Library Guides: Anthropology and Archaeology: Home

Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Ancient History & Classics, Anthropology, Archaeology, Canadian Studies, Education, Global Development & Human Rights, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Political Studies

Add links to relevant Library tutorial resources.

Omni
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 6899 views this year
Tutorial: Finding Articles
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 749 views this year
Tutorial: Google Scholar
by Dwayne Collins Last Updated Jan 5, 2024 471 views this year
Tutorial: Keyword Searching
by Ellen Olsen-Lynch Last Updated Jan 24, 2023 696 views this year

Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- Access to a range of reference materials, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions, published by Oxford University Press.
Very Short Introductions (VSI) This link opens in a new window
- Offers a series of concise, accessible overviews on a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an expert introduction to key concepts and debates within a particular field, making it a valuable resource for quick reference and foundational understanding across various academic disciplines.
Search your topic from the opening screen to find chapters within books.
SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Access to academic and reference e-books across multiple disciplines. Includes scholarly texts, research handbooks, and educational resources designed to support in-depth study and research in the social sciences, humanities, business, and health.

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- A database containing abstracts, summaries, and citations of scholarly articles, dissertations, and conference papers in anthropology and related fields.
- Includes information on cultural, physical, archaeological, linguistic, and social anthropology.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This indexing database provides citations and abstracts for publications in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This digital library provides access to a vast collection of anthropological resources, including journals, books, and bulletins.
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- A bibliographic database focusing on classical studies, including Greek and Roman literature, history, and philology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Contains indexes and abstracts of scholarly literature in sociology and related social sciences. It covers topics such as social behavior, human interaction, social institutions, and theory, providing access to journal articles, books, conference papers, and dissertations.
Archaeology Data Service (ADS) This link opens in a new window
- This online digital repository for archaeological research data provides open access to excavation reports, geospatial information, images, and other materials generated by archaeological projects.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading academic journals and reference sources, covering a wide range of subjects including the arts, business, health, history, law, literature, science, and social science, making it a valuable resource for scholarly research and study.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Contains peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers across various academic disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources across various disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Access to a collection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various disciplines, including social sciences, humanities, business, and health.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary indexing database that indexes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, and other scholarly content across a wide range of scientific and academic disciplines including the social sciences, and arts and humanities.

American Anthropological Association
The AAA serves to advance anthropology as the science that studies humankind in all its aspects, through archeological, biological, ethnological, and linguistic research. Also, AAA furthers the professional interests of American anthropologists, including the dissemination of anthropological knowledge and its use to solve human problems.
Archaeological Institute of America
The AIA promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity. The AIA supports archaeologists, their research and its dissemination, and the ethical practice of archaeology. The AIA educates people of all ages about the significance of archaeological discovery and advocates for the preservation of the world’s archaeological heritage.