Library Guides: Sociology: Books

Find Books in Omni

Use Omni to discover books available through the library, whether they're ebooks or physical.

Filters let you limit to "Available Online" (ebooks) or Available in Library (physical).

Omni even finds chapters within books.

Search Omni
Link to the Omni search tool.
Omni Guide
A guide for using the Omni search tool.

Recent EBook Purchases

Handbook of Value by Tobias Brosch (Editor); David Sander (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198716600
Publication Date: 2016
This volume brings together original contributions from the different disciplines involved in value research. What is value? Where does it come from? How does it impact our emotions, motivations, choices, and experiences? Value is involved in practically every aspect of human life: whether we choose between consumer goods, whether we decide whom to marry or which political candidate to elect, whether we ask ourselves what is morally right, or beautiful, or sacred, value plays a crucial role.
The Sociology of Speed by Judy Wajcman (Editor); Nigel Dodd (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198782858
Publication Date: 2017
A sociological perspective on speed examining how speed and acceleration came to signify the zeitgeist, and exploring the political implications of this.
Productivity and Prosperity: A Historical Sociology of Productivist Thought by Karen R. Foster
ISBN: 9781487520571
Publication Date: 2016
The Promise of Sociology: Classical Approaches to Contemporary Society by Rob Beamish (Rob Barker)
ISBN: 9781442634046
Publication Date: 2016
Common Law and Modern Society by Mary Arden
ISBN: 9780198755845
Publication Date: 2016
Law is a lasting social institution but it must also be open to change. Section A looks at the way judge-made law responds to the changing needs of society, arising from changing social values, constitutional shifts or the need for a better legal framework in a particular field. Section B deals with simplification of the law and its systematic reform, including codification. Section C looks at tomorrow’s judiciary.
Manufacturing Phobias: The Political Production of Fear in Theory and Practice by Hisham M. Ramadan, Jeff Shantz
ISBN: 9781442628847
Publication Date: 2016
Demonstrates how economic and political elites mobilize fears of terrorism, crime, migration, invasion, and infection to twist political and social policy and advance their own agendas.
Myth of Mob Rule by Lisa L. Miller
ISBN: 9780190228705
Publication Date: 2016
Drawing on a comparative analysis of the United States, the United Kingdom, and the Netherlands, this book explores when and with what consequences crime becomes a politically salient issue. Reversing much of the conventional wisdom, the analysis finds that serious violence and public and political attention to it are highly correlated and that the United States has high levels of both crime and punishment, in part, because it suffers from a democratic deficit, rather than a surplus, in the production of fundamental collective goods, including risk of violence.
Public Sociology Debate by Ariane Hanemaayer (Editor); Christopher J. Schneider (Editor)
ISBN: 9780774826631
Publication Date: 2014-06-02
In 2004, Michael Burawoy challenged sociologists to move beyond the ivory tower and into the realm of activism, to engage in public discourses about what society could or should be. His call to arms sparked debate among sociologists. Which side would sociologists take? Would "public sociology" speak for all sociologists? In this volume, leading Canadian experts continue the debate by discussing their discipline's mission and practice and the role that ethics plays in research, theory, and teaching.

See the Very Short Introductions Series for Sociology Books.

From Oxford University Press, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas - a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Individual Sociology titles are:

Ageing by Nancy A. Pachana
ISBN: 9780198725329
Publication Date: 2017
Increased lifespans have created an urgent need to find ways to enhance our functioning and well-being in the later decades of life. This is reflected in relevant policies and action plans from the WHO and the UN. Looking to the future, this publication considers advancements in provision for our ageing populations.
Demography by Sarah Harper
ISBN: 9780198725732
Publication Date: 2018
Demography—the study of people—addresses the size, distribution, composition, and density of populations, and considers the impact these factors have on individual lives and the changing structure of human populations. Each generation’s demographic composition influences a person’s life chances; the economic and political structures within which that life is lived; the person’s access to social and natural resources; and life expectancy
Body by Chris Shilling
ISBN: 9780198739036
Publication Date: 2016
Since the mid-1980s, there has been a rising awareness of how our bodies, and our perception of them, are influenced by the social, cultural, and material contexts in which humans live. Drawing on studies of sex and gender, education, governance, the economy, and religion, this book demonstrates how our physical being, or embodiment, allows us to affect our material and virtual world, while enabling governments to shape and direct our thoughts and actions.
Diaspora by Kevin Kenny
ISBN: 9780199858583
Publication Date: 2013
Examines the origins of diaspora as a concept, its changing meanings over time, its current popularity, and its strengths and limitations as an explanatory device.
Feminism by Margaret Walters
ISBN: 9780192805102
Publication Date: 2006
Provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today.
Home by Michael Allen Fox
ISBN: 9780198747239
Publication Date: 2017
This author considers the complex meaning of home and the essential importance of place to human psychology. It considers what a dwelling is, the variety of dwellings, and also looks at the politics of the concept of ‘home’, homelessness, refugeeism and migration, and the future of home.
International Migration by Khalid Koser
ISBN: 9780198753773
Publication Date: 2016
This book looks at the phenomenon of international human migration—both legal and illegal—and offers an objective stance on the topic, revealing the benefits and challenges that migration presents. Using interviews with migrants from around the world, it presents the human side of issues such as asylum, human trafficking, migrant smuggling, and the international labour force.
Multiculturalism by Ali Rattansi
ISBN: 9780199546039
Publication Date: 2011
Multiculturalism is in terminal crisis. It has been blamed for undermining national identity, diluting social cohesion, creating ethnic ghettos, and cultural fragmentation for providing fertile ground for Islamic radicalism, encouraging perverse ‘political correctness’, and restricting liberal freedoms of expression. The public debate over multiculturalism has polarised opinion amongst the general public, policy makers, and politicians. But how much real evidence, beyond tabloid headlines and anecdotes, exists for these claims?
Sexuality by Veronique Mottier
ISBN: 9780199298020
Publication Date: 2008
Focuses on the social, political, and psychological aspects of sexuality to explore what shapes our sexuality, and how our attitudes to sex have in turn shaped the wider world.
Sociology by Steve Bruce
ISBN: 9780192853806
Publication Date: 2000
Explores the tension between the individual's role in society and society's role in shaping the individual, and demonstrates the value of sociology as a perspective for understanding the modern world.
Welfare State by David Garland
ISBN: 9780199672660
Publication Date: 2016
Describes the modern welfare state, explaining its historical and contemporary significance and arguing that far from being ‘a failure’ or ‘a problem’, welfare states are an essential element of contemporary capitalism, and a vital concomitant of democratic government.
Work by Stephen Fineman
ISBN: 9780199699360
Publication Date: 2012-12-02
Tells the story of work — how we strive for security, reward, and often, meaning.

Reference Books

This is a sample of the kinds of reference books you can find in the library. Search the Library Catalogue to place print books on HOLD for you to pick up, or for links to ebooks.

Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta (Editor); Rhonda J. V. Montgomery (Editor)
Call Number: HM 17 .E5 1992 REF
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Online and 4 volume set in Bata Reference.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by Austin Harrington (Editor); Barbara L. Marshall (Editor); Hans-Peter Muller (Editor)
Call Number: HM 425 .E53 2006 REF
ISBN: 9780415290463
Publication Date: 2006
Print only, in Bata Reference.
Dictionary of Sociology by Nicholas Abercrombie; Stephen Hill; Bryan S. Turner
Call Number: HM 17 .A23 1988 REF
ISBN: 0140511849
Publication Date: 1988-07-05
In print at Bata
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: HM 425 .C36 2006 REF
ISBN: 9780521540469
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
In print in Bata and Oshawa
Key Concepts in Social Research by Judy Payne; Geoff Payne
Call Number: H 62 .P3234
ISBN: 9780761965435
Publication Date: 2004
An authoritative, crystal-clear introduction to research methods which really takes account of the needs of students for accessible, focused information to help with undergraduate essays and exams.
In print at Bata.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
Call Number: HV 5804 .E53 2001 REF
ISBN: 9780028655413
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Online and 4 volume set in Bata Reference.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by); Joshua Dressler (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028653198
Publication Date: 2001
Education and Sociology by David Levinson (Editor); Peter W. Cookson (Editor); Alan R. Sadovnik (Editor)
Call Number: LC 189.95 .E38 REF
ISBN: 0815316151
Publication Date: 2001
Print only, in Bata Reference.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080430768
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
Online only.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 0195154371
Publication Date: 2004
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. A collaboration of nearly 200 contributors from academia, industry, and the culinary world.
Online only.
Black Women in America by Darlene Clark Hine (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156775
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
The remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today.
Online and 2 volume set in Bata Reference.
The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development by Stephen Hupp (Editor-In-Chief); Jeremy D. Jewell (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 1119171490
Publication Date: 2020
The Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development presents the major theories, key concepts, disorders, and evidence-based practices of the field. Covering infancy through adolescence and emerging adulthood, this important work outlines major areas of research and examines specific topics, ongoing controversies, and current work being done by leaders in the field. The first work on the topic of its scale, the Encyclopedia offers scholarly, authoritative information from an international team of experts that spans ten volumes.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies by Sangeeta Ray (Editor); Henry Schwarz (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1119076501
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime by Frances P. Bernat (Editor); Kelly Frailing (Editor); Loraine Gelsthorpe (Editor); Sesha Kethineni (Editor); Lisa Pasko (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118929803
Publication Date: 2019
Offering a balanced perspective, this work focuses on interdisciplinary, transnational, historical, and current perspectives on gender and offending behavior, victimization, legal and policy responses, and notable cases and individuals.
The International Encyclopedia of Gender, Media, and Communication by Karen Ross (Editor-In-Chief); Ingrid Bachmann (Associate Editor); Valentina Cardo (Associate Editor); Sujata Moorti (Associate Editor); Cosimo Marco Scarcelli (Associate Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781119429128
Publication Date: 2020
This resource explores how gender is represented in media, who produces the content, and the ways in which audiences receive and understand media messages.
The Encyclopedia of Juvenile Delinquency and Justice by Christopher J. Schreck (Editor); Michael Leiber (Associate Editor); Holly Ventura Miller (Associate Editor); Kelly Welch (Associate Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118520321
Publication Date: 2017
A compendium of more than 300 contributions written by leading scholars from the fields of criminal justice, justice sciences, social work, and sociology. It covers the latest research, policies, and practices regarding young offenders, the processing of juveniles within the court system, and various approaches to treating and eliminating juvenile crime.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by Nancy A. Naples (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781405196949
Publication Date: 2016
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields.
The Eighteenth Mental Measurements by Robert A. Spies (Editor); Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor)
Call Number: BF 176 .B9
ISBN: 0910674612
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Several editions are in Bata Reference. The online version covers vols 1-19.

Searchable EBook Collections

Most of our ebooks can be found by searching the Library Catalogue, which makes the Library Catalogue the best place to start your search. Click on the "Electronic Resource" icon to link to it.

These sites provide a large number of Sociology ebooks to Trent, and you can search them from the providers site. There's a lot of overlap and you may find the same books listed here, in the Library Catalogue, and in Scholars Portal Books. In some cases, however, you may find something unique.

Scholars Portal Books This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal Books is the largest database of e-books available to the Trent Library. It contains the majority of e-books we purchase and duplicates the content of many of our other providers.
Ebook Central - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly e-books through ProQuest.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books available on the EBSCOhost platform.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
UPSO is a collection of tens of thousands of scholarly ebooks, with new books added every month. The books are from prestigious university presses worldwide, including Oxford University Press, Read online or download a PDF of a chapter. You can personalise the site, saving searches and favourite books. These books are also included in Scholars Portal Books.

The Wiley Handbook of Violence and Aggression by Peter Sturmey
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1119057574
Publication Date: 2017
This three-volume resource explores the broad scope of violence and aggression. Filled with the most recent research and developments, this important text contains information on the biology of aggression and violence, developmental pathways, theoretical advances, the assessment, prevention and treatment of individuals, clinical treatments that target special populations, and a wide-range of societal interventions.
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by Wesley G. Jennings (editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118519639
Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.