Skip to main content

Write In Time: Home

Resources and assistance with your research in this course.

About WRIT 1001H: Write In Time

This writing-intensive course aims to provide practical and cumulative skills in writing clearly, correctly and persuasively across disciplines and situations. The course assumes the importance of a close relationship among reading, thinking and writing, and operates on the premise that the practice of writing encourages thinking and promotes innovative, insightful reflection.

Library Skills Tutorials

There are three basic tutorials you must read, in order to find your way around library research. If you haven't already seen them, take a few minutes now.

For more tutorials, see the Library Tutorials page.

How to Create A Bibliography

Your assignment sheet reminds you that:

  1. The "How Do I Create an Annotated Bibliography" from Trent's Academic Skills Centre is available under "Amazing Links!" in your Blackboard course.
  2. You can find examples of how to cite using MLA Style in the Buckley textbook, pp 195-202.

Research

In this course you're asked to write a research paper, and this guide provides you with the tools you need.  Be sure to use the links from this page (or others on our website) to access databases and other resources; they identify you as a Trent student so you can access licensed material provided by the library.

Use the tabs across the top to navigate your way through this guide. 
You can look for books or journal articles. Within each tab you'll find links to the most useful databases, tutorials on how to use them, and tips for working on your assignment.

Tutorials
If you haven't already read the three tutorials on the left, I recommend you do this before you start searching.  They'll help you understand the process better.

Help
If you need help:

  • check out the tutorials - you'll learn things that save you time;
  • ask for help at the Library Service Desk, or
  • contact me by email to ask a question. 

Keep in mind that the library staff can help you understand the process of finding your research material, but we can't do the work for you.  Your work has to be your own.

Two Essential Things

  1. Look in the right place.  The database you search must match the type of documents and subject content you want to find.
  2. Use the best search terms.  The more you think about your terms, the more effective you search will be.

We'll go over this in our class on March 3, 2017.

Getting Started

Before you start searching, you should know what you want to find. There is no ONE PLACE to search for everything. Information is sometimes "owned" by an organization and you'll need to search a specific database to find it. The type of information you want determines where you look:

  • Find books using TOPCAT.  Click on the "Books" tab (above).
  • Find articles using indexes. Click on the "Articles" tab (above).

The keywords you select will affect what you find. Plan where you want to search and what terms you will search for. The plan may change as you find results and learn from them.

 

Librarian Profile

Jean Luyben
Contact:
BL 206:
Tuesday, Thursday 8:30-4:00 and Friday 8:30-2:00
Durham Campus:
Monday, Wednesday 8:30-4:00
705-748-1011 x7481
Website / Blog Page

What's Scholarly?

You need to find scholarly material for this research.  What does that mean?

Look for material that published, not just put up on a webpage.

  • Is there a book title, author, publisher?
  • Is there a journal title, volume, issue, and date?

Once things are published, they're permanent and they can't be changed.  If you use a published document, it doesn't matter if you accessed it online or in print - the document is the same.

Look at who the author is.

  • Is s/he a scholar - someone affiliated with a university or research institute? 
  • Or is s/he a writer, writing about someone else's work?

For more help identifying scholarly sources, see our tutorial.