Library Guides: Geography: Find Books

Tutorials

Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.
Finding E-Books
E-books are available from a variety of publishers in many different ways. This page outlines strategies for finding e-books.
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
A short tutorial providing background on how keyword searching works, with tips to improve your search results. Estimated reading time: 10 minutes.

Reference Books

In this column you will find a list of selected reference books including:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Food Safety by Geoffrey W. Smithers (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780128225202
Publication Date: 2023-10-11
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by William M. White (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 3319393111
Publication Date: 2018-07-28
Encyclopedia of Geography by Barney Warf
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781412939591
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Encyclopedia of GIS by Shashi Shekhar (Editor); Hui Xiong (Editor)
Call Number: G 70.212 .E53 2008
ISBN: 9780387359755
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Online and in print (2 copies) in Maps Reference and Stacks at Bata Library.
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by Rhodes W. Fairbridge (Editor); Reginald W. Herschy (Editor); Lars Bengtsson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1402056168
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers by Michael P. Bishop (Other Adaptation by); Helgi Björnsson (Other Adaptation by); Wilfried Haeberli (Other Adaptation by); Johannes Oerlemans (Other Adaptation by); John F. Shroder (Other Adaptation by); Martyn Tranter (Other Adaptation by); Vijay P. Singh (Editor); Pratap Singh (Editor); Umesh Kumar Haritashya (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9048126436
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by E. (Earl) Ray Hutchison (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1412914329
Publication Date: 2009-11-13
Encyclopedia of Water, 5 Volume Set by Patricia Maurice (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1119300754
Publication Date: 2020
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary reference work containing hundreds of articles on topics ranging from the hydrologic cycle and water technology to societal considerations.
International Encyclopedia of Housing and Home by Susan J. Smith (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0080471633
Publication Date: 2012-06-11
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Audrey Kobayashi (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0081022956
Publication Date: 2019-11-29

Dictionaries

The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names by Oxford
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780191866326
Publication Date: 2020
A Dictionary of Human Geography by Alisdair Rogers; Noel Castree; Rob Kitchin
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0199599866
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S. G. Thomas
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118782309
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
A to Z GIS by Shelly Sommer (Editor); Tasha Wade (Editor)
Call Number: G 70.212 .A86 2006 REF
ISBN: 1589481402
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
In print in Reference in Bata Library.

Other Reference Books

Handbook of Geographic Information Science by George Cho (Contribution by); David Cowen (Contribution by); Peter Dana (Contribution by); Sara Fabrikant (Contribution by); A. Stewart Fotheringham (Editor); John Wilson (Editor); Jochen Albrecht (Contribution by); Michael Batty (Contribution by); Allan
Call Number: G 70.2 .H356 2008
ISBN: 9781405107952
Publication Date: 2007-08-14
In print in Stacks at Bata Library.
Handbook of Rural Studies by Terry Marsden (Editor); Paul Cloke (Editor); Patrick H. Mooney (Editor)
Call Number: GF 127 .H36 2006
ISBN: 076197332X
Publication Date: 2006-01-26
In pring in Stacks at Bata Library.
Qualitative Geography by Dydia DeLyser (Editor); Steve Herbert (Editor); Stuart A. Aitken (Editor); Mike A. Crang (Editor); Linda McDowell (Editor)
Call Number: GF 21 .S333 2010
ISBN: 9781412919913
Publication Date: 2009-12-08
In print in Stacks at Bata Library.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography by Linda McDowell (Editor); Dydia DeLyser (Editor); Steve Herbert (Editor); Stuart C. Aitken (Editor); Mike A. Crang (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1446206564
Publication Date: 2011-07-26