Library Guides: Media Studies: Home

Home
Optional: Course Specific Pages

Learning & Liaison Librarian: Digital Technology & Critical Making

Kat Hicks

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Trent University Library & Archives
1700 West Bank Drive
Peterborough ON K9L 0G2

(705) 748-1011, ext. 7495

Subjects: Cultural Studies

Tutorials

Omni
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 2684 views this year
Tutorial: Finding Articles
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 254 views this year
Tutorial: Google Scholar
by Dwayne Collins Last Updated Jan 5, 2024 150 views this year
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 396 views this year

Related Guides

Citation Management
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated May 14, 2024 220 views this year
Cultural Studies
by Kat Hicks Last Updated Jun 18, 2025 0 views this year
Adobe Creative Cloud Suite
by Abdullah Yossofzai Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 366 views this year

Background Information

Use these sources to find background information on your topic. Background sources are generally not appropriate for citation in research assignments.

Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
- Access to a range of reference materials, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions, published by Oxford University Press.
Very Short Introductions (VSI)
- Offers a series of concise, accessible overviews on a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an expert introduction to key concepts and debates within a particular field, making it a valuable resource for quick reference and foundational understanding across various academic disciplines.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
SAGE Knowledge eBooks
- Access to academic and reference e-books across multiple disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, research handbooks, and educational resources designed to support in-depth study and research in the social sciences, humanities, business, and health.

Articles

Academic Search Elite
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
Communications & Mass Media Complete
- Covers scholarly and professional literature in the fields of communications and media studies.
JSTOR
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources across various disciplines.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)
- Provides access to scholarly articles, magazines, and multimedia content focused on popular culture and its impact on society.
Project MUSE
- Access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online
- Access to a collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various disciplines, including social sciences, humanities, business, and health.

Multimedia

Use these sources to find multimedia such as videos, images, and radio programs.

Audio Ciné Films
- A repository of diverse cinematic works spanning various genres, eras, and cultures, facilitating easy access to a rich tapestry of audiovisual content for educational, entertainment, and research purposes.
Can-Core
- A Canadian streaming platform offering Canadian-produced videos, including documentaries, films, and Indigenous content, with features like searchable segments and closed captioning.
- Users can create their own playlists by creating a personal account.
CBC Curio
- Access to educational content from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, including documentaries, news, radio programs, and more, spanning a wide range of topics and subjects.
Criterion on Demand
- This online streaming service offers a library of educational and feature films, including classic, contemporary, and foreign films across diverse genres and subjects.
Films on Demand
- Contains a collection of documentaries, interviews, and educational films designed to support academic research, classroom instruction, and to facilitate independent learning.
Kanopy
- A streaming service providing access to a diverse collection of films, documentaries, and educational videos.
LGBT Studies In Videos
- This video collection explores LGBTQ+ history, culture, and identity. It features documentaries, interviews, and archival footage, providing a rich resource for studying gender, sexuality, and queer theory.
National Film Board of Canada (NFB) Education
- Find documentaries and films about the lives of Canadians, the environment, human rights, international conflict, and more.

Websites

Find media, data, policy, and other information using these open web resources.

British Library Image Collection
- Open access to millions of public domain images, which are meant to be explored and re-used.

The Center for Media and Public Affairs
CMPA is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of free books, movies, music, and more. The material is organized into various thematic or institutional collections.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons contains over 27 million freely usable media files, including images, sounds, and videos. The highest quality items are ‘Featured’ by the site and appear in picture of the day and picture of the year selections.

Newspapers

These databases contain single titles or collections of newspapers. You can also find newspapers in some databases that feature a mix of content, such as Academic Search Elite or JSTOR (found above under Articles).

Canadian Newsstream
- Access to a wide range of Canadian newspapers, news magazines, and newswires, including the Globe and Mail, National Post, Montreal Gazette, The Halifax Chronicle Herald, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Leader Post, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun, Victoria Times Colonist, and the Peterborough Examiner.
- Features current and historical content, allowing users to explore local, regional, and national news.
CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
- Provides access to a wide range of Canadian magazines, journals, and newspapers covering diverse topics such as current events, culture, business, health, and more.
Globe and Mail: Historical Newspapers, 1844 - 2020
- This digital archive provides full-text access to historical editions of The Globe and Mail, one of Canada’s leading newspapers.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers, 1851 - 2020
- Full access to the New York Times historical archive, offering articles, advertisements, and illustrations. This digital archive is full-text searchable.
- 4 year embargo on new issues.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985
- A complete digital repository of The Times newspaper, providing access to its complete archive from 1785 to 1985. This database offers a rich historical record of global and local events, including detailed news reports, editorials, and advertisements.