EBSCO has partnered with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Archives Unbound presents hundreds of topic focused collections comprising primary and unpublished archival documents. Topical collections include:
- Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
- Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
- Psychological Warefare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and - Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
- Records of the Persian Gulf War
- Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Replublic"
- Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929
- Witchcraft in Europe and America
The desLibris platform holds the Canadian Electronic Library, including books from the Canadian Publishers Collection, Canadian Documents Collection, and Public Policy and Health Policy Collection. These books were previous made available through ProQuest, until April 2017.
From the website: "Indigenous Peoples: North America sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages all enable students' examination of important primary source materials."
From the website: "Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. Maclean’s Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, gender issues, politics and culture, the history of business, advertising, and more."
"Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, and including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration."
The database includes a vast array of primary source materials including personal stories, letters, journals, diaries, scrapbooks, and video and oral histories, as well as government papers and substantial information on ships and shipping lines.
Unique collections supporting research and teaching include the "Homestead Experiences in Canada," drawing on documents from the Glenbow Museum, Library and Archives Canada and the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21; the "New South Wales Convict Database" a list of convicts and former convicts sent to New South Wales between 1780 and 1819; and Chinese and Japanese immigration to the United States.
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides searchable access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. The MLA currently indexes more than 66,000 new items each year. (from vendor website).
The Library has a trial until Mar 30, 2018 to the following Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History, Communication, Politics, American History, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Encyclopedia of Social Work and Religion