Skip to main content

Indigenous Studies: INDG 1012

Indigenous Studies Subject Guide

Tutorials

These tutorials provide general information about using the Library.

Two Things to Remember

Remember these two things when you're searching for information:

  1. Look in the right place.  Usually this means choosing the best database / search engine for your needs.  You need to have a good idea what you're looking for before you can start to look. Read the description to know what it covers.
  2. Use the best search terms. Most search engines don't work well with sentences.  They look for words, or even letters.  They don't interpret your search terms. Think carefully about what words to enter.  The Keyword Searching tutorial explains this.

Finding Books: TOPCAT, the Library Catalogue

TOPCAT is our Library catalogue. 

  • When you want to find books, this is the first place to look.  It tells you what books are available from our Library.
  • Read the TOPCAT tutorial to understand how it works and what information it provides.

Finding Articles: Online Databases

In order to use scholarly articles for your research, you need to understand what these are and how they get published.  The following tutorial explains this.

Indexes

The type of database you use to find articles is called an "INDEX".  Their role is to index journals, and help you identify which journals have published the articles you need for your research.

There are many different indexes, covering different subjects or types of documents.  When choosing an index, look at the description to find the one that meets your needs.

The Trent Library subscribes to hundreds of different indexes, so how do you choose? 

  • Start at a Subject Guide, then read the descriptions to see what's covered. 
    • You're already viewing the Indigenous Studies Subject Guide.  Under the "Find Articles" tab you'll find a list of useful indexes.
  • Often, you need to search more than one index.  There may be some duplication, but there will be different articles in different databases.

For this course, you should find the following databases useful for your research.  They're general, and cover a wide variety of topics.  Notice that some include newspapers, while others are only scholarly.  If they're not enough, look under the "Find Articles" tab for other suggestions.