Skip to main content

Ancient History & Classics: Articles

Help finding resources for your research.

Scholarly Databases

Try these databases first to find scholarly articles in Ancient History & Classics.

Other Useful Databases

Search

Finding Articles

You don't use TOPCAT to find articles.

  • The search for articles starts with an index, which you search using keywords.
  •  The index is an online database providing descriptions of articles (citations).
  • Follow links from citations to articles.
  • Some indexes have no links to full text, and you'll need to search TOPCAT or E-Journals A-Z for the journal, then look for the volume/issue/date provided in the index.

The Finding Articles tutorial explains the process in more detail.

Tutorials

These are links to various tutorials for scholarly articles.

Troubleshooting Searches

Too few articles:

  • Check for typos and spelling. Consider using both American and British spellings (eg. behaviour or behavior).
  • Remove long phrases.
  • Make sure you're using a database that is relevant to your topic.
  • Try using other synonyms and alternate words joined by 'OR' (e.g. aboriginal or indigenous).
  • Check your logic.  Are you using 'AND' when you should be using 'OR'?
  • If you have found at least one good article, look at the references of this article to find other related articles OR use the 'Find citing' or 'Find related' buttons when available in the databases.

Too many articles:

  • Add another concept to your searching using 'AND' between terms.
  • Add Limits (e.g. Peer Reviewed, Date of Publication, Language, Publication Type, etc.).
  • Check your logic. Are you using 'OR' when you should be using 'AND'?
  • When Keyword searching, try searching just in the Title field. This is not recommended for all searches, as you will eliminate relevant articles that don't have those keywords in the title, but it will likely find a few articles to get you started.
  • If you're searching in a database that covers all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Elite, Web of Knowledge), look for a database that is subject specific.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary loan is a system that allows you to request material from other libraries to be sent to Trent for you to borrow. Normally, there are no costs to use the ILL service. Plan ahead because it can take a few days or even weeks for material to be sent, depending upon availability.

Visit the RACER (ILL) page for more information.