Focus: Supporting academic research and education through access to regional and historical geospatial resources [8].
  • ​​​​​​​OpenTopography Data Catalog
    • Data Types: Lidar point clouds, digital elevation models (DEMs), bathymetric data, and community-contributed datasets.
    • Functionality: Centralized access to high-resolution topographic data with tools for filtering, visualization, and processing; includes federated access to USGS and NOAA datasets.
    • Focus: Earth surface mapping and analysis for academic research, hazard assessment, and infrastructure planning [8].

Thematic and Sector-Specific GIS Data

Focus on specific domains like health, environment, soil, and regional ecosystems, offering curated datasets and tools tailored to sectoral needs.
  • Earthdata Search - NASA
    • Data Types: Satellite imagery, climate, land, ocean, and atmospheric data from NASA and partner missions.
    • Functionality: Advanced search and filtering tools for discovering, visualizing, and downloading Earth science datasets.
    • Focus: Enabling scientific research and environmental monitoring through access to global Earth observation data [8].
  • Native Land Digital API
    • Data Types: Indigenous territories, languages, and treaties (global coverage with a focus on North America)
    • Functionality: API for retrieving geospatial data by location; supports integration into maps and applications; supports queries by coordinates, territory names, or types (e.g., languages, treaties); returns data in JSON format for integration into mapping applications.
    • Focus: Open and community-driven access to Indigenous land data for developers, educators, and researchers; supports Indigenous data sovereignty and public awareness [8].

Satellite Imagery & Aerial Photographs

Provide access to Earth observation data collected via satellite and aerial platforms for environmental monitoring, land use analysis, and remote sensing applications.
  • USGS Global Visualization Viewer (GloVis) 
    • Data Types: Remote sensing imagery, including Landsat, MODIS, and other satellite datasets.
    • Functionality: Visual interface for browsing, previewing, and downloading satellite imagery by date and location.
    • Focus: Providing easy access to historical and current satellite imagery for environmental and land-use analysis [8].
  • USGS EarthExplorer 
    • Data Types: Satellite imagery, aerial photography, DEMs, land cover/use, radar, lidar
    • Functionality: Advanced spatial/temporal search, filtering, metadata access, bulk download
    • Focus: Comprehensive geospatial data access for both historical and contemporary datasets [8].
  • Copernicus Data Space Ecosystem
    • Data Types: Sentinel satellite data (1–6), contributing missions, Copernicus Services data, and federated datasets.
    • Functionality: Provides free, instant access to Earth observation data with integrated tools for visualization, processing (e.g., JupyterLab, openEO), and API access.
    • Focus: Comprehensive, cloud-based platform for accessing and analyzing Copernicus Earth observation data, supporting research, monitoring, and third-party service development [8].

Regional Geospatial Data

Arctic Region

  • Arctic SDI Geoportal
    • Data Types: Satellite imagery, aerial photography, elevation data, land cover, and other remote sensing products.
    • Functionality: Comprehensive search and download tool with advanced filtering by location, date, and dataset.
    • Focus: Supporting Arctic research, planning, and education through access to a wide range of geospatial datasets [8].

8. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of each data source using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Sources: https://livingatlas.arcgis.com/en/apps, https://geo.btaa.org, https://search.earthdata.nasa.gov, https://api-docs.native-land.ca/, https://glovis.usgs.gov, https://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/, https://dataspace.copernicus.eu/, https://portal.opentopography.org/dataCatalog " Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

National Geospatial Data - Canada

Foundational Geospatial Data Platforms

Provide core national datasets, including topography, infrastructure, land cover, and administrative boundaries, to support general mapping, analysis, and informed decision-making.
  • GEO.ca - Government of Canada  
    • Data Types: Over 7,000 datasets including topography, infrastructure, environment, and AI-generated features.
    • Functionality: Search, visualize, and analyze geospatial data using tools like geoView and geoCore.
    • Focus: Central hub for Canada’s open geospatial information from federal, provincial, and territorial sources [9].
  • Open Data Portal - Government of Canada
    • Data Types: Government datasets on environment, economy, health, and more.
    • Functionality: Searchable catalogue with download options in multiple formats; supports transparency and public access.
    • Focus: Broad open data access for transparency, innovation, and research [9].
  • Geospatial Product Index - Natural Resources Canada
    • Data Types: Elevation models, topographic maps, hydrography, land cover, and vector datasets.
    • Functionality: Interactive FTP-based index for browsing and downloading geospatial products.
    • Focus: National-scale geospatial data for mapping, analysis, and research [9].
  • GeoAI - Natural Resources Canada
    • Data Types: AI-extracted features such as roads, buildings, hydrography, and forests from aerial and satellite imagery.
    • Functionality: Automated feature extraction using deep learning; downloadable datasets; time-enabled layers for change detection.
    • Focus: Rapid, scalable creation of high-resolution foundational geospatial data to support land use classification, change detection, and environmental monitoring [9].
  • Geomatics Download Directory - Natural Resources Canada 
    • Data Types: Elevation, topographic, hydrographic, and legacy map data.
    • Functionality: FTP access to categorized geospatial datasets with documentation.
    • Focus: Centralized distribution of authoritative Canadian geospatial data [9].
  • Canadian Geospatial Data Extraction Tool - Natural Resources Canada 
    • Data Types: Detailed vector base layers, digital elevation models (CanVec series).
    • Functionality: Interactive map interface for selecting and clipping datasets by area of interest.
    • Focus: Custom extraction of high-quality topographic data for mapping and analysis [9].
  • National Elevation Data Strategy - Natural Resources Canada
    • Data Types: High-resolution and medium-resolution digital elevation models (HRDEM, MRDEM), digital surface models (DSM), digital terrain models (DTM), lidar-derived data.
    • Functionality: Access to downloadable elevation datasets, interactive coverage maps, and standardized lidar acquisition guidelines.
    • Focus: Expanding national coverage of accurate elevation data through collaboration with provinces, territories, and Indigenous communities; supports climate adaptation, infrastructure development, and scientific research [9].

Climate Data, Modelling, and Scenario Platforms

Offer historical climate records, model projections, and scenario tools to support climate research, risk assessment, and adaptation planning.

Administrative and Statistical Data

Deliver authoritative geographic boundaries and socio-economic data for demographic analysis, policy development, and spatial statistics.
  • GeoSearch - Statistics Canada
    • ​​​​Data Types: Census geography boundaries and related demographic data.
    • Functionality: Interactive map-based interface for filtering, visualizing, and exploring data by subject, theme, and location; supports spatial comparisons and custom selections.
    • Focus: Easy access to census data by geographic area for analysis and visualization [9].
  • Statistics Canada Boundary Files - Statistics Canada 
    • Data Types: Cartographic and digital boundary files (e.g., provinces, census divisions, dissemination areas).
    • Functionality: Downloadable in multiple GIS formats (SHP, GML, WMS); supports spatial analysis and mapping.
    • Focus: Standardized geographic boundaries for census data dissemination and spatial analysis [9].
  • Canada Lands Survey Tools & Applications - NRCan
    • Data Types: Survey plans, cadastral data, administrative boundaries, and oil and gas grids.
    • Functionality: Interactive map browser, text-based search tools, downloadable datasets, Google Earth overlays.
    • Focus: Legal boundaries on Canada Lands, including Indigenous territories and national parks [9].

Thematic and Sector-Specific GIS Data

Focus on specific domains like health, environment, soil, and regional ecosystems, offering curated datasets and tools tailored to sectoral needs.
  • Health GIS Hub - ESRI Canada 
    • Data Types: Health facility locations, administrative boundaries, COVID-19 data, and social determinants.
    • Functionality: Interactive maps, dashboards, and GIS tools for health analysis.
    • Focus: Public health planning and research across Canada [9].
  • ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World (Canada Edition) - ESRI
    • Data Types: GIS layers, imagery, maps, apps, and story maps (e.g., demographics, environment, infrastructure).
    • Functionality: Search, filter, and analyze ready-to-use content; supports real-time feeds and raster analysis.
    • Focus: Curated Canadian geospatial content for visualization and analysis within the ArcGIS ecosystem [9].
  • Great Lakes GIS Data - Great Lakes Commission  
    • Data Types: Political boundaries, watersheds, hydrology, fisheries, elevation, and bathymetry layers.
    • Functionality: Downloadable GIS files and interactive web maps.
    • Focus: Environmental and regional planning in the Great Lakes basin [9].
  • Open Science and Data Platform (OSDP) - Government of Canada
    • Data Types: Scientific publications, regulatory data, geospatial datasets, story maps.
    • Functionality: Interactive mapping, data downloads, and content collections for cumulative effects analysis.
    • Focus: Supporting environmental assessments and cumulative effects research through open science [9].
  • Earth Sciences Tools and Applications - NRCan
    • Data Types: Geological, geophysical, geochemical, groundwater, permafrost, and marine data.
    • Functionality: Databases, interactive maps, downloadable datasets, and lexicons.
    • Focus: Geoscience data for resource management, exploration, and climate adaptation [9].
  • Canadian Soil Information Service (CanSIS) - Government of Canada
    • Data Types: Soil surveys, soil landscapes, land capability, and climate data.
      Functionality: Interactive maps, downloadable reports, databases, and interpretive tools.
      Focus: National soil and land resource data for agriculture, environment, and planning [9].

Satellite Imagery & Aerial Photographs

Provide access to Earth observation data collected via satellite and aerial platforms for environmental monitoring, land use analysis, and remote sensing applications.
  • Earth Observation Data Management System (EODMS) - NRCan 
    • Data Types: Satellite imagery (e.g., RADARSAT-1), aerial photos, EO raster data.
    • Functionality: Search, preview, and download EO data; supports geospatial analysis.
    • Focus: Centralized access to authoritative Earth observation data for Canada [9].

Geographic Names and Cultural Data

Support geographic referencing and cultural heritage through standardized place names and Indigenous geographic data in multiple languages.
  • Canadian Geographical Names Database (CGNDB) - NRCan 
    • Data Types: Official and historical place names, undersea features, and dual-language names.
    • Functionality: Searchable database, web services, downloadable data.
    • Focus: Standardized geographic naming for mapping and cultural heritage [9].
  • Indigenous Geographical Names Data - NRCan 
    • Data Types: Indigenous place names, cultural and linguistic attributes.
    • Functionality: Downloadable datasets, searchable by region or name.
    • Focus: Cultural preservation and recognition of Indigenous worldviews in geographic data [9]. 

9. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of each data source using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Sources: https://geo.ca/, https://search.open.canada.ca/opendata/, https://ftp.maps.canada.ca/pub/nrcanrncan/vector/index/html/geospatialproductindexen.html, https://geo.ca/initiatives/geobase/geoai/, https://ftp.maps.canada.ca/pub/nrcanrncan/vector/index/html/geospatialproductindexen.html, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/science-data/science-research/geomatics/download-directory-documentation, https://maps.canada.ca/czs/index-en.html, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/maps-tools-publications/satellite-elevation-air-photos/national-elevation-data-strategy, https://climate-scenarios.canada.ca/?page=main, https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/climate-change/science-research-data/modeling-projections-analysis/centre-modelling-analysis.html, https://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2021/geo/maps-cartes/geosearch-georecherche/index2021-eng.cfm, https://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2021/geo/sip-pis/boundary-limites/index-eng.cfm, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/maps-tools-publications/maps/boundaries-land-surveys/tools-applications-canada-lands-surveys, https://healthgishub-esricanada.hub.arcgis.com/, https://livingatlas.arcgis.com/en/browse/#type=layers&d=2&rgnCode=CA, https://www.glc.org/greatlakesgis/, https://osdp-psdo.canada.ca/dp/en?gl=1gnghxcgaMjA4MTQ1NzA4MC4xNzUwNjg2NTY2gaC2N57Y7DX5czE3NTA2OTMyMjMkbzMkZzEkdDE3NTA2OTMyNzkkajQkbDAkaDA, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/science-data/science-research/earth-sciences-tools-applications, https://sis.agr.gc.ca/cansis, https://www.eodms-sgdot.nrcan-rncan.gc.ca/index-en.htmlgl=1129sbjegaODUxOTA5MTE5LjE3MDExMDEzNjk.gaC2N57Y7DX5MTcwMTExNTU1My4yLjEuMTcwMTExNTkyMS4wLjAuMA, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/maps-tools-publications/maps/geographical-names-board-canada/about-canadian-geographical-names-database, https://natural-resources.canada.ca/maps-tools-publications/maps/geographical-names-canada/indigenous-geographical-names-data," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

National Geospatial Data - US

Foundational Geospatial Data Platforms

Provide core national datasets, including topography, infrastructure, land cover, and administrative boundaries, to support general mapping, analysis, and informed decision-making.
  • U.S. Government Open Data Portal
    • Data Types: Environment, health, agriculture, energy, climate, education, transportation, and more.
    • Functionality: Dataset search, metadata viewing, API access, visualization tools, and developer resources.
    • Focus: Open access to U.S. federal government data for research, application development, and public transparency [10].

10. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of this data source using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Source: https://data.gov/," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Provincial Geospatial Data- Ontario

Foundational Geospatial Data Platforms

Provide core national datasets, including topography, infrastructure, land cover, and administrative boundaries, to support general mapping, analysis, and informed decision-making.
  • Ontario Geohub (formerly Land Information Ontario) - Government of Ontario
    • Data Types: Orthophotography (e.g., Southern Ontario 5-year cycle), high-resolution LiDAR, elevation, imagery, administrative boundaries, infrastructure, and more
      Functionality: Search, interact with, request, and download authoritative geospatial data and metadata; supports formats like CSV, GeoTIFF, GeoJSON, and web services (WMS, WFS); includes thematic maps and story map creation tools.
      Focus: Centralized access to Ontario’s authoritative geospatial data and mapping applications [11].

Thematic and Sector-Specific GIS Data

Focus on specific domains like health, environment, soil, and regional ecosystems, offering curated datasets and tools tailored to sectoral needs.
  • Agricultural Information Atlas (AgMaps) - Government of Ontario
    • Data Types: Agricultural parcels, soil types, drainage, aerial imagery, Canada Land Inventory, and vulnerable areas.
      Functionality: Interactive map creation, parcel search, field sketching, distance/area measurement, and map annotation.
      Focus: Agricultural mapping and analysis for farmers, researchers, and planners [11].
  • Crown Land Use Policy Atlas (CLUPA) - Government of Ontario
    • Data Types: Crown land use area boundaries, land use designations, and policy documents.
      Functionality: Interactive mapping tool to view, search, and create maps of Crown land use areas.
      Focus: Land use planning and policy reference for over 39 million hectares of Crown land in Ontario [11].
  • Open Data - Conservation Ontario
    • Data Types: Spatial data related to natural heritage, water resources, flood hazards, conservation lands, planning regulations, and environmental monitoring across Ontario’s conservation authorities
    • Functionality: Explore, download, and analyze data in formats like CSV, GeoJSON, GeoTIFF, KML, and Shapefiles. Access web maps, story maps, and APIs (WMS, WFS).
    • Focus: Provides spatial data from Ontario’s conservation authorities, including those serving Northumberland and Peterborough, to support environmental planning, hazard mitigation, and community engagement [11].
  • GeologyOntario - Government of Ontario
    • Data Types: Geological maps, mineral deposit inventories, assessment files, geophysical surveys, and geochemistry data.
      Functionality: Spatial and text-based search, KML/GIS downloads, Google Earth integration.
      Focus: Geological exploration, mining, and resource assessment across Ontario [11].

Satellite Imagery & Aerial Photographs

Provide access to Earth observation data collected via satellite and aerial platforms for environmental monitoring, land use analysis, and remote sensing applications.
  • Archives of Ontario Aerial Photography Collection - Government of Ontario
    • Data Types: Historical black-and-white aerial photographs from the Forest Resource Inventory (FRI) and Ontario Base Mapping (OBM) programs.
      Functionality: Interactive map interface for browsing photographic coverage across Ontario; users can search by location and year, view metadata, and request reproductions.
      Focus: Archival documentation of Ontario’s landscape changes for research and planning [11].

11. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of these data sources using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Sources: https://geohub.lio.gov.on.ca/, https://www.ontario.ca/page/how-use-agmaps, https://www.ontario.ca/page/crown-land-use-policy-atlas, https://co-opendatacamaps.hub.arcgis.com/, https://www.hub.geologyontario.mines.gov.on.ca/, 
https://www.archives.gov.on.ca/en/aerialphotos/index.aspx," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.

Local Geospatial Data - Southern Ontario

Foundational Geospatial Data Platforms

Provide core national datasets, including topography, infrastructure, land cover, and administrative boundaries, to support general mapping, analysis, and informed decision-making.
  • Open Data Portal - City of Peterborough
    • Data Types: GIS datasets (e.g., infrastructure, transportation, recreation, zoning), maps (PDF, shapefiles, KML, GeoJSON).
    • Functionality: Downloadable datasets (CSV, shapefile, GeoJSON), interactive maps, story maps, and web apps.
    • Focus: Enhancing transparency and supporting planning, development, and community engagement [12].
  • Open Data Portal - Kawartha Lakes
    • Data Types: Property, planning, recreation, municipal services, infrastructure, and environmental data.
    • Functionality: Dataset downloads (CSV, GeoTIFF, GeoJSON, etc.), interactive maps, storymaps, thematic mapping, and APIs (GeoServices, WMS, WFS) 
    • Focus: Open access to municipal GIS data to support transparency, community engagement, and spatial analysis [12].
  • ​​​​​​​ Open Data Portal - Durham Region  
    • Data Types: Addresses, housing, health, environment, transit, community services, and infrastructure.
    • Functionality: Dataset downloads (CSV, GeoTIFF, etc.), interactive dashboards, APIs, and map viewers.
    • Focus: Open access to regional datasets for transparency, innovation, and community engagement [12].
  • Open Data Portal - City of Toronto
    • Data Types: Urban planning, transportation, environment, public health, and city services.
    • Functionality: Searchable data catalogue, developer APIs, visualization tools, and dataset request features.
    • Focus: Empowering civic tech, fostering transparency, and enabling data-driven decision-making [12].

Public GIS Applications

 A web-based or mobile tool that allows the general public to access, view, and interact with geographic information system (GIS) data. 
  • Peterborough E-maps 3.0 - City of Peterborough 
    • Data Types: Address data, points of interest, and aerial photographs.
      Functionality: Address lookup, location discovery, aerial imagery viewing.
      Focus: Easy access to local geographic and visual information for residents and visitors [12].
  • Public GIS Application - County of Peterborough  
    • Data Types: Zoning, land use, infrastructure, natural resources, emergency services, and environmental overlays.
    • Functionality: Search, draw, measure, and print tools; create and download custom maps. 
    • Focus: Public access to geographic data with user-friendly tools for map creation and exploration [12].
  • Let Me Map 2.0 - County of Peterborough
    • Data Types: Property boundaries, zoning, infrastructure, environmental features
    • Functionality: Interactive GIS with search, measurement, and layer toggling tools.
    • Focus: Detailed spatial analysis and navigation across the county [12].

12. Microsoft Copilot, response to "Provide a consistent and concise summary of these data sources using the bullet points: Data Types, Functionality, and Focus. Data Sources: https://data-ptbo.opendata.arcgis.com/, https://opendata.durham.ca/, https://open.toronto.ca/,
https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/18114d04929c43f1a302a35bc80be849, https://ptbocounty.geocortex.com/Html5Viewer/Index.html?viewer=PeterboroughPublic, https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/ddbc67fe5d17401192c602cfd088cd0a," Microsoft, July 7, 2025. Edited for style and content.