Library Guides: History Subject Guide: Finding Articles

Learning & Liaison Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Canadian Studies, Education, Global Development & Human Rights, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Political Studies

History Specific Indexes

America: History and Life
- An indexing and abstracts database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
- Indexes scholarly articles, book reviews, and essays on women, gender, and sexuality during the Middle Ages.
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes scholarly articles, books, and dissertations across various historical topics, providing abstracts and citations for research in global history, including social, political, and cultural developments from the 15th century to present.
International Medieval Bibliography
- Indexes scholarly articles, books, and reviews related to the study of the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500 AD). It covers a wide range of disciplines, including history, literature, art, archaeology, and theology.
Iter Bibliography
- Bibliographic materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material, essays in books, entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.

Other Useful Indexes and Databases

Academic OneFile
- A multidisciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, covering a wide range of subjects with full-text peer-reviewed content.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
- This bibliographic database covers all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America.
CAIRN.INFO
- This indexing and abstracting database contains academic resources written in French. The collection covers the humanities and social sciences and includes journals, eBooks, and conference proceedings.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
- Provides access to news, reports, and analysis on Canadian business, economy, and current events. Offers insights into industries, government policies, and corporate developments across Canada.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
- Provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
JSTOR
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources across various disciplines.
Libris Canadiana
- This bibliographic database provided by Library and Archives Canada, is dedicated to cataloging and preserving Canadian publications covering various aspects of Canadian history, culture, and society.
Nexis Uni Plus
- An academic research platform that provides access to a wide range of news, business, and legal sources from around the world.
Scholars Portal Journals
- An index of academic journals across various disciplines. It provides metadata and links to full-text articles, facilitating efficient searches for scholarly content.
Web of Science Core Collection
- A multidisciplinary indexing database that indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly content across a wide range of scientific and academic disciplines including the social sciences, and arts and humanities.