Psychology

Help finding resources for your research.

APA Handbooks

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology: Foundations, Methods, and Contemporary Issues across the Life Span (Vol. 1)

This comprehensive three-volume set lays a solid foundation for integrating theory, research, practice, and policy in contemporary family psychology. Volume 1 describes the theoretical and methodological underpinnings of the discipline, including an overview of traditional theories; influential contemporary theories; and complex research designs, statistical modeling, and experience sampling, among other topics.

APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology: Applications and Broad Impact of Family Psychology (Vol. 2)

This comprehensive three-volume set lays a solid foundation for integrating theory, research, practice, and policy in contemporary family psychology. Volume 2 focuses on the application of family psychology to an array of mental and physical health conditions, societal issues, and shared systems such as schools and health care.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology: Family Therapy and Training (Vol. 3)

This comprehensive three-volume set lays a solid foundation for integrating theory, research, practice, and policy in contemporary family psychology. Volume 3 addresses contemporary couple, family, and parenting interventions grounded in family psychology theory and science, as well as issues related to family psychology training.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Giftedness and Talent

Most recent thinking and cutting-edge research from a wide range of fields related to gifted education, including developmental and social psychology, the neurosciences, cognitive science, and education.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Dementia

This book addresses assessment, comorbidity, evaluation, and treatment of various forms of dementia. It reviews common dementias including Alzheimer's disease, Lewy body disease, vascular dementia, frontotemporal dementia, and other less common dementias.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology (Vol. 1)

The 2-volume APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology presents new areas of research and links theory with emerging practice to reflect the latest developments in this constantly changing field. The 77 chapters provide extensive coverage of conceptual frameworks and models, empirical findings, and practical interventions. Additionally, many chapters discuss topics not addressed in other publications, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sleep disorders, life-span engagement in sport and physical activity, and professional ethics and governance.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology (Vol. 2)

The 2-volume APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology presents new areas of research and links theory with emerging practice to reflect the latest developments in this constantly changing field. The 77 chapters provide extensive coverage of conceptual frameworks and models, empirical findings, and practical interventions. Additionally, many chapters discuss topics not addressed in other publications, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sleep disorders, life-span engagement in sport and physical activity, and professional ethics and governance. Volume 2.

Image of book cover

APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women

Volume 1 of this 2 volume set begins by outlining the emergence of the psychology of women and its connections with the women's movement. This is followed by feminist critiques of theory, descriptions of innovative methodologies, and discussions of difference and similarity, both between women and men and between gender and sexuality. The social and economic contexts surrounding these issues are reviewed, as are dichotomies sustained by sexism, stereotypes, and prejudice. Volume 1 concludes with chapters that address the uniquely intersecting components of individual experience.

APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women

Volume 2 of this 2 volume set focuses on applied subjects. Topics include psychological well-being, including therapeutic models of gender, feminist goals of empowerment, multicultural feminism, and the borderlands of gender identity. Following is a discussion of close relationships, including issues of intimacy, equity, and changing models of family.

APA Handbook of Community Psychology: Theoretical Foundations, Core Concepts, and Emerging Challenges

This two-volume covers current knowledge and identifies sources of information on the topic of Community Psychology in the core and evolving literature. It highlights community psychology's emphasis on the synergistic relationship between research and action, and offers an international outlook, including chapters integrating perspectives from across cultures and contexts around the world.

APA Handbook of Community Psychology: Methods for Community Research and Action for Diverse Groups and Issues

This two-volume covers current knowledge and identifies sources of information on the topic of Community Psychology in the core and evolving literature. It highlights community psychology's emphasis on the synergistic relationship between research and action, and offers an international outlook, including chapters integrating perspectives from across cultures and contexts around the world.

APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice

The APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system.

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Roots and Branches

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. Volume 1 covers roots (historical accounts of the profession, identifying key events and stakeholders and placing them in a coherent narrative) and branches (developmental spectrum, specialization of family and community psychology, emerging specialties, clinical health psychology, clinical neuropsychology etc.).

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Theory and Research

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. Volume 2 was designed to highlight the emerging trends in theory and research that are relevant for understanding the field. This volume highlights the core areas that define clinical psychology as well as developments from other disciplines that inform our understanding of human behavior and clinical dysfunction.

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Applications and Methods

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. Volume 3 represents the broad reach of the professional work of clinical psychology. The applications of clinical psychology range from traditional, well-established expertise in assessment and psychotherapy to important contributions to prevention, research, education, and training.

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Psychopathology and Health

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. Volume 4 includes the most up-to-date knowledge about not only psychopathology but also psychological health.

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Education and Profession

This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. Volume 5 is meant to convey the breadth of education in clinical psychology and the selective training experiences across entire careers. This volume paints a landscape of the integral continuing presence of education, not only the influence of formal preparatory education but also the impact of ongoing learning.

APA Handbook of Men and Masculinities

The psychology of men and masculinities is a broad, interdisciplinary field devoted to the study of how men's and boys' lives are shaped by biopsychosociocultural influences as well as the constellation of meanings associated with the male biological sex. Each chapter investigates future directions, along with unresolved issues or emerging concerns.

APA Handbook of Human Systems Integration

A practical tool for specific knowledge about human considerations in systems design. It is intended to sensitize readers to basic design issues, enhance their understanding of the influence of these issues, and guide them in appropriately combining human performance with a system's numerous interacting components.

APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Individual and Situational Influences in Criminal and Civil Contexts

Volume 1 of this two volume set showcases the application of clinical psychological science in criminal cases, and articulates theories of criminal behavior and the roles of risk factors and context on criminal behavior among specific groups. The application of clinical psychological science to various aspects of the civil justice system is also highlighted.

APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Criminal Investigation, Adjudication, and Sentencing Outcomes

This 2 volume set consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law and law-related policy. Volume 2 is comprised of three sections: victim and offender groups; criminal investigations and jury trials; and sentencing and incarceration.

APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology: History and Status of the Field and Perspectives on Aging

This text offers a well-balanced scientist–practitioner approach, with chapters that succinctly review empirical research across a broad range of areas and offer practical approaches for the application of theory to everyday practice with the aging population.

APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology: Assesment, Treatment and and Issues of Later Life

This text offers a well-balanced scientist–practitioner approach, with chapters that succinctly review empirical research across a broad range of areas and offer practical approaches for the application of theory to everyday practice with the aging population.

APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology: Attitudes and Social Cognition

Volume 1 of this four volume set covers human nature, the questions of people's "factory-equipped" initial tendencies, advances in our understanding of conscious thought processes in judgement and behavior, people's subjective or phenomenal experience of the world, the strong human tendencies toward motivated cognition, and so forth.

APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology: Group Processes

Volume 2 of this four volume set discusses group and intergroup processes. Each chapter illustrates the relevance of work in the area to other areas and to issues of practical importance, such as social justice, immigration, and collective action.

APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology: Interpersonal Relations

Volume 3 of this four volume set showcases some of the leading theoretical and empirical work that has been conducted in the rapidly expanding field of interpersonal relationships. It also identifies a few of the most significant and potentially promising new directions for future research in various areas.

APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology: Personality Processes and Individual Differences

Volume 4 of this four volume set includes discussion surrounding foundational material, big questions, and exciting developments in topics such at motivation and dynamics, individual differences and the person as a whole.

APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology: Person-Based Approaches

This two-volume set provides an overarching review of current research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided research and clinical practice. Volume 1 presents foundational information on the history, theoretical and methodological development and current practices in the field, and then moves on to address foundational aspects of sexuality, including desire, orientation, behavior and practices, individual lifespan development, and biological substrates.

APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology: Contextual Approaches

This two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided research and clinical practice. Volume 2 emphasizes the core contextual factors known to influence the development, expression and interpretation of sexuality and its expression in and through all of the key social institutions of our society, including marginalized populations, education, sexual rights and communities, globalization, religion and the media.

APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology: Test Theory and Testing and Assessment in Industrial and Organizational Psychology

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. The first section of the handbook covers psychometric aspects of testing. These aspects make up the quantitative underpinnings of testing and are applied, in various forms, in all applications of testing.

APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology: Testing and Assessment in Clinical and Counseling Psychology

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. Topics discussed in volume 2 include: general issues in testing and assessment in professional psychology, clinical and health psychology, and counseling psychology.

APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology: Testing and Assessment in School Psychology and Education

This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. In volume 3 some important issues regarding quality and effectiveness of the tools used in school psychology are discussed.

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology: Foundations, Planning, Measures, and Psychometrics

Volume 1 addresses the broadest questions related to research designs and the types of data that psychologists most often collect and how to determine whether the measurement techniques that you might choose are the best ones for your purpose.

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology: Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Neuropsychological and Biological

In Volume 2, interpretive research designs that emphasize a qualitative approach are detailed and designs that emphasize an etic (or theory-specified), more quantitative approach to research are introduced. Designs are introduced that focus on theory-testing questions, rely heavily on quantification, and are used to study change in individual units. Included are designs for theory-driven research that derive largely from the more biological end of psychology’s family tree.

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology: Data Analysis and Research Publication

In volume 3 special attention is payed to the fit between design, measurement, and analysis. Finally, issues and choices you must consider when you write up your research to share with the community of psychologists are discussed in the handbook’s concluding chapters.

APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology: Theories, Research and Methods

Volume 1 of this two volume set was designed to include traditional areas that are covered in handbooks, providing a strong foundation in theories and research in counseling psychology.

APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology: Practice, Interventions, and Applications

Volume 2 of this 2 volume set focused on both historic and evolving applications. It focuses on the applications and policy implications of the major areas of theory and research in counseling psychology.

APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Theories, Constructs and Critical Issues

The volumes in this handbook present the state of the science and evidence for research-based practice in the field and help set the standard for the application of educational psychology in education. Volume 1 address the past, present, and future of educational psychology; emerging design and data analysis approaches; some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today.

APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Individual Differences and Cultural and Contextual Factors

These volumes reflect the broad nature of the field today, with reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs. Volume 2 includes 21 chapters that examine a range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs.

APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Application to Learning and Teaching

The purpose of this handbook is to bring together leading scholars in the science of educational psychology to present state-of-the-art evidence with the hope that this evidence can and will be used to improve educational practice. The chapters in Volume 3 of the handbook focus on the application of educational psychology to learning and teaching.

APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology: Moral Foundations and Common Themes

This two volume set covers not just discussions of ethics in psychology focused on misconduct, punishment and legal sanctions, but also on aspirations, values, principles and virtues. The editors propose that ethics is best viewed as a striving toward the highest ethical ideals, not just as an injunction against rule violation-a perspective they refer to as "positive ethics" or "active ethics".

APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology: Practice, Teaching and Research

Volume 2 of this 2 volume set includes perspectives such as: ethics as more than the knowledge of the laws, rules, and regulations that govern the profession and discipline of psychology; competent psychologists rely on overarching ethical theories, as well as laws and regulations, when they live up to their highest ethical ideals; and attention to ethical issues is especially important as psychologists move into new and increasingly complex areas of practice.

APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology: Building and Developing the Organization

The goal of this handbook is to capture the current changes and the implications that they have for the research and practice of I/O psychology. Volume 1 discuss the foundation for I/O psychology, the field itself, and then engage the issues that one considers when an individual begins to plan for an organization.

APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology: Selecting and Developing Members of the Organization

The purpose of this handbook is to present the types of issues that industrial and organizational psychologists study, the questions they pursue, and the interventions they implement. Volume 2 focuses on specific selection strategies and issues that address particular means for selecting members of the organization.

APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology: Maintaining, Expanding, and Contracting the Organization

The purpose of this handbook is to present the types of issues that industrial and organizational psychologists study, the questions they pursue, and the interventions they implement. This volume addresses issues that become prominent after the organization and jobs are designed and after there is an understanding of who will be in the organization and how they will be trained, evaluated, and rewarded.

APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook: Foundations, Influences, and Expressions of Addiction.

This handbook addresses many of the wide-ranging consequences of addiction. This first volume focuses on the background and history of addiction; the distal and proximal influences of addiction; and the expressions of addiction.

APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook: Recovery, Prevention and Other Issues

This two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive review of addiction. Volume two examines the many aspects associated with recovery from addiction, the prevention of addiction, and other essential issues commonly associated with addiction, such as technology, driving under the influence, and homelessness.

Very Short Introductions

Autism

This author asks: What causes autism? Is it a genetic disorder, or due to some unknown environmental hazard? Are we facing an autism epidemic? What are the main symptoms, and how does it relate to Asperger syndrome? It explores the relevance to autism of neuroscience, psychology, brain development, and genetics.

Anxiety

This book explains what anxiety is, why it is a normal and vital part of our emotional life, and the factors that cause it. Insights are drawn from psychology, neuroscience, genetics, epidemiology, and clinical trials.

Ageing

Increased lifespans have created an urgent need to find ways to enhance our functioning and well-being in the later decades of life. This is reflected in relevant policies and action plans from the WHO and the UN. Looking to the future, this publication considers advancements in provision for our ageing populations.

Adolescence

Adolescence is a turbulent period to live through. Marking the transition from the world of childhood to adult life, the adolescent faces many challenges and opportunities, including puberty, cognitive changes, forming their own identity, relating to often conflicting demands from parents and peers, and negotiating first romantic relationships.

Child Psychology

This book examines modern child psychology, tracing its development from birth up until early adolescence. Child Psychology studies the process of attachment and ‘bonding’, and it considers how secure attachments will enable the child to progress in the development of self-understanding.

Clinical Psychology

This book provides insights into the world of clinical psychologists and their clients or patients, and covers the range of domains of practice, difficulties tackled, and approaches and models used. It considers the challenges and controversies facing the profession today, and also how it varies across the globe.

Cognitive Neuroscience

Cognitive neuroscience was born in the late 1970s when the study of patients who had suffered brain damage or injury to limited parts of the brain revealed different components and the processes taking place in the brain. This book outlines the nature and scope of this relatively new field and the techniques available, focusing on investigation of the human brain.

Tutorials

Very Short Introductions, from Oxford University Press

See the Very Short Introductions series for Psychology books

From Oxford University Press, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas - a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Individual Psychology titles are:

Search the Library Catalogue for Books

Library Catalogue search or browse

Library Catalogue Power Search

Start searching for books in the Library Catalogue. There's an online tutorial available to tell you about the Library Catalogue.

Use a keyword search to find items on a topic. For instance, to find books on "the psychological effects of mass media" you might search for "psycholog$ and media". To improve your results, use a "Power Search" and truncate your terms.

The LC Call Number classification for Psychology is BF 1 - 2055.

Terminology Notes:

The Library Catalogue uses LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) in most records, to help us identify items of interest. These can be general or specific, depending on your topic.

Sample subject headings for general topics:

Psychology, Applied
Psychology, Clinical
Psychology, Comparative
Cognitive Psychology
Developmental Psychology

Psychophysiology
Psychopharmacology
Psychoses
Psychotherapy
Psychoanalysis
Jungian psychology

Psychology. Aged.
Psychology and Religion
Psychology -- Case studies.
Psychology. Men.
Psychology. Women.
Psychology -- Research -- Methodology
Psychology -- Statistical methods

 

Sample subject headings for general topics:

Discipline of children
Anxiety disorders
Substance abuse
Dreams --Psychological aspects
Memory
Cognition
Sleep disorders
Stress, Psychological

 

Instead of trying to guess at a good subject heading, use a keyword search. Then look at the subjects applied to what you find.

Searchable E-Book Collections for Psychology

Most of our e-books can be found by searching the Library Catalogue. The catalogue can only search descriptions of the books, however.

The following sites provide a large number of Psychology e-books to Trent, and you can search them from the providers site.  Often you find more books this way, because it searches within the books to find pages and chapters of relevance.

Most sites allow you to save and annotate your readings; sometimes there are restrictions on the number of simultaneous users or the amount of downloading/printing allowed.

Reference Books