Skip to main content

Canadian Studies: Reference Books

Trent University Library guide to resources in Canadian Studies

Search Scholars Portal Books

Reference Books

Reference books can be a good starting point for finding factual information about Canada, as well as providing background information to help develop a research topic and lead you to other resources. Here is a list of just some of the reference books useful in Canadian Studies. Search TOPCAT for other items.

Encyclopedias and General Reference Books 


The Canadian Encyclopedia Online

The concise Oxford companion to Canadian literature  PS 8015 .C65 2001 REF

Encyclopedia of Canada's peoples  FC 104 .E56 1999 REF

Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador  F 5403 .E48 REF

Historical dictionary of Canada  FC 23 .G69 1999 REF

The language of Canadian politics  JA 61 .M33 2006 REF

Almanacs, Atlases, Directories and Year Books

The Atlas of Canada is now available online

The Canada Year Book CA1 BS11 - C402 REF (older editions in the Government Publications stacks)

Published annually by Statistics Canada, the Canada Year Book provides a statistical snapshot of Canadian society. The 1867 to 1967 editions are freely available online as the Canada Year Book Historical Collection.

Canadian Almanac and Directory F5003 .C2 REF (older editions shelved in the stacks)

The almanac portion contains basic facts about Canada's history, governments and peoples. The directory lists associations, government offices, law firms, libraries, museums, etc.

The Historical Atlas of Canada Online

Biographies

Canadian Who's Who

Locate biographies of Canadians from various walks of life. Volumes from 1910 up to 2006 are available in e-book format via the online catalogue.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online

Locate biographies of Canadians from various walks of life who lived between 1000 and 1930.

Bibliographies

Annotated bibliography of Canada's major authors  Z 1375 .A55 REF

Bibliographie du Québec  Z 1392 .Q3 B5 REF

Available online via the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec for the years 1821-1967, 2003 to present

A Bibliography of Canada's peoples  Z 1395 .E4 G742 1993 REF

Bibliography of Canadian bibliographies  Z 1365 .A1 I54 1994 REF

2nd and 3rd editions available online via TOPCAT

The bibliography of Northern Ontario, 1966-1991  Z 1392 .O6 T56 1994 REF

Bibliography of Ontario history, 1867-1976 : cultural,  economic, political, social  Z 1392 .O6 B57 REF

The Bibliography of Ontario history, 1976-1986  Z 1392 .O6 B57 1989 REF

Canada : a reader's guide  Z 1365 .S46 2000 REF

Canadian families 1900-2000 : a bibliography  Z 5118 .F2 S283 2000 REF

Canadian history : a reader's guide  Z 1382 .C23 1994 REF

1st volume also available online via TOPCAT

Canadian reference sources : an annotated bibliography : general reference works, history, humanities  Z 1365 .B65 1996 REF

Also available online via TOPCAT

Canadian studies : foreign publications and theses  Z 1385 .M65 1992 REF

Contemporary Canadian and U.S. women of letters : an annotated bibliography  Z 1376 .W65 G46 1993 REF

Ethnic and native Canadian literature : a bibliography  Z 1376 .E87 M57 1990 REF

Guide d'histoire du Québec : du régime français à nos jours : bibliographie commentée  Z 1392 .Q3 G83 1993 REF

Guide to the collections of the Multicultural History Society of Ontario  Z 1395 .E4 M8 1992 REF

Manuscripts and government records in the United Kingdom and Ireland relating to Canada  Z 1382 .W54 1992 REF

Répertoire bibliographique--auteurs Amérindiens du Québec  Z 1376 .I52 G54 1993 REF

Research on South Asian women in Canada : selected annotated bibliography with surname index, 1972-1992  Z 1395 .S66 N35 1994 REF

Union list of manuscripts in Canadian repositories  Z 6620 .C2 P8 + suppl. REF

Upper Canadian imprints, 1801-1841 : a bibliography  Z 1365 .F54 REF