Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this search box to search historical British newspapers for primary material. The newspapers searched are 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection and the Times Digital Archive.
Google News Archive
Google has digitized a selection of newspapers in their Google News site. Click on the link below to see a listing of these newspapers.
Search LexisNexis Newspapers
If you're off campus, you need to login to the proxy server first. Click here.
These databases include at least some newspapers. Some cover only one title; some are only historical; some are a mix of newspapers and journals.
Globe and Mail (1844-20??)
Canada's national newspaper. This historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage:1844 - 4 years ago (moving wall).
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q)
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.