Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library Catalogue holds the bibliographic records of the Trent University Library holdings. These include books, maps, journal subscriptions.
A searchable A-Z listing of our indexes and databases.
Search the Trent Library's database of online journals available through our various full-text databases.
Search tip: go into Google Scholar settings and enter Trent University as a Library Link so you can make use of the 'get it' linking from within Google Scholar.
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary loan is a system that allows you to request material from other libraries to be sent to Trent for you to borrow. Normally, there are no costs to use the ILL service. Plan ahead because it can take a few days or even weeks for material to be sent, depending upon availability.
Visit the RACER (ILL) page for more information.
Find Articles (Databases and Indexes With Significant Canadian Content)
Because Canadian Studies potentially touches on anything Canadian, the following list is just a sample of the databases and indexes with significant Canadian content. Use databases and indexes on other subject guides, depending upon your research focus. For example, if researching a topic on Canadian politics use the databases listed on the Politics Subject Guide.
America: History & Life
An index to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, citations of book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
From Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), an electronic publication that contains citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Indexes over 1,665 titles in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Combines high-quality indexing with direct access to over 500 full text periodicals and daily news sources, over 95% Canadian. Includes journals, magazines and newspapers, both scholarly and popular titles.
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q)
Indexing of nearly 700 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text articles from 240 Canadian periodicals. Covers journals, magazines, and newspapers. Not all are scholarly sources - select "peer-reviewed publications" to limit your results.
Primarily a law and politics resource, it includes articles from more than 2,600 legal periodicals (105 Canadian), as well as the Provincial Statutes of Canada, Revised Statutes of Canada, Annual Statutes, and Canada Supreme Court Reports. International content includes historical and current constitutions from every country in the world, a collection of world trials, and more.
Provides indexing for a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance (late 1800s to early 1900s), including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine.
An index to approximately 200 French language journals from Québec, elsewhere in French-speaking Canada, France, Belgium, and Switzerland. Repère includes the full-text of about 20 Québec journals.
Find Articles (Other Useful Indexes and Databases)
Academic Search Elite
From EBSCOhost. This general database finds articles on almost any topic. Sources include scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers - use limits to restrict your search to a publication type.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
From Web of Science/Knowledge. Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the scholarly journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Part of the Web of Knowledge.
An index to a collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. Full text is not available; use Interlibrary Loans to request articles.
A searchable database of full-text research journals in a variety of academic disciplines. JSTOR includes the complete backruns of the journals, from the first volume to a moving wall of 2-10 years ago. Some titles include current volumes. Trent subscribes to JSTOR collections I to XI and the Life Sciences.
Scholars Portal Journals
The majority of Trent's full-text e-journals are included in this database. Search them all or browse a specific journal. Many of the journals available from other sites are duplicated on this site.
Social Sciences Citation Index
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the scholarly journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Part of the Web of Science / Web of Knowledge.