Canadian Studies

Library Resources in Canadian Studies

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
James Watson
Contact: Website

Home

Welcome to Canadian Studies Library Resources

According to the Canadian Studies home page, Canadian Studies is an interdisciplinary exploration of the concepts and practices of "Canadianness". Thus, Canadian Studies covers everything from literature to politics, as long as it is about Canada. It is an 'interdisciplinary' study, making it necessary to think creatively when approaching library research.  Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) or Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) are two indexes listed under Canadian Studies Related Databases that are basic starting points for finding newspaper articles, magazines, and peer-reviewed journal articles published in Canada.  However, after that you need to look at other guides that are specific to individual academic disciplines. For example, if you are researching Canadian history go to the History Guide. If you are researching an aspect of public health in Canada go to the Nursing & Allied Health Subject Guide.

Using OMNI

Finding Library Resources Using OMNI

OMNI is the library's 'discovery layer', meaning it is a single search portal that can be used for finding a variety of resources, including books, newspaper and journal articles, films, etc. There are some databases, including ones on the EBSCOHost platform (Academic Search Elite, America: History and LIfe, Historical Abstracts, and others) that are not included in OMNI searches. For those databases, you will need to search them directly.

You can search it directly on the library's home page. To learn more about using OMNI see the OMNI guide.

Canadian Studies Related Databases

Canadian Studies Related Databases

While most of our databases are searched when using OMNI, there are some that do not get searched by OMNI and need to be searched directly.  Those on the EBSCOHost platform, for example, are not searchable via OMNI.

Canadian Film and Television Resources

Canadian Fim and Television Resources

Canadian Studies Groups and Associations

Canadian Studies Groups and Associations