Research Assignment: Fall 2018
Start With What You Know
For your final assignment, you require "at least 8 scholarly sources in addition to material from course readings."
So, start with your course readings. It's a lot easier to research a topic when you already know something about it, than if you know nothing about it.
- Look over all the readings - which one(s) do you find most interesting?
- One good resource can lead you to more resources, using the works cited.
- Look at the Works Cited (bibliographies) in those readings. Track down some of those works.
- For this, you want to know how to read a citation and navigate to the document it describes. See our tutorial on "Navigating from a Citation to a Document".
- Sample Bibiography
- Look at what other articles have cited the articles you're reading.
- Sociological Abstracts can help with this. Look up an article, then click on "Cited By".
- Look for important KEY TERMS and specialized terminology that will be important to your topic.
- Jot down a list of potential search terms.
Next: Expand Your Search Into New Territory
- Start searching for more scholarly articles on your topic.
- Use the Sociological Abstracts database for scholarly articles.
- Use a database that includes News and Magazines for current events.
- Search Terms
- Use terms from your list of KEY TERMS.
- Use AND & OR between search terms: OR within a search box, AND between search boxes.
- AND focuses your search to items that contain BOTH terms.
- OR expands your search to find items that contain at least ONE of the terms. (Use for synonyms.)
- Put quotes (") around a phrase.
- EXAMPLE: (queer or gay or lgbq) and "sexual harassment"
- Evaluate Your Results
- Look over the brief descriptions of items.
- Look at titles, abstracts - where do your search terms appear?
- Can you make the results more useful using limiters on the left side?
Sample Search: "sex tourism"
- Click on potentially useful items for more information.
- Cited By
- Related Items
- Links to Full Text
Follow links to Full Text.
- Sometimes you see a direct link to the full text of an article, but you're not restricted to those.
- Get It! Trent links to articles in any of our e-journals.
- Click the logo to find the article.
Keep track of what you find, in case you need to get back to it later.
- Sociological Abstracts provides options to mark items and save, print, email, download them. You can even set up an account for yourself called "My Research".
- Download and save full text articles.
- Use Zotero to organize citations.