Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology: ANTH 1010H

Help finding resources for your research.

ANTH 1010H Research Assignment, Fall 2015


Use the tabs at the top of this box to navigate through the steps of this assignment.  There are suggestions and help for each stage.

Choose your topic.

You have two topics to choose from.  Be sure to use one of the two assigned to your lab section (posted on Blackboard).

Your topic provides a citation to a news article, to get you started.  The is article is accessible to you through the Library website.  Read the tutorial on how to navigate from a citation to an article (link below).

  • You many find the DOI provided gets you to the article if you're ON CAMPUS but not if you're off-campus, depending on what blocks are in place by the publisher's site. The tutorial shows other ways to access is.

Work through Library tutorials.

These are linked from the appropriate sections (see tabs).

Navigating From the News Story to the Scholarly Article

The news story you've chosen reports on the results of a recently published scientific study. You need to find that published study!  It will be an article published in a scholarly journal. How difficult this is depends upon how much information your news article provides.

Is there a link?

  • First, look to see if there's a link to the scholarly article. It may be within the text of the article.
  • If there is a link, click on it to see if it gets you to the scholarly article.  This is probably best done from on-campus, where you'll have access to articles purchased by the Trent Library.

No link? Look for clues.

  • Are the names of the authors of the scientific study provided anywhere in the article?  (These will NOT the same as the author of the news article.)
  • Does the article mention the title of the journal in which the scientific study was published?  Does it give a date, volume, or issue?

Have a journal title?

  • Use E-Journals A-Z to find the journal.
  • Once you get to the journal site you need to get to the volume, issue, and article.  Either:
    • browse issues to find the article,
    • navigate to the volume/issue provided in the news story, or
    • search for authors or keywords within that specific journal.

No information about which journal it was published in?

  • Identify some keywords that should locate it most efficiently:
    • names of authors
    • important terms used to describe the article (keeping in mind that the news article may use more "common" language than the academic article)
    • name of the institution where the research was done.
  • Search a database that's likely to cover the topic:
    • Click on the "Articles" tab at the top of this guide.
    • Connect to one of the databases listed and perform a search.
  • Don't hesitate to use Google Scholar.
    • You can enter the entire title into Google or Google Scholar.
    • It may not be able to link you to the article, but it's great at finding citations.
    • If it gives you the journal title, use the instructions above to locate the article.

Methods for Finding Related Articles

When you search for related articles, keep in mind that this is NEW research - that's why it's in the news. You want related articles, not other articles on this exact topic. Be creative in your searching.

Search Databases

  • Select an appropriate database from the list on the "Articles" tab (above).
    • Web of Science is the largest database.  It finds a wider range of material and includes links to related articles through "Cited by" and "Related" links.
    • Anthropology Plus is a more focused database. If you can find what you need here, it may be the most friendly one to use. 
      • Because this is an EBSCO database, it can be combined with other EBSCO databases for searching. 
      • It's probably useful to include Academic Search Elite, because it's a very broad database that finds material on almost any subject.
  • Search for the terms you identified.

Keywords

Look for relevant keywords from your article and from your other coursework/textbook. When searching for scholarly articles, you don't enter a question into the search box; you select key terms and request all article descriptions that contain these terms.  (See the Keyword Searching tutorial.)  You can't expect the system to interpret how a word is used - that's your job.  Get the system to find as many instances of the terms as possible, and use your own judgement to determine if the articles can be applied to your subject.

  • Think of broad topics and different search terms:
    • hominid, hominin, neandertal, neanderthal, "early human", "ancient human", "human ancestors"
    • primates, chimpanzee, gorillas
    • fossils, fossilized, evidence
    • teeth, tooth, dental
    • diet, food, eat
    • painting, art, decoration, symbols
    • disease, illness, bacteria

Authors

  • See what else the authors have published. 
    • Scholars tend to write many articles on their topic of expertise.
  • Select a database from the list on the "Articles" tab (above). 
  • Search for the authors in the "author" field of the database.

Related Articles

  • Depending on where you found the original article, there may be hints for "more like this".  Look for them.
  • If there's an option showing "Cited by", look to see what other papers have cited the one you've found.  Web of Science, Google Scholar, Scholars Portal Journals are examples of databases that provide this.

References

  • Look at the "References/Works Cited/Bibliography" section of the primary document. 
  • If one or more article seems a useful, use the citation to track it down.  (See the tutorial on navigating to articles from citations.)

Selecting Articles

Be sure to select scholarly articles.

  • EBSCO databases allow you to limit to "Academic Journals" in the left menu of your results.
  • Web of Science only includes scholarly resources, but you can limit to "ARTICLE" under "Document Types" in the left menu of your results.

Look for articles published since 2000.

  • Databases allow you to sort your results with the most recent showing first. Look for this option at the top of your results screen.

An example of a search in Web of Science:

diet and (hominid or hominin or "early human")

A sample search from Anthropology Plus:

cave painting or rock painting

A sample search from Scholars Portal Journals:

primates and cooperation

Persistent Links

The link in your address bar won't always bring a new user to the same site.  Find a link that will work for others, including access to Trent resources from off-campus.

The best way to test it is to open a different browser and enter the link in the address bar.  After each try, close the browser and start fresh, so there's no cached information.

See the tutorial on finding links that work, including using a DOI.

SAA Referencing Style

Create your bibliography using the SAA style.  See the guide on the Academic Skills website.

Create an Annotated Bibliography

An annotation is a brief summary, in your own words, of the source's content (150 works max.).  Do not copy the article abstract or any other part of the article text; this is plagiarism!

Formatting for this Assignment

See your assignment sheet for detailed information on formatting for this assignment. 

Loading